Bed & Bike Near Alberta/Williams

House - Private room · NE 7th Ave, Portland, OR 97212, United States

The Space

We'd love to have you as a guest in our renovated home in NE Portland located a short walk away from Alberta St., Williams St. and Mississippi St. The extra bike can be borrowed as well with a small security deposit to get the true Portland bike commuter experience. Enjoy the bounty of the garden while you stay, from the fruit trees, to the berry bushes, to whatever is ready for harvest in the garden beds. Also savor the fresh egg difference from the backyard chickens. Two Plum Park, just across the street, makes for great people watching from the porch, as well as the many bikes that go by on the main bike path of 7th. The room accommodates one person. If you are traveling in a pair please check out the apartment or ask me for other recommendations.


-3 Bedrooms (Yours has one full size bed, dresser, closet, South facing window with a view of downtown).
-1.5 Bathroom
-Full Kitchen
-Newly renovated 1910 Dutch Colonial
-Perfect location for vacationers interested in Alberta St., Mississippi St., and Williams St. areas.
-10-20 minute bike ride to downtown along easy to ride bike paths.
-Free WIFI
-Washer/Dryer in the basement
-Stays cool in the summer from the shade and natural breezes that run through the house. Gas heat and well insulated walls and windows from the renovation keep it cozy in the winter. (and the real wood burning fireplace warms the soul)


Across from Two Plum Park

Alberta Arts Area
- Galleries, restaurants, bars, food carts, shops that are fun, ecclectic and regularly noted in travel guides.
- Last Thursday is held here. There's no better place to experience Portland culture than at this street fair where artists and street performers line the streets with the talents of Portland.

Mississippi Area
-Mississippi Studios has some of the best shows that come through town and has the best sound out of Portland venues. Its connected to an indoor and outdoor bar and restaurant that regularly has free shows and events

Williams St. Area
-Home to the 2010 best of Portland Restaurant winner, Tasty and Sons. Be prepared to wait 2 hours for brunch any day of the week if you arrive after 10AM.
-Bars, restaurants and (email hidden) Portland bike corridor
-New Seasons grocery store will open in Summer 2013. It's like a Portland marker that a neighborhood is a desirable place to be.

Freemont St.
-Whole Foods (about 10 short blocks away)
-A variety of restaurants and shops


-Nearest bus stop is just 2 blocks away. And two more buses are just 4 blocks away.
-Easy to call a cab (Rose City Cab is in the neighborhood and is usually at my door in 5 minutes).
-SUPER easy to get to the house from the airport by Max, then the 6 bus and of course you can also take a taxi that will run about $25.
-If you have a car, there is plenty of street parking in front and around the house.


-Towels and linens
-No deposit (though if any damage is done you will be held responsible and by making a booking you hereby agree to this).
-WIFI, and all utilities.
-Eggs (as available from backyard hens), oatmeal and coffee are provided as well as full use of kitchen.
-The bike can be borrowed with a $200 deposit that is fully refundable. It it unsafe for anyone under 5'4" (depending on leg length).

**Please note that there is a one time only cleaning fee of $25 that covers the cost of cleaning the room after your stay.


Flexible except if there is another party either checking out on the same day you arrive, or checking in on the same day that you are departing. In which case the check in and out times are as follows:

-Check Out time is 11:00 am
-Check In time is 2:00 pm or later

Guest Access

Wifi, plenty of street parking, laundry, fresh chicken eggs, seasonal garden food, space in fridge and pantry.

Interaction with Guests

I interact as much or as little as guests seem to like. I've taken guests around town to events I'm headed to but also provide guests with privacy when that's what seems their preference.

Getting around

The 6 on MLK is a couple of blocks away and takes you North and South. The 8 is nearby too and gets you downtown quickly. The 24 and 72 are nearby too. The 6 meets up with the Max for a ride to the airport or a number of other locations.

If you are driving, there's plenty of street parking and we're 5 minutes from I-5 and 10 to I-84.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $400 /week
Monthly Price: $1150 /month
Check In: 2:00 AM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • I had a wonderful stay in Portland! Naomi's home was the perfect location for my home base as I explored the area. The accommodations were great and I would definitely stay again. Thanks Naomi!

    March 2014
  • I stayed one whole month with Naomi in her cozy home in the wonderful neighborhood of Alberta, Portland. My room was cute and tidy, Naomi is a wonderful, open and very friendly person and I especially enjoyed biking around in Portland - being able to make all my ways with the bike that "comes with the room".

    Alberta St is full of nice shops and cafés and just 5 bike minutes away. To go downtown it takes you app 20 minutes by bike (if you ride slowly like I do) - and there's a bike highway going directly towards it. So for me Naomi's house was directly in the right place.

    Inside the house is everything you might wish for - including the lovely Nani (cat) and the chicken (in the backyard).

    Portland is worth a visit (or more) and Naomi's house is definitely a good place to stay!

    I will be back! ;-)

    February 2014
  • Staying with Naomi made my trip to Portland even better. Her home is comfortable and Naomi is the kind of person that makes the whole world a better place. I have told others to look into staying with her the next time they head out to visit our extended family and friends in Portland. It was sad to say Goodbye to her.

    January 2014
  • Naomi was a fantastic host! Her house is clean, comfortable, quiet, and extremely well situated. I am a private person by nature, but I felt very much at ease interacting with Naomi while coming and going as I pleased. It felt like home for the week I was there and it will for you too. Thanks Naomi!

    December 2013
  • really wonderful lady....GREAT location. The bed was really comfortable...

    December 2013
  • Enjoyed my very pleasant stay and plan to do so again. Naomi was a gracious hostess, allowed me to arrive while she was still out of town. I did not have the time to avail myself of the various amenities. Great house.

    December 2013
  • I couldn't have imagined my airBnB stay going any better. Naomi is the best host I could have asked for. Her house really felt like a home. The bed was very comfortable. The neighborhood was hip yet low-key. Super bicycle friendly. Very easy to use public transportation. Charming house cat. Can't wait to stay there again.

    November 2013
  • Naomi was a perfect hostess! It was quite easy to coordinate with her as to getting in and getting set up, and when we met we hit it off right away. The house is beautiful and she made me feel very welcome. It felt more like visiting a friend or being at home rather than being a random guest. I would stay at Naomi's any time when I am in Portland.

    October 2013
  • Naomi was unbelievably rude to me and my friend. I misunderstood and thought I could have my platonic female friend sleep over with me (we hung out til around midnight and decided it would make sense to sleep in the same place because we had early morning plans). We were quietly getting to bed, when Naomi starting banging on the door essentially made us feel like criminals, trying to kick is out, saying that she has regretted letting more than one person stay in the room in the past, insinuating that we somehow were going to create huge problems for her if we were a couple.. Saying that it was "hard enouht to trust one stranger"... we were both silent in our pajamas and asked her to please let us sleep and even had to awkwardly assure her we were platonic friends and proposed to pay her extra for one more person and promised her all we were doing was going to sleep.. Naomi woke us up at 5:30am telling us we had to leave immediately which was another terrible interaction. We left immediately, and I disputed the request for $40 more dollars for my friend sleeping in the room. I wouldn't stay with Naomi if someone paid me. Also, the room and bathroom weren't clean and there was cat fur all over the bed. I hate leaving bad reviews, but this air Bnb experience was so shockingly terrible I was encouraged by air Bnb to share my experience. I know Naomi has received almost exclusively positive reviews and I want to give her the benefit of the doubt and say she was just having a bad night/ morning but the way I was treated was completely unacceptable.

    October 2013
    Response from Naomi:

    You are the first guest in my three years of hosting to have raised a red flag of distrust.
    Please remember that I was hesitant to take you as a guest because I knew I had to wake up at 4AM the next morning. You assured me you would be very quiet so I agreed. However at 1AM I woke up to loud laughter, loud talking, and other noises in your room. It was far from the "quietly getting into bed" that you describe and I wasn't confident that the noise would stop given your state. If it were just you I would have been frustrated by that alone. On top of that, you had someone in bed with you. I reminded you that I only permit one guest (stated first thing in the room description) and you told me your friend had no where else to go. (Your description of going there simply because "deciding it would make sense to sleep in the same" place does not correlate with that statement. That situation added to my distrust in you.) When you checked in, you never mentioned another person coming. In hopes of going back to bed I offered to charge for the additional guest. You did not dispute the charge amount at all, but rather agreed to it but then neither of you claimed to have a credit card that would work nor cash. (Perhaps you really have no credit card, but I was/am skeptical of this and this further added to my distrust towards you.) Although I needed to leave at 5AM, I decided to leave late from my 5AM departure time. You originally said would leave for mushroom hunting at 6AM so I woke you at 5:30AM telling you that I didn't want to leave before you did. In fact you ended up leaving at 5:50AM because I waited so in the end you left 10 minutes earlier than you had planned. As stated above, I grew to distrust you and did not want to leave you in my house alone as originally planned.
    Hosting on Airbnb requires a good amount of trust. I am a very trusting person and have left guests alone in my home for over 3 years while I was not there. I did not trust you and left late to accommodate closer to your planned departure time. The dishonest statement you have left above is frustrating but confirms to me my decision to leave late for work to make sure you were not in my home while I was gone.
    Perhaps you forget some of these details for whatever reason. You seemed friendly enough during check in. I prefer to think the best of people, as life is more enjoyable this way. In the future I will not take one day guests when I have an early wake up and will reiterate in every reservation request what the room description states, that only one guest is permitted. This was not a pleasant experience for me and rocked my confidence in hosting. When I told Airbnb of my experience they told me they were very sorry and understood why I would have felt that way and why I would have charged what I did.
    I hope that other hosts have much better experiences with you.

  • A lovely house and Naomi was a very friendly and welcoming host. I'd certainly stay here again.

    October 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 117 times
Español, العربية
Southern Lehigh Senior High School, The Fashion Instutute of Technology/SUNY, University of Utah
Bonneville Power Administration, Iberdrola Renewables, Iberdrola Renewables
Portland, OR resident for 4 years. Have lived all around the country and abroad. Love having the spirit of travel in my home! Professionally work to make environmentally and socially sustainable practices be economically sustainable.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings