Large and light livingAfter a day's wandering in the city, it's a good place to relax a bit


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
2965 travelers saved this place

About this listing


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 11PM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $17
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The space

Dear guest, please make sure you read the whole description. This is a private room and not a whole apartment. Of course you can use the whole apartment, but apart from the private room, you will share it with me :-).

THE ROOM:
I let a private room on the top floor of my apartment. The beautiful thing about the room is that it still shows authentic style details from the 1900 era (see pictures). Furthermore:
- Double bed
- Lit jumeaux (XXL cover on the bed)
- Two separate covers available on request
- Enough space for your suitcases to be out of sight
- Built-in closet for hanging your clothes
- Extra closet for other clothes and private ownings
- Blinding rollers
- Wifi

On the same floor you will find:
- Private restroom
- Nice bathroom with large walk-in rain shower (hairdryer and towels are available, so you can leave these at home)
- Big bath
- Private sink
- Washer and dryer available

On the third floor there is a fully equipped kitchen which you can use at any time, no problem. You will even have your own fridge. If you would like to have a private breakfast, lunch or dinner, just let me know, and I will make arrangements not to be there. The lounge or living room is huge (at least for local standards) and can also be used at any time.

THE APARTMENT:
The building was built in 1902 and nowadays is a municipal monument. I bought the apartment in 2009 and had it fully rebuilt from the inside to contemporary standards. The total apartment measurers 1,600 square feet or 150 square meters. On the roof there is a terrace that measures 650 square feet or 60 square meters. The apartment does not have the typical Amsterdam small and narrow staircases.

Note: I do live in the same apartment. Therefore, apart from the private room, we will share the place.


THE BREAKFAST:
I do not serve breakfast. I know, bummer! However, the Old-West area is a very popular district in Amsterdam with lots of restaurants and bars. Most of them serve breakfast too. I would specifically recommend Café Du Cap and Bagels & Beans, all within a 2 minutes walk, for a very nice but affordable meal (see pictures, and search for their websites for the most recent menus).

THE PARKING:
In the Old-West area there is usually enough space to park your car (street parking).The rates are rather high though (3 euro an hour or 27 euro for a full day). There are some great alternatives however. There is an option to park your car in one of the transferia right off the highway for only 8 euros a day, including two return tram tickets to the center. Feel free to contact me for some extra information about this option.

Smoking is allowed on one of the balconies.

Because the apartment is on the third and fourth floor and no elevator is available, it is not accesssible for wheelchairs.

What do I ask from you?:
That's easy, just be a good guest and act like it's you're visiting a friend's home. Bring your good mood too, it's a friendly city.

I am looking forward to hosting you!

Guest access

Although you will rent a private room, you can of course use the bathroom, lounge and kitchen as well. Don't be afraid you will intrude my privacy :-). I appreciate the company. Furthermore you will be able to use the roofdeck, which is actually the best place of the apartment, provided the weather is good enough of course. Opened on request.

Interaction with guests

WHO AM I?:
Well, I am Bob and I will be your host during your stay in Amsterdam. I will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I know the city very well, so if you have questions or requests, do not hesitate to ask me. I can arrange a public transport card for you for the first 24 hours or longer. Just let me know before your arrival. I speak Dutch, English and German. My French is a little bit rusty however. Besides me, my fat black cat Fritz lives in the apartment. Of course I will keep him out of the private room at all times.

The neighborhood

THE LOCATION:
Right on the edge of Amsterdam Old-West. This means that it's a 5 minutes’ walk to Jordaan District, one of the hot spots of Amsterdam. Anne Frank House is only 10 minutes away and Dam Square only 15 (all by foot). Furthermore Leidseplein Entertainment Area is a 12 minutes’ walk.

Right in front of the apartment there are 4 tram lines that take you to all sights in the city. Direct lines will take you to for example:
- Artis Zoo
- Museum District with Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum or the recently re-opened Municipal Museum of modern art
- Albert Cuyp Market
- Red Light District
- Rembrandtplein Entertainment Area
- Dam Square
- Anne Frank House
- Vondelpark
- Several theatres
- 9 Straatjes (9 little streets) for shopping

Within a range of 150 meters there is a supermarket, Turkish bakery and a fresh fruit and vegetables stand. Bike rental is less than 2 minutes away and of course travelling by bike is the Amsterdam way! You should try this at least once.

Getting around

Amsterdam is not a very big city. Most sites are within walking distance, up to 20 minutes. There is a great grid of tram lines that literally take you everywhere within Amsterdam. 4 Of these lines have a stop right in front of my apartment. As a visitor, you can use a day ticket or multi-day ticket (up to 7 days) for unlimited travel by tram and subway. I can help you buying one.

Amsterdam is a great city for biking, as long as you adapt to the local habits :). Upon your arrival I can help you renting a bike.

The city of Amsterdam has arranged for a parking system for visitors that allows you to park your car ourside of the city center and travel further using public transportation. Please get in touch with me for further details.


House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

I do not have strict rules. You may arrive and leave at any conveniant time. Apart from the private room, all other rooms, including kitchen and bathroom are shared with me and my fat cat. You may use my kitchen and bathroom and living at any time. Smoking is allowed on one of the balconies.

Breakfast is not included in the price.

Apart from this, please do not be loud at the staircases, since I share these with my downstair neighbours. Just be a good guest :-).


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

214 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Amsterdam, Netherlands · Joined in October 2012
Bob User ProfileBob is a superhost.

Dear guest,

Here's something about myself. I am a 44 year old sales professional from Amsterdam with an interest in almost everything I don't know (and that includes you as a guest). I will do my utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible. In my private time I row and produce music. Because of my love for films, I have a collection of movies you might want to watch during your stay. Together with a friend of mine I own a barge that I drive through the Amsterdam canals. I can't imagine a more relaxed way to spend my time.

I love sports, but due to a double knee operation I am not able to do a lot myself anymore.

Best,

Bob

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Explore other options in and around Amsterdam

More places to stay in Amsterdam:
You won’t be charged yet