Artists Designer Retreat

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Crescent Ave, Sausalito, CA 94965, United States
Tanyia
Your host, Tanyia
16 Reviews
Response rate: 67%
Response time: a few days or more

The Space

Fully renovated, great feeling, light and very peaceful designer artists home (duplex) in the Sausalito hills. All new appliances. New kitchen, bathroom and hardwoods. Includes the following:

- 1 King size bed with European pillow top mattress
- Living room
- Walk in dressing room/laundry with aero bed
- Washer/dryer
- Dishwasher
- TV/Film projector
- Wifi DSL included
- Utilities included
- Garden
- Car deck parking for 1 car
- Water views

This house is built on the site of the old water tower in Sausalito so the front garden is enclosed by a rock wall and being about 20 steps down from the car deck it is very secluded and private.

I had been living in China and bought this house when I decided to return to the San Francisco Bay Area. It was owned by an opera singer who lived in it from the time it was built. When I bought the house it was in disrepair but over the last two years I have renovated it and brought back the light and life that I know was once here.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $25 / night after 3 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $1475 /week
Monthly Price: $4300 /month
Security Deposit: $300
Cleaning Fee: $90
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We enjoyed the location and loved being up in the trees. Easy to get to town and really appreciated the parking spot. The space was quiet and restful.

    June 2014
  • Well, what should I say ? The truth !?

    Sausalito (email hidden) to be, the neighborhood is very nice and quiet, the apartment very cozy, nicely decorated and matches the description, but all these « good things » have « dark sides ».

    Tanya is very difficult to reach.. It sure is very nice to travel around the world but when you rent an apartment, you should be consistently organized.

    First « Helmut » : hhaahhh Helmut! Yes, Unfortunately I have to heat a bit because of health issues but never over 72ºF. (Far from your « devils grandmother ». Holy Helmut ! Our next lower level co tenant didn’t complain about the heat… because there was no overheating!

    So much for this.

    Nevertheless, there is one point I share with my friend Helmut. The apple TV issue. Tanyia seems to think that Apple TV is to be considered as traditional TV. Tanyia forgets that Apple TV isn’t, especially when her provider decides to suddenly take 3 days to repair a break down… !

    One of the other problems came from house keeping that left the front (main) door unlocked for a whole day.

    The garden could be a beauty but weeds and not very nice wild grass makes the place look a little neglected.
    Idem for the windows. Spider webs and nests just don’t match this cozy place.

    Finally, one of the most unpleasant things was Garbage. Well garbage is never a nice thing but when you first have to stretch and bend or be a master Yogi to get to the awfully dirty garbage cans and bins, it is even more unpleasant.

    Overall, again I agree with Helmut I do think these suggestions can be handled easily if Tanyia gives them some thoughts. Oh yes, I almost forgot, if Tanya’s kind enough to give you Marianas number you could get things done and fixed as it should.

    June 2014
  • Great place high up on the hill looking back to the bay through the trees. Very relaxing place.

    Loved Sausalito - 30 minute ferry or 20 minute bus ride into San Francisco. Sausalito is beautiful and feels miles away from the city.

    Would thoroughly recommend Tanyia's place.

    May 2014
  • Clean. Good location.

    May 2014
    Tanyia
    Response from Tanyia:

    Sorry that you were disappointed. I wish you had communicated any of this during your stay. To respond.

    1. The listing states that there is a dog on the premises.
    2. the wifi and projector work. There was a new router. A simple txt message to me would have fixed that issue.
    3. the 2nd bedroom is not the room as you saw it. That loft bed was recently built for my nephew. That room normally has a aero bed to be used as a second bed.
    4. Airbnb is by design a personal home and not a vacation rental or hotel like situation. I apologize if you don't like my style of decorating.
    5. The food in the fridge was for your family to use as were items in the cupboard.

    I really could have helped had you let me know any of these issues when you were here. Its frustrating to see all of this as I want guests to be happy.

    Please let me know what I can do for you at this juncture.

    Kind regards

    Tanyia

    May 2014
  • Perched on a virtual tree top, in the mountains of the Sausalito, my family and I thoroughly enjoyed Tanyia's sun-filled space of calmness. A secluded 29 steps below street level with a wonderful south east panoramic of the Bay Bridge. FOOD: Resturant Fish (everything), Poggio's Italian Cusine (Ox Tail Ragu, and Burrata Mozzarella), Salito's Garlic Dungeness Crabs all very very very good. THE ONLY REGRET WAS WE ONLY STAYED FOUR NIGHTS AT TANYIA'S. WE WANTED MORE.

    March 2014
  • We had a great weekend at Tanyia's house. It was in pristine condition, and provided a great view of the surrounding hills and the Bay. Having a parking spot made things so much easier as we could just walk down the hill and walk around town. The giant bed was super comfortable, though it would be nice if there were blinds. I'd definitely recommend staying here.

    March 2014
  • Our stay in Sausalito, Ca was terrific. Loved being nestled up in the hills in Tanyia's home. The bed is "don't want to get up' comfortable. Parking can be a challenge but my husband was a champ, I would not have done as well. The view of bay is a lovely way to say "good morning"!
    Sunsets picture perfect. Loved the twinkle of houses across the way at night.
    Would stay again. Any problem and Tanyia only an email away.
    Patricia/Steve Souza
    Sherwood, Oregon

    February 2014
  • Great place - great view! Exactly as described.

    Thank you Tanya!

    Would love to come back.

    J.

    November 2013
  • Although we did not meet, the communication with Tanyia was great and she responded to emails very quickly. The house was beautiful. The view was fantastic and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and that’s no exaggeration. Having the parking platform was very convenient as we had a rental car. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

    November 2013
  • (email hidden) to stay--view is lovely, house is warm. Enjoyed San Fran and Sausalito. Tanyia was a dear and shared incredible fruit, wine and candies upon welcoming us.

    Thanks Tanyia,
    Robyn (and David)

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$240
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 294 times
Languages
English, Italiano
School
Davison C of E High School, University of Greenwich
Work
Follow Your Path, Saatchi & Saatchi, Foote, Cone and Belding, Broadbents Advertising, Fiennes Perry & Partners
About
I am a global ethnographer so I am on the road a lot. It's my job to meet people from all walks of life. Recently I spent a year in China researching women across the country and so why not open my home up and meet people in my own back garden so to speak! This is my home and it has a second unit with a private entrance so you may never actually see me if that's more comforting! I have rented this home many times with (website hidden) where there are lots of great reviews. Please check this out if you would like to see the rest of the house to give you a better idea of your space. (website hidden) I look forward to meeting you. Best. Tanyia
View full profile
Response Rate
67%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
4 weeks ago
Similar Listings