Make Yourself at Home w/ Amenities

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Monroe St, Denver, CO 80206, United States
Shelley
Your host, Shelley
7 Reviews
Response rate: 86%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Comfortable bed in a beautiful, unique Congress Park home. Easy walk/drive/bus to many great Denver locations, neighborhood restaurants, shops, and a salon. Located minutes from downtown in an 'old school' neighborhood. Parking available. I have more than one guest at a time and this lends an unusual camaraderie among professionals who stay with me.

This house offers many, many amenities! Hot coffee, cereals, and fruit await the early riser. Dinner is served family-style most Monday evenings and the conversation often keeps guests at the table long after Shelley has finished cleaning the dishes. Other nights, you are welcome to use the kitchen and organize a group meal and/or card game. Continental breakfast is available 24/7. One shy dog lives in the home. Wireless internet and shy-dog sniffs are provided free of charge.

This room is located in the basement and is comfortable. Light sleepers have mentioned that there are water sounds from above in this bedroom, as a pipe runs through it. If you are a light sleeper, and you want to sleep after 8am, I do not recommend this room. Bath is shared - the shower is great! The bed an excellent mattress and plenty of pillows, blankets, etc. Guests are welcome to use washer/dryer and detergents free of charge.

Host Shelley knows the neighborhood and Denver well and treats every guest like an old friend. Nearby attractions such as the Denver Museum of Nature & Science, Zoo, Botanic Gardens are within walking distance of the house.This space is perfect for a visiting scholar, business traveler, and more. Quiet, relaxed, unobtrusive hospitality.

Guest Access

Guests have access to all parts of the house and amenities of the household - kitchen, fridge, printer, wireless, laundry etc.

Interaction with Guests

You are employed or busy sightseeing so we don't see much of one another by day. Others in the house are also out and about. Host lives in the home and occasionally cooks dinner for everyone. Guests interact and sometimes go for meals together, hikes, etc.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $260 /week
Monthly Price: $770 /month
Cleaning Fee: $10
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Shelley is a wonderful hostess and wonderful cook. You could not find a better, more convenient place to stay in Denver. I highly recommend her beautiful home.

    June 2013
  • I was at Shelley's house during a 5-day trip in Denver. The location is great: a very quiet neighborhood, yet only a short bus ride into the city. I felt well in Shelley's house and was happy about the opportunity to meet other (american and international) people. Shelley is a friendly, trustfull host and is ready to give advice and help if needed.

    March 2013
  • Shelly is a great hostess. She did a great job of making me feel welcome and at home. She is a great cook, and there was a good variety in the meals she provides. I stayed in the basement bedroom with the exposed piping, and though I could hear water moving through them I did not find this to be so disturbing that it kept me up at night. But, I am a pretty hard sleeper. still Shelly did a great job of making sure other guests were considerate of my special room conditions. I would stay here again if I come back to Denver, and I highly reccomend this cozy house as a much better experiance than a hote. Also it is in a great location.

    February 2013
  • Shelley (and her household of various other guests) are welcoming and friendly, serve lovely food, and present a great, homey spot while traveling. The rooms are as described, and Shelley gracefully walks the delicate line of being communicative and open while still allowing her guests their privacy. The other perk of this spot was the super neighbourhood, with neat older houses, near parks and little cafes and dinner places. It was a perfect walking/biking/bus access kind of area, great for carless travellers. Overall, a great host and home!

    September 2012
  • Shelley is a fantastic host. This was great place for me to stay, while I was studying and working at the local hospital for the month. When I had a lot of studying to do, I could hide in the privacy of my room and quietly work. When I had time to be social, dinners were always fun, with new people to meet and stories to share.
    Thanks Shelley!

    July 2012
  • Shelley was a most gracious host willing to accommodate my schedule and my two Shelties, who I hope were not too disruptive to the many others in the house. The room is a little noisy and dark, but clean. Shelley says she is going to remedy the situation, so I trust that future stays there will be even more pleasant. The price is certainly right. Soon there will be a lovely deck in the backyard to enjoy on hot Denver summer evenings. The neighborhood is great and safe.

    May 2012
  • I was staying with Shelley for a month for one of the most intense yoga teacher trainings I have ever done. Denver was a new town for me & Shelley made it a pleasure to come home each night, exhausted, hungry, and sore. Shelley's cooking was wonderful & the atmosphere in the house was great! I would highly recommend Shelley's home to anyone wanting to visit Denver!

    April 2012
Per Month
From
$65
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 69 times
Languages
English, Español
School
New Trier East High School; Lewis and Clark College; Princeton Theological Seminary
Work
airbnb; childcare; consulting
About
I am a former higher-education executive now pursuing a career taking care of others. I have a healthy, happy lifestyle -- enjoy hiking, walking, gardening, yoga, fitness, reading, and conversation. My home is known as a place of acceptance and a great launching pad for starting a life in Denver or just visiting. Many international visitors have stayed with me. I love providing directions, suggestions, etc. About once per week, I serve dinner for everyone. When you stay in my home, you are part of the 941 Family.
View full profile
Response Rate
86%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings