Entire home/apt
3 Guests
1 Bedroom
2 Beds

Request to Book

$150
Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Lisa's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!
Chances are...
Lisa's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Lisa's place will get booked for these dates.
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Edit Summary

With Airbnb, you can find unique accommodations in people's homes—from houses and apartments, to tree houses and igloos. The listing details below explain what you'll find in this space. If you have any questions, you can contact the host directly.

Contact Host

Bedroom has beautiful mountain & city light views. You can see the State Capitol.

Verified Photo

The Space
Property type: Apartment
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 10:00 AM

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $65
Security Deposit: $150
Cancellation: Strict

Description

House Rules

Safety Features
None
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay
Verified Photo

38 Reviews

Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
August 2015

June 2015
Lisa
Response from Lisa:

I'm not sure how to respond to this but I'll try. First of all, I don't live on Maui so my mom is nice enough to handle the check-in and services for all my guests. I think the feedback of her being overbearing is unfair because she said that you never returned her calls or emails, and just texted. As an older person she's not used to that & wasn't always aware of it. She's very organized and so when people don't return her calls or emails, she just keeps following up. Communication is a two way street.

As for the parking, it is expensive everywhere in Hawaii. In Waikiki the average is $25/day, as is the Executive Centre if you went through the hotel. I am able to pull my stall out of their rental program & offer it to guests at half the price ($12) but it takes time and paperwork with the parking office to do so. I don't think my mom made a big deal. She said she never spoke to you because you never returned any of her calls but I feel like for a super last minute request to add on parking, not take it for the whole time you're there and then add on the extra day at the last minute, that my mom did her best taking care of everything for you. I did mention to her about the scolding & she said she never talked to you but maybe she unconsciously did it when she checked you in, probably a mom reflex of having kids. In any case, this never happened before, people usually get the parking for the whole stay. So, for that I am really sorry.

She also mentioned that if you ran out of towels & wanted a refresh you could always call her. We ask guests not to wash towels in the W/D because they don't always shake out all the sand & it breaks the washer or people don't stop to rebalance the load when the drum bangs around & the springs snap or they overload the dryer and the drum breaks. I've had to replace the W/D three times in 10 yrs and they are not cheap. So, we offer a refresh service free of charge. If you didn't call to get new towels my mom wouldn't know to bring you any. And she said that you didn't even use all the towels that were in the unit so not sure why you're complaining about it. The housekeeper did say that there was a lot of sand everywhere so I'm glad that you did not wash the towels but am sorry that you were unhappy despite having extra in the unit to use. People don't have to bring their own towels to stay at my place.

As for the elevators, can't do anything about that. One side is secured where you can only go up with the elevator card and the other side anyone can access because there are businesses. It's really only a walk across the hall, probably all of ten seconds. And going up the parking ramp, you start at 3 so it's only 3 floors up to get to 6. I've never had this kind of complaint before but I guess a few minutes is like asking for a lot of patience in some people.

Anyways, vacation rentals through an owner is not not for everyone. Some people are just happier staying in hotels. But I hope you enjoyed your time in hawaii regardless.

June 2015

April 2015

March 2015
Lisa
Response from Lisa:

Hi David,

I'm very sorry that you didn't like the apartment. I did not take the photos, it was an Air BnB photographer so I did not edit them in any way but maybe the photographer did to make them look nicer. I have a housekeeper who does all my cleanings and she is very good but I can understand that it's maybe not good enough for some people. If you had let me know I could have sent her back in to re-do the unit if it wasn't to your standards so I'm sorry that we didn't have a chance to do that. But I stand behind her because we rarely get complaints and when we do it's usually someone who looks everywhere and unfortunately, with a vacation rental hotel unit where you only have a few hours between guests, they focus on the main areas and then work down to all the places like the tops of all the appliances or furniture, behind furniture, etc.

I do apologize for the couch with the broken leg, we had a family stay with some kids and I think they jumped on it, broke it but didn't tell us. Instead they propped it up with something underneath so that the housekeeper found out while cleaning. Anyways, I am hoping to be able to remove it the next time I'm on island if it is vacant.

Finally, I try to state it clearly in my description that this unit is a 2nd home for my brother & I when we come home to visit our parents. We are not rich and do our best to keep it clean & functional. But it is in no way fancy because we both have our own homes and with two mortgages it's not like we have a lot to spend on upgrades. We are happy with the way it is but understand that other people may not be. For those people, maybe a unit in the hotel program would be better because they grade them according to how nice they are and you can pay the premium price for one that is completely renovated. It will be double the price of mine, and with the parking being $28 instead of $10/day but you will definately get a nicer unit. You can look up the Executive Centre hotel and search the price for a mountain view suite category to see what the difference is.

I think for a 650 sq foot place with a full kitchen that has appliances, cookware, dishes and a W/D, plus a separate living room and free WIFI, my price is fair. But if you are looking for fancy then it's not the place for you. It's more for people who want a comfortable clean place to live while they explore the island.

Anyways, I am sorry that maybe you didn't read my description or ask for a refund because I would have gladly given you one so that you could stay in a place that made you happier.

Aloha,
Lisa

March 2015

December 2014
Lisa
Response from Lisa:

Hi Mike,

Glad you enjoyed your stay. The location is really convenient, I love staying there every time I visit my family too.

Aloha,
Lisa

December 2014

October 2014
Lisa
Response from Lisa:

Hi Joey,

I'm glad you had a good time. Hope you come again soon!

Aloha,
Lisa

October 2014

September 2014

This host has 142 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Lisa

Lisa
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
Member since November 2009
Response rate: 100% (past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Trust

Explore other options in and around Honolulu

More places to stay in Honolulu: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums
People also stay in: Kihei · Lahaina · Haleiwa · Kailua · Kapaa