Skip to content
Double sofa bed being a bed.Plenty of space when the room is for one.
Bamboo Room in Brunswick
Bamboo Room in Brunswick
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

My place is a comfortable cottage-like home. It's quiet and peaceful but still close to shops, cafes and public transport. Enjoy relaxing in a family home, in a lovely light, clean, comfortable room with a double bed, a desk and cupboard. I will be updating the photos soon (on Monday 04/09/17) as the room has been painted and a different bed is going into the room.
The whole house is in the process of having a make-over and as of October 8, my prices will go up a little bit as a consequence.

The space

Private room in an artist's old, quirky house in the inner northern suburb of Brunswick East.

Older style weatherboard home, with large sunny deck looking onto the back yard. My place is comfortable and welcoming in a great location.

The Bamboo Room

The room has one fairly new double bed. The room is close to the shared bathroom with separate toilet and the open hand-basin area which is an unusual feature. The room has bare, unpolished floorboards and a floor rug. There's a ceiling fan for warm nights.

You will be sharing the bathroom area, living room and kitchen with me, and my small dog.

Kitchen available for meals by negotiation - tea/ coffee available - Friendly host - (artist / teacher).

All sheets and towels provided, wifi, plenty of free parking in the street and off street parking if needed.

Min 2 night stay. Please contact to discuss. I prefer at least 48 hours notice if you would like to stay.

Transport

My place is well serviced by public transport - there are two trams a five minute walk away with the city about 20 minutes away by tram. There is easy access to a train line and also buses taking you east and west of the city.

The Area

East Brunswick is full of cafes and restaurants - you will be spoilt for choice! George Colombari's "Hellenic Republic" is literally up the street!

Sorry, but if you're a smoker, my place won't be suitable.

Guest access

Guests will have access to the shared areas of the house: living room, dining room and deck/garden. I expect that you would use these areas respectfully, leave them as you find them and appreciate that they are family spaces with the usual clutter of family life.

Interaction with guests

I'm happy to chat with my guests and like to know a little bit about their plans ie when they are coming and going from the house so that if I feel like having a private dance party in my kitchen I won't disturb you nor embarrass myself.
As I do some work from home, please respect that I won't always have the time for long conversations.

Other things to note

I try to live as simply and sustainably as possible. This means that I compost all food scraps, kitchen paper and tissues. Paper, plastics and metals are put in a separate recycling bin. It also important to minimise use of electricity. For example, please don't boil a full kettle of water for one cup of tea/coffee, please avoid using the heater unnecessarily (ie if it's 15° C or higher) and please remember to turn off lights when not needed.
I also do all my shopping by bike so if something needs replacing please let me know in advance so I can add it to the shopping list. Thanks for your understanding.

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Family/kid friendly
Cable TV
Wireless Internet
Prices
Extra people $12 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $23
Security Deposit $78
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 12PM (noon) - 10PM
Check out by 8AM

Non-smokers only please!
My preference is for quiet people as the house is fairly compact. You will need to be tolerant of our small dog and understand that it is a family home. You are welcome to prepare simple meals like sandwiches or microwave pre-prepared meals in the kitchen with prior agreement.

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
First aid kit
Availability
1 night minimum stay

18 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jocelyne User Profile
February 2017
If you want to get a good sense of Melbourne from a locals point of view, you should definitely book your stay with Deborah. She was very helpful and understanding with all our needs. Her house felt like our own home in Melbourne, it was comfortable and safe. I would stay here again !

Stephen User Profile
October 2017
Deb's place is very nice, clean and tidy. It is close to a lot of bars and restaurants. Deb was very helpful a and a great communicator. Highly recommended.

Sonia User Profile
September 2017
Déborah is great and is very friendly, the house is very nice and quiet. I really enjoyed my stay there.

Kate User Profile
February 2017
The host canceled this reservation 2 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Pauline User Profile
January 2017
We enjoyed our stay even though we weren't around much because of work. The bed was very comfortable and the wifi really fast. Deborah was really nice and kind as well! Thanks again!

Michael User Profile
December 2016
The house is in a great location - close to Lygon street with restaurants and transport. The house is not exactly luxury and I did not expect that. It is in the process of being slowly renovated. But Deb is a very relaxed accomodating host and very helpful. Happy to recommend as a low cost relaxed stay in Melbourne.

Derek User Profile
September 2016
Deb was great, from the initial communication and arrangements, through to check in and check out. The place was comfortable, was in line with how she'd promoted it, clean linen, etc. Deb herself was very hospitable and chatted with me, which added to the stay. Lovely person.

Melbourne, AustraliaJoined in May 2011
Deborah User Profile

I'm an artist and art teacher. My art practice is centred on printmaking and drawing - I produce mainly abstract work. I like lots of different types of art and am most interested in contemporary work.

I teach children with learning disabilities which is usually fun -they are quirky, endearing kids.
I have 2 kids of my own, both boys, both musicians so being a parent is another part of my life. And then there's the other stuff like cooking, reading, going to the cinema (mainly foreign or arthouse) , eating out, going to friends houses and of course going to galleries.
I'm pretty quiet but when I get to know you, I like a chat!

Languages: Français, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings