Private Bedroom w/Bath in Manhattan

Apartment - Private room · west 141st st, New York, NY 10031, United States
Eugenia

This snug little bedroom has its own half bathroom for your private use. Located just across the street from Riverbank park, this apartment has a fully-stocked kitchen, full dining room and living room, and is a ten minute walk to the 1 subway line.

Your host, Eugenia
31 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

This snug little bedroom has its own half bathroom for your private use. Located just across the street from Riverbank park, this apartment has a fully-stocked kitchen, full dining room and living room, and is a ten minute walk to the 1 subway line.

The Space

Located on the 1 subway line between 137th and 145th St, this snug private bedroom sleeps two. The bedroom is at the front of the apartment and also has an attached half-bath for your exclusive use, both of which make for lots of privacy! Bedroom has closet space and set of drawers, desk. Fresh linens and towels are provided. The bed is real, full-sized bed, with a memory foam-topped mattress.

Complete use of fully-equipped kitchen, living room, and dining room are offered. Kitchen has french press coffee-maker, toaster oven, fridge, stove/oven, pots & pans, and an enormous selection of teas. Living room has large sectional couch, Roku box for watching Netflix & anything you can find on the internet, projector with a huge screen, and a wide selection of books. Separate dining room has a table that seats six (Yes, a separate dining room. In Manhattan. I'm as amazed as you are). Apartment has free wifi.

The apartment is a three-bedroom, shared by one person and two cats. Please be advised, if you have allergies, the cats go where they please (what cat doesn't?). I vacuum and sweep frequently to keep the hair at a minimum, but if you have cat allergies, this might not be the best apartment for you. The cats are friendly, and the calico will try to convince that she's starving, but a good look at her will tell you otherwise.

There are several local grocery stores, delis, pharmacies, and liquor stores all in the area. Local restaurant menus are provided for ordering in. A document that lists nearby grocery stores is also available.

The apartment has laundry in the basement (open 7am-7pm), and the building has an elevator. If you are interested in a long-term stay (a month or more), the price drops in part because you will be responsible for your own towel/sheet laundry.

Long Term Stay: I don't have a set maximum number of nights. 1-3 months is always fine, unless the room has been previously booked. Stays of 2 months or longer often have additional discounts. Please inquire.

***Please note that I had to cancel 2 reservations in September 2011. This is because the apartment sustained some rain damage in Hurricane Irene, which necessitated new windows in two of the bedrooms. Because my landlord told me that it could take up to a month to replace the windows, I canceled our Sept reservations immediately, so I wouldn't leave anybody high & dry at the last minute. I hope to never have to cancel again, and would not do so unless there was a structural emergency, like what happened after Irene***

Guest Access

Guests have access to all rooms, except for my bedroom and the bedroom that they are not staying in (as it's a 3 bedroom apartment). Guests have a set of keys to the building.

Interaction with Guests

I want to make your stay as inclusive or private as you'd like. I love meeting new people, chatting and cooking together. However, if you're coming to just do your own thing, I will always respect your desire to have a private trip. Either way, if you have any questions on activities

The Neighborhood

The neighborhood hosts several lovely restaurants and bakeries as well as a huge Fairway grocery store (Fairway is a sort of NYC institution. This one has a giant walk-in refrigerated room, and sells everything from the basics to fancier foods like hand-cut smoked salmon & beautifully aged steaks. It also (email hidden) selection and a large array of organic, vegan & specialty foods).

Riverbank State Park is across the street; it has a track, ice skating, picnic tables, playgrounds, indoor & outdoor pools, basketball, tennis courts, & a gym (monthly gym membership & pool memberships are available for as little as $30 a month).

The West Side bike path runs under the park & along the Hudson. It goes higher than the George Washington Bridge at 181st & winds all the way down to Battery Park at the southern tip of Manhattan. It is wonderful for jogging, rollerblading, biking, or just strolling along. If you're bringing along a small dog, the park is also a wonderful place for dog walking.

I'm also 15 mins from Dinosaur BBQ (an amazing BBQ place famous for giant slabs of ribs), & 10 mins from City College and Columbia University. 20 mins north is the Cloisters Museum & Gardens.

Getting around

Building is a ten minute walk from the 1 stop at 137th, and a 15 minute walk from the A/B/C/D at 145th. There are also several bus lines in the area that can take you all over the city.

Other Things to Note

Check in & check out hours and completely flexible! I'm happy to wake up & let you in if you're arriving late at night. During the day, you may need to pick up keys from my lovely neighbors, but in most cases, you'll be able to get into the apartment any time, day or night.

I rent two of my three bedrooms out. If you're trying to travel with another friend or two, please let me know. If possible, I may be able to host both of you!

Additionally, if you need three bedrooms, my dear friends (and former roommates) live in the apartment below mine and also rent out a bedroom on AirBnB. If we both have openings when you are your friends are looking to stay, we may be able to host you all!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $410 /week
Monthly Price: $1250 /month
Security Deposit: $100
Cleaning Fee: $20
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Eugenia is my first AirBNB host and I was not disappointed! Eugenia and her friends are friendly and welcoming and funny and the nicest people we have met on our weeklong trip to New York. And if you love cats then you will fall in love with her two cuties who are equally welcoming! The apartment is super cozy and conveniently located near a subway station on the 1 line and if you're a tourist then this line takes you everywhere you need to go. The bed is super comfy (so comfy you don't want to get up) and the room has its own half bathroom (no shower) making it even more accommodating. The room is also located right at the front door of the apartment so if you're a hermit type and do not want to mingle and just want to do your own thing then this apartment gives you that privacy as well. But why would you NOT want to hang out with Eugenia?? Thank you for a great place to stay and I'll definitely stay here again when I go back to NYC!

    July 2014
  • La chambre correspondait à notre attente, idéale avec son cabinet de toilette privé. L'immeuble est bien situé tout proche de la station de métro 145st, ligne 1.
    Un grand merci à Eugenia pour son accueil.
    Christine

    June 2014
  • This was our first time using AirBnB and it was AMAZING! Eugenia was so friendly and helpful with our crazy schedule and in everything we needed. Her building is a quaint old brick building with so much charm. Good food and subways were in close walking distance. Thanks, Eug!

    June 2014
  • This is a fantastic apartment in a really vibrant and exciting neighborhood. Eugenia is a great host: very friendly and accommodating. The apartment is always clean with a full fridge and an awesome big screen in the living area. And even if, like myself, you are only in the apartment at unsociable hours, the cat is always up for hanging out.

    June 2014
  • We had a really nice stay at Eugenias place! Eugenia was a (very) helpful and great host. She provides information about restaurants, sightseeing etc.
    To get into the city you need about 20-30 minutes (subway) - so it's the perfect location!

    Thank you so much
    Greetings (Edina and her mother :) )

    March 2014
  • kind and helpful, great location, clean and comfortable room/apartment, great value, highly recommended!!

    February 2014
  • If you're looking for a great spot, near the subway with 2nd to none hostess all on a budget, Eugenia and her place are second to none in NYC. I had a spacious private room with a half bath, a desk, ample storage room and bed so comfortable I found it too easy to take more than one "involuntary" nap. Access to the shower is down the hall and access to the refrigerator and kitchen is open and encouraged. But the real key to comfortability is Eugenia herself. She goes out of her way to make sure you're comfortable and invite you to partake in the activities of her house. I'd stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

    January 2014
  • We had a really nice stay at Eugenia's apartment. For us it was the most convinient location we could get for the purpose our stay. The room was nice and clean and Eugenia is such a nice person! But be aware of the cat. She's everywhere! :)
    I would definitely book this room again when I go back to NYC.

    January 2014
  • Eugenia, Gina and Pablo were wonderful guests. Already with the couple of emails we exchanged before our arrival, we knew that everything would be fine. They are very welcoming and kind, their cats are quite, cuddly without being clinging and the appartment is just enourmous.
    My only regret is not to have had the occasion to spend more time with our guests.

    November 2013
  • Alles war super. Sie war sehr nett und konnte uns einige tips geben. Lage war auch ok. Bahn nicht weit entfernt. Tolle stadt, einfach super.

    July 2013
Per Month
From
$65
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 166 times
School
Belle Vernon Area High School, Albright College, Pennsylvania State University
About
Fashion technical designer (I make clothing fit). Lover of cats, tea, & meeting new people. I love helping my AirBnBers find new places to visit. The things I know best about the city are food (anything from interesting food trucks to amazing five star-experience restaurants), beer (including places to get a great microbrew selection or an enormous selection of beers from across the world), tea & tea houses, & gourmet grocery stores. Also involved in 5Rhythms, Burner parties & dancing, & theater. I can offer as private or social as a hosting experience as you like. Many of my AirBnB guests have become lifelong friends; the hardest thing for me about meeting so many wonderful people through AirBnB is saying goodbye when they leave!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
4 days ago
Similar Listings