Catskill Arts & Crafts w/ Views

House - Entire home/apt · S Plank Rd, Mt Tremper, NY 12457, United States
Your host, Mathew
13 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

This stunning Catskill Mountain property is located on the lower slope of Mount Tremper overlooking the Esopus River valley on a +100 acre compound surrounded by State Land. This private and beautiful 3 bedroom colonial has spectacular mountain views, arts & crafts style furnishings with a dramatic stone fireplace, a salt water pool, a wrap around porch with outdoor stone fireplace, and an excellent kitchen.

The house contains one large master bedroom with a small private porch, a 2nd smaller bedroom upstairs with two single beds, and a 3rd bedroom on the 1st floor. Full kitchen, laundry, and an amazing living room / dining room with a river-rock stone fireplace. Two bathrooms, house is beautifully furnished with oak arts and craft mission antiques. Outside you have a long extended deck with stone fireplace and grill. Plenty of parking.

Two miles from the charming village of Phoenicia, one mile from the Mount Tremper four corners, 15 min drive to Woodstock. Lots of terrific activities to do in the area such as hiking, cycling, tubing, skiing, fishing, and more.

An additional 2 BR cottage is available for rent on the same property.

The house is located within a historic compound, which contains the Maidstone Lodge, a century old Arts & Craft Stone Home, once owned by George Reeve, the original Superman, then Franco Goldman who conducted the NY Philharmonic. The Maidstone is in sight of this rental house, but well screened by trees and brush. The property contains, old stone walls, an ice house, pond, hiking trails, mountain streams, dramatic views, and is within walking distance to the Esopus Creek and the Mount Tremper trail head.

Operated by Mount Tremper Arts, an internationally recognized contemporary arts center located 1/4 mile down the road. Your stay will additionally help support the centers programing! More info about the art center can be found at (website hidden))(website hidden)

Please note there is no cell reception on the property, but the house does have wi-fi internet.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $1170 /week
Monthly Price: $3900 /month
Security Deposit: $500
Cleaning Fee: $80
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Mathew was a great host. He was extremely helpful with his suggestions and was very responsive to our messages. The space was exactly as pictured. The surroundings are great. It's very close to diners, cafes, shops, hiking, skiing, etc.
    We were lucky enough to book a snowy weekend, which only added to the overall experience. I'd love to see what the area looks like in the summer!

    January 2014
  • The stay was great and exactly as we expected. The cottage was very well equipped with towels, linens, firewood and a kitchen that worked very well for us. Quite and cozy.

    We also had the assistance of the property manager whenever needed. Matt was very helpful. Wi-Fi worked well, we even had some games to play. Very close to Woodstock and other small towns if you want to visit the region.

    December 2013
  • Great stay at this cozy, well-equipped cottage. Location offers quick access to Phonecia and Woodstock, and lots to do.

    October 2013
  • Really great place --clean and cozy with two fire pits (one inside one outside.) Its just two miles from the town of Phoenicia and down the road from the trailhead of Mt. Tremper. The surrounding area is BEAUTIFUL. Highly recommend this place.

    October 2013
  • My two friends and I decided to go upstate at the last minute and found Matt's house while we were on the way to Catskills.
    luckily he responded to our inquiry very quickly and was very helpful with providing the information we needed to get to house quickly.

    the house location was great! and we were very happy with our choice.

    September 2013
  • We were preparing for my wedding and needed a place for our friends to crash. We didn't spend much time on the property but the house was nice and we enjoyed our stay.

    September 2013
  • It was a truly wonderful place, quiet, magical and relaxing. The place was cleaned and fully furnished. We also took advantage of the beautiful outdoor stone fireplace. Property owner was very helpful and responsive. We will definitely visit the place again and recommend it to our friends!

    June 2013
  • Matthew's place is a dream. We really enjoyed the indoor and outdoor fireplaces and the bright, airy kitchen. It's nice that it's pretty remote but still close enough to Phoenicia if you need to pick something up last minute. Hope to revisit when it's warm out and enjoy the pool!

    April 2013
  • This place is awesome! First of all the house is beautiful. I must say that my friends and I were especially taken by the woody smell as soon as we entered the house. It's rustic yet modern at the same time (especially the kitchen appliances are modern and operational). We were five people, two couples and a single friend, and there are just enough beds in the house for such distribution. The house was very clean and everything was in place. It felt like a hotel. The bathrooms had tp, shampoo, conditioner and body wash. But the highlight of our stay was definitely the fireplace. There is a small rocking chair in the house and all of us took rounds to indulge ourselves in front of the fireplace, listening to the cracking fire while sitting on the rocking chair and sipping spiced rum cider :) Mathew's directions to the house were very accurate as we found the house on our first attempt.

    Mathew was very reachable and nice. I had many questions and I did not ask them all at the same time as they popped up while I was making my bag, but Mathew answered all with patience and quickly. For future guests who happen to be coffee lovers like me here is some useful info: the house has a coffee grinder, a percolator and a drip-machine. There were few filters left for the drip-machine so maybe you can bring your own. There is also a hair dryer in the house, fyi.

    We loved the neighborhood. It's close to hiking trails, nice farms although they did not have any apples in February to my surprise, and nice places to eat out like the Phoenicia Diner. You can also ski, it's very close to Bellayre.

    Dog lovers, listen to this. We had a visitor on our second day. He was a super cute, huge but cute, shy and friendly ridgeback. I think he liked us too because he came again the next day just before we left.

    I totally recommend this place.

    February 2013
  • Rate: 3.5
    Six of us rented this house for 3 nights over President's Day Weekend. Overall, we were pretty pleased with our stay, however, there were two things we were unhappy with. I emailed Mathew twice about these complaints after our stay, but he never responded. First complaint--not having a landline was a hazard. Had there been an emergency we would not have been able to get in touch with anyone. We also had no way of getting in touch with our friends who drove separately and had been looking for the house for 2 hours because there were no outside lights on the road or near the house after dark. Second complaint--the heat and hot water went out during our second night, and we had to wait until the next day so we could get into town to get cell service. Once we did, we made numerous efforts to contact the grounds manager, leaving several messages throughout the day, and were never able to get in touch with him (I even reconfirmed with Mathew, before our stay, who to contact if there was a problem). We finally went to the neighbor, who turned out to be the owner of this house, on the third night and he was able to help us figure out the problem. The grounds manager should always be available for emergency calls. Not having cell service or a land line made it impossible to contact Mathew or the grounds manager once we returned to the house. If it had been more of an emergency, we would have been in a lot worst of a situation. These are just a few things to be aware of if you're thinking about renting this house.

    February 2013
    Response from Mathew:

    We wish Jeanette had read the details of the listing, and the House Manual that was sent to her after making the reservation. We are very clear that cell phones do not work on the property (we are in the mountains which means spotty service) and that we don't at this writing have landlines (they will be coming soon, along with internet.) It seems strange to complain about something when we are clear and straightforward that we do not have these services.

    We are also very clear about directions because of our rural location, and tell people to only use those directions because internet mapping services don't quite work for our location. If she had passed along our own directions to her friends, they would have had no problems.

    As to the thermostat, they actually turned it off themselves by accident. We had a contractor there within 2.5 hours of when we were actually notified by Jeanette, and it's just a short 5 min drive to a location where cell phones work, so was not such a difficult thing to do. As it turned out, the only fix that was needed was to turn a clearly labeled switch from off to on, which they had somehow turned off themselves. We always take complaints and problems seriously, and respond as promptly as possible. A contractor out there within 2.5 hours on a Sat night is pretty good we think.

    Yes, we did not respond to Jeanette's emails after her rental was complete, because of a number of additional problems with her group (loud noise, trespassing in areas of limits, and a big mess) and we simply did not want to escalate things so choose to let it pass.

    Please review our other reviews, and we think you'll find that responses are very positive, and that we are always quick to respond in the unlikely case of any problems.

    February 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 194 times
Mount Tremper Arts
(website hidden)
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
5 weeks ago
Similar Listings