Maui Vista by the Beach

Apartment - Entire home/apt · S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753, United States

The Space

RATE DOES NOT INCLUDE 13.42% TAX + $50 CLEANING FEE + AIR BNB FEES CHARGED TO THE GUESTS.

ADDITIONAL $150 REFUNDABLE SECURITY DEPOSIT COLLECTED TO INSURE ALL THE KEYS & CONDITION OF THE UNIT. THIS IS SEPARATE FROM THE ROOM TOTAL & WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU IN 48 HRS AFTER DEPARTURE.

RATE IS FOR 2PX ONLY, ADD'L PERSON IS $10/NT.

Maui Vista is located across from beautiful Charley Young Beach and is in walking distance to many shops, restaurants, bars & beaches in Kihei. It's a quaint property that has a tranquil feel about it and my unit is in the 3rd bldg which is up from the main road so it's quiet.

You will be on the ground floor with a big lanai that has chaise lounges & a dining table. You can also relax on the grassy lawn out front.

It's not a fancy unit, but comfortable and clean, always updated during the slower months whenever possible. I try to put in new furniture, appliances or decor with whatever I can with the budget I have each year. But it's maybe not for someone who is expecting something where everything is brand new. Style is maybe vintage Hawaiian.

Bathroom has shower/tub. New vanity was installed in 2011.

Bedroom has a Queen bed.

Living room has a new sofabed put in Jan 2014 & new dining set going in when the calendar opens up in April 2014. Free WIFI & flat screen TV. Free WIFI.

There are ceiling fans throughout & A/C in the living room.

Full kitchen includes oven/stove, fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, rice cooker, other applicances, cookware, dishes. There is also a W/D with detergent.

Beach towels, beach chairs and a cooler are provided. Sometimes there are boogie boards, floating rafts, etc left by previous guests that you're more than welcome to use.

Rental gear for camping & babies are available for a fee upon request.

Airport transportation is available at $35
/each way upon request & availability only.

We have free tours that you're welcome to join on our days off. Check out Yume Enterprise on (website hidden) to see pictures of some of the places we've taken guests.

The condo is located across a beautiful white sand beach & in walking distance to many other beaches, surf spots, restaurant, bars, shops and markets. Bus stop is around the corner.

Condo has outdoor pool, tennis courts & BBQ area plus free open parking for one car.

The owners are both pretty mellow, live on Maui, love the outdoors and have a cute lovable dog, plus a new baby. During our free time, we love taking people to our favorite spots on Maui, we offer lots of free tours & some with a nominal fee.

Other Things to Note

Transient Accommodations Tax ID#:
W(phone number hidden)

On-island contact is Lisa Nakagawa (owner)
Ph(phone number hidden) (cell) / (phone number hidden) (hm)
email: yume-(email hidden)

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Security Deposit: $150
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • My husband and I stayed at the Maui Vista at the Beach condo for a couple of days in late March 2014. The large condo complex has well kept grounds, pools and tennis courts. The condo itself was easy to find (we were given very good directions), was very clean, and a short five minute walk to the public beach. We were surprised by the very dated nature of the furniture, decor, beds, sheets, etc. The master bed is so old, we had to sleep on the couch hide-a-bed. Sheets are paper thin, were ripping and wouldn't stay on the bed. Some investment is needed to bring this condo up-to-date, to make it comfortable and worth the price. The hot water heater also failed during our stay so we were asked to leave (but were offered a room at the host's home). Luckily, we were able to get into a hotel and were refunded for one day. Nothing was offered to compensate us and it was a very busy spring break week on Maui. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give this property and our stay a 4. Thank you.

    March 2014
    Lisa
    Response from Lisa:

    I'm very sorry about the water heater leak, it was installed in 2009 & was still under warranty so I'm not sure why it broke so soon. But because the water had already gone into the neighbor's unit & he had carpet, we had to drain it & deal with the leak immediately. I didn't ask them to leave out right, I acgtually gave them two options. Because it was the Gregory's last night, and they were coming back from Hana in the late afternoon, one of the options was to use the ohana at our house, which is a private suite with it's own full bath & private keyed entrance, just to shower. And they could stay in the same unit but I would refund them for that last night for the inconvience. The other option was that I refund them & they move out. But they were so nice & said that they would try to see if the hotel they were moving to the next day would take them a day earlier. So, I am very sorry that I didn't offer any additional compensation. I was focused more on the containing the leak & trying to get a plumber in the next day so that the next guests wouldn't have to be inconvenienced too. It ended up that the leak was something that could be fixed in a day, so I offered the same thing to the guests arriving, the first night free if they just showered at my ohana and they were happy with that. But I still felt bad because it was spring break & accommodations are harder to find.

    As for the dated nature of the condo, I can only say that as an owner, I try to do what's within my budget every year to maintain & upgrade the place. Two years ago I had to renovate the bathroom almost completely due to a leak from the unit above. And last year I also retiled the hallway & put in the new sofabed, which was very expensive for me. I also got a new dining set but only had time to put it in this week. I didn't realize the bed was that uncomfortable but I will definately put it on my list to replace for this year.

    Like with your own home however, sometimes money is spent to do things that are not so much cosmetically enhancing but structurally important or better for the environment, like putting in energy efficient appliances or doing plumbing & electrical upgrades. This water heater leak turned out to be more than that, I had an entire plumbing overhaul & then a slab leak was discovered so now my floors & walls may have to be deconstructed to get to the pipe & then redone again. Even with insurance it costs a fortune because they don't cover any plumbing repairs, just damage done by the water, so it will still run in the thousands for me. It's unexpected costs like this that prevent me from spending on other things like the decor but it cannot be helped. For some people $5000 may be a drop in the bucket but for me, it's a lot of money. And instead of redecorating all of my units, I decide to spend the money on upgrading all the plumbing instead, not just the water heater but all the lines into the W/D, dishwasher, toilet, etc, so as to try and prevent another leak issue in the future.

    As for the sheets, my housekeepers are good at letting me know when things are torn or stained, etc so I'm sorry if they missed this one time, but when I laundered them I didn't find them ripped at all. They are thinner because they are a polyester/cotton blend, only because the small W/D in the condos cannot handle heavy loads & in 10 years I've had to replace it twice at a huge expense.I do however, still have cotton sheets so if people would rather have them, I will start mentioning it beforehand maybe so I can make sure to put on the ones they prefer. I switched to lighter beach towels too, not only because it's better for the W/D but also because I used to put in expensive Tommy Bahama towels in all my units, and in one year, my stock went from 15 to 3 and they were almost $50 each. When I put the cheaper towels in, they were never taken.

    It's unfortunate that I don't have unlimited budgets like hotels do, I'm just trying to do what I can to keep my place in the best shape possible with the money that I can afford.

    I think that my unit is not for everyone. I'm not a professional hotelier, nor am I wealthy. I backpack around, stayed at other people's homes & am not really picky about where I sleep or shower because most of the time I'm out doing stuff. As long as a place is clean & everything works, I'm happy. But I also understand that there are other things that are important to people as well, and I apologize to those who were not completely satisfied with their stay. I'd say that for those who want luxury furniture and everything new all the time would be happier in a nice hotel. While not a budget condo, it's maybe more in the moderate range & for people who want a larger space than a hotel (575 sq ft) with a full kitchen that has appliances, cookware & dishes (not just a mini fridge & coffee maker), the ability to do laundry for free in their place (not a shared coin laundry), free WIFI and BBQ grills outside so they can cook out. My housekeepers do their best to clean it. And I try to make it comfortable. When people let me know about an issue I try to resolve it. I picked up a few activity contracts so that I could offer guests discounts to go whale watching or on rafting & catamaran trips. And I try to share my love of the island with others.

    March 2014
  • Lisa's condo was clean and tidy and conveniently located for grocery stores, restaurants/bars and also the amazing beaches of south Kihei. would recommend it to others. The decor was a little tired and could use updating, but nevertheless was a very pleasant stay.

    March 2014
  • Very clean when we arrived. Simple but comfortable. easy walk to the beach. Lisa was over the top nice and went out of her way to give us what we needed.

    February 2014
  • Great location! Good restaurants and nice beaches within walking distance. The condo itself is very basic and the furnishings could afford to be updated.

    February 2014
  • The condo was very nicely located with just a short walk to an excellent beach and a longer walk to a supermarket. We had no trouble checking in and out, no trouble with appliances working, and no complaints about cleanliness of the facilities. There was plenty of parking available. The Internet connection was fine. Lisa provided us with all the information we needed. We were a little disappointed with the furnishings in the condo. In particular, the couch was far from comfortable to the point that we tried not to use it. Overall, we felt that we got a good deal for what we paid.

    January 2014
  • nice cozy apartment. We had a wonderful stay at maui and Lisa gave us good advice where to go and how to get there. The maui guide that is in the apartment helped us, too.
    When we arrived it was a bit difficult to find the apartment, because we didn't know which building and which apartment we had to go to, but I should have asked that more specificly before I guess. When we called Lisa from our phone she described us how to get there. She knows good spots to go on the island and replies to emails whenever you have a question. There is everything you need for cooking in the apartment and supermarkets are a couple of minutes drive. There are little bugs in the kitchen, that are harmless and probably not to avoid in such a tropical climate. So don't leave any food or dirty dishes outside. The apartment is located at a good spot to go to the nicest beaches on Maui and probably hawaii for a reasonable price.

    November 2012
  • Maui Vista was a very nice place to stay and the condo was just perfect. It was quiet, included every amenity for a on a budget self sustaining traveler and had great beach chairs. It is just a short walk to great beaches, shops and the bus stop. I thouroghly enjoyed staying there and found Kihei to be a fun and friendly town and it was just a short commute to the surrounding areas on the island by car. I rented a car from Kihei Rent a Car and I highly reccomend them. The vihicles are a bit older used models, but very nice. You get to appear like a local while driving around, the employees are really friendly, accomadating and you can't beat the price. Call and ask for specials. Lisa is an amazing host and really goes above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. She met me at the unit, was always reachable for questions and had great tips for activities, shopping and recreation. This was great for a girl traveling solo, she made me feel welcome and even included me in a snorkling excurtion and I got to swim with a enormouse green sea turtle! Amazing experience overall.

    June 2012
  • First thing, Lisa was so nice and accommodating, was easy to reach and she was great about giving us information on snorkeling and the beaches, etc.
    The main reason I am giving 3 stars is because of the condo itself. It was not in the best condition and I feel like for the price, I probably could have found a nicer place. The kitchen was clean (besides some ants that were around, I think Lisa was planning to spray) and the bathroom was good but overall, I felt the place could be spiffed up a bit more. The drapes in the main room were old and had holes and in the bedroom, they were hard to keep closed, they did not make it as private as I would have liked. The bed was ok, another pillow would have been nice, it was minimal. I am picky about my surroundings so may be a little harsher than some.
    The location was great, easy walk to the beaches, easy walk to grab food and walk around town. Safe and comfortable area. Condo was quiet at night.

    April 2012
  • We stayed at Lisa's condo for a week. It is in a great location - about a 3 minute walk to the beach and a short walk to shops and restaurants in Kihei as well as several other great beaches. The kitchen had everything that we needed and we made good use of the beach chairs and umbrella. The condo and the condo complex are both clean, well maintained and quiet. The pools and tennis courts are also nice.

    April 2012
  • Fantastic! Exactly as described ... can't wait to come back and stay here!

    April 2012
Per Month
From
$140
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 454 times
Languages
日本語
Work
Self-employed property manager & travel agency owner
About
Lisa is a local girl who's an adventurous traveler, enjoys meeting people from all over the world, is environmentally conscious, a total animal lover, and likes being outdoors & doing sports. Naoise's an Irish guy who likes traveling & the great outdoors too, but also has a love for art, music, movies, social media and fashion. Our baby Nainoa was recently born in Oct 2012 and loves meeting new people! Kea is a Japanese Spitz who just likes running around off the leash somewhere outside and eating really good food! She loves people too! Together, when we have the time, we have fun taking guests to our favorite spots on Maui or enjoy having them over for a hibachi (BBQ)!
View full profile
Response Rate
97%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings