BASICS: Hello! This is the second of our half-ground-level rooms, with access to a small kitchen-ish/sink space, a small office, and a shower and laundry (in three different rooms with a hallway). We've been working on it for a while and now call it the "Rose Room." It’s well located, very near a 24-hour cafe and local hangout, and about a hundred feet from Nashville’s “Rock Block” on Church Street-- filled with bars, music venues, restaurants and shops. The northern edge of Vanderbilt University is 1 1/4 blocks away.
MORE INFO: It's still not entirely pretty-- it's in a basement space which we've been hoping to renovate more for about 3 years, and started to improve about a year ago. It's currently still a bit of a mess, but it'(email hidden)able mess! It is also very well-located and affordable, and we've added a variety of furniture, to make it a bit cosy.
FOR FOOTBALL SEASON -- we're within a 15 minute walk to Vandy stadium and have parking! This is also a great jumping pad if you're coming to look for a permanent apartment in Nashville.
If you're looking for a low-cost place to sleep/crash in Nashville, right inside the West End/Midtown, next to downtown, within 1 1/2 blocks to various cafes, restaurants, music venues and bars as well as Vandy, and 2 (long city) blocks of Centennial Park, and plenty of public transit-- this may be for you.
If you're on a budget, this may be what you're looking for. If you need nice & clean & modern & finished-- understand, maybe this isn't it. (We'll sweep & mop & vacuum & steam clean, but we've taken half a wall down in one place and chiseled through masonry here and there, so there's a bit of dust which is hard to control). What we have is somewhat like a loft space, with lots of exposed piping and other features which we've started to polish and paint. We've left some of the old telephone interchange wire brass, and part of a mural discovered when removing part of a wall. We're accumulating bricks to put over a wall. Retro chic is the idea.
AMENITIES ETC. The bedroom is *large* -- 22' x 24' or so-- so you could sleep four to six in there if you need to (we can usually find basic bedding for four). There are stairs to get in; there is internet; there is a largish full (double) bed with a Sealy mattress-- if you want to sleep more than four you'll have to bring sleeping bags or such. Unlike the Sunflower Room, there is currently no window-- as several reviews state, the room is dark, quiet and cool.
There is access to a microwave and refrigerator in a small shared office space, as well as very basic kitchenware. There's a (shared) basic bathroom and shower, as well as a commercial washer and dryer, iron and ironing board, and a garment steamer. The shower was fairly recently renovated with stone masonry; the little bathroom, is not so hot at the moment :( but I'll make sure it's been cleaned.
We also have a USB charging station with standard cables in the little office, in case you forget either while travelling, and there is almost always basic cereal and milk available in the morning (for “breakfast”), so you don’t have to go out to get something in your stomach!
There is a lockable (from the inside) door between the main/bedroom and the office.
Please feel free to ask about anything else.
ADMIN/ERRATA: I'm glad to help with questions as I can, especially over email or text messages, but am often in and out or out of town, and probably won't be able to be a very active host. Apologies-- a bottom line is that nothing else on Airbnb within 5 miles of downtown is under $60/night, and we’re trying to keep the price (website hidden): LAST-MINUTE REQUESTS: A note -- We like to help people out, but we get a lot of last-minute requests from people who've just created an AirBNB account, don't link to (website hidden) or have "reviews" to vouch for them, and/or who violate AirBNB's rules. If you've just created an AirBNB account, we're unlikely to be able to accommodate you if you need something tonight or tomorrow, *especially* if you don’t have a complete profile. With more notice, we can discuss.
CHECK-IN&OUT: is someone flexible but normally check-in is between 2:15PM and 5:30PM and check-out before 11:30AM. Please message in advance of booking for other arrangements if you need-- we are generally able to be very accommodating but have to check schedules.
MINIMUM STAY is THREE NIGHTS for single-person (1) guests and TWO NIGHTS for two (2) or more guests in the same room.
This is not a long-term, rental space nor a tenancy-- hotelier’s rules apply. No stays above 28 days. Do not expect to stay if you haven't reserved/paid, no credit will be extended.
This a great location if you want proximity to downtown. A lyft or the bus will get there in a few minutes. Pleaser believe ken when he says it's not fancy. The bathroom and shower are very primitive and don't feel 100% clean, for a female anyway. As a woman staying by herself I wasn't entirely comfortable. Ken is a very nice guy but the accommodations have an l eerie feel as it is an unfinished basement that isn't really clean. I would recommend if you're with someone or if you're a male on your own.
I want every guest to be satisfied, and want to respond directly to these concerns. Jaimy was a first-time Airbnber, and I asked her to review our pictures and text. I think we make our listing very clear: we have flooring that’s been taken up, we have 75-year-old walls that are cracking, or are in the process of being replaced. But we do wash, scrub, mop and clean before every guest.
The unit has a deadbolt-lock door, and the building exterior doors are normally locked; Jaimy was the only guest at the time; Jaimy also left the unit door unlocked and wide open one night, despite an explicit House Rule not to do so, and a reminder note on the door. Otherwise I’m not sure what else to say on the issue-- Airbnb is a guest/host arrangement, not a generic hotel replacement, and this seemed a match that was best avoided in advance.
Ken was a lovely, kind host. The room is a converted recording studio - amazingly apt for Nashville! - and is located opposite a 24 hour cool hipster cafe called Cafe Coco, and only 5 mins walk from Centennial Park and the Parthenon. Downtown is a 30 minute walk, or 10 minutes on bus 3 or 5 - an amazing location! Yes it's an unfinished basement and the wifi isn't great, but it's amazing value and very comfortable. Thanks Ken!
Kenneth is a very helpful and kind host. The space is as described. The wifi is slow at best, and can be unusable at times but there is other free wifi spots nearby. The neighborhood is amazing, I enjoyed my stay!
Sorry to hear about concerns with the WiFi. We ask guests to let us know about connectivity needs before arrival, and in this case, left a MiFi device with a password taped on the wall-- didn't know Bradley was using it or had problems. It sometimes needs to be moved, and we can often make arrangements for 4G or other connectivity, especially if we know in advance.
Kenneth was a consummate host, and always willing to give advice or fix any issues. The bed was comfy, the room spacious, and the location really couldn't be better.
Guests should take the description seriously however, this is really an unfinished basement, with everything that comes along with that (no natural light, carpeting etc.) However if you're ok with that, as I was, it's great!
Very glad to host Joey. At this point the Rose room does not have natural light-- some people prefer this for sleeping!-- the windows have been cinder-blocked over and there’s a wall to be removed in front of them. The carpeting has been removed and layer below is peeling paint-- we mop and sweep it before every guest-- but we usually could put a rug in from another room, if someone wants and lets us know.
Thanks again to Ken for this cozy, comfortable space for those of us hitting Nashville on a major budget. Ken was easy to get in touch with and went above and beyond his role as an AirBnB host to make us feel at home and appreciated. The space is exactly as described on the listing. Way more character (and better location) than half of the hotels in Nashville. Snap this deal up while it's available and have fun.
The location is quite nice, and across the street from an awesome cafe. It is about a 40-minute walk into downtown Nashville, where the main streets and venues are, so you will need some form of transportation for going out to the famous stuff at night, but there are a few music venues that are very close. There is very convenient parking outside the building. The place is warm, secure, and has a bathroom and small kitchen, and plus, since Nashville is pricier because it's Nashville, the inexpensive places are going to be more expensive than in some other locations. The fact that it used to be a studio is an interesting tidbit. Ken is very kind and accommodating, and he provided bedding and Internet access. Make sure you don't mind messiness! Really, though, Cafe Coco was worth it on it's own. Great for every meal. Ken and his manager were very helpful and reachable. which was great.
I stayed at Kenneth’s place for about a week in total. It was a great base to sleep, wash and do laundry. It’s basic and by no means high class, however it’s not advertised that way. Kenneth was friendly and accommodating, making sure I had everything I needed. I feel those who have written poor reviews of his place have not fully read up on what to expect. A cheap and easy place to stay and close to the heart of the city. I highly recommend if your traveling on a tight budget.
The basement is as advertised – still a 'work-in-progress' – but it is absolutely fine as a place to crash whilst enjoying Nashville. Kenneth was extremely helpful in communications prior to our arrival, and a welcoming host. The apartment is in a good area, easy to reach downtown Nashville, with plenty of places nearby to eat (including a 24-hour cafe-bar across the way – very handy!).
We had read all the reports on Kenneth's property and his replies to unhappy guests and his assurances that all was well, however we stayed only one of the three nights we booked in August 2013.
Following our stay we sent an email to Kenneth re our concerns and followed it up with a detailed email outlining our reasons for only staying one night and asking for a refund. We have yet to have a response from Kenneth and time is running out for us to post a review.
Airbnb runs on trust: on the part of the person opening their home and offering accommodation of a reasonable standard, and on the part of the guest to honour that trust. As guests we do not believe the accommodation offered met the descriptions given.
We were very concerned with the lack of fresh air, and the dank atmosphere from the exposed earth; the lack of security within the room (as it is a shared space); we understood we would probably have to make up the bed however the previous tenant had not made any effort to clean the room or strip the bed. The used bed sheets were covered with crumb-like detritus (bed-bugs?). Fortunately the "manager" was able to find clean sheets, however the seed-like detritus was there again next morning. We chose not to use the one blanket provided.
Do not be fooled by the street view photos or by the comment by Kenny that he lives next door and is renovating. It appears that renovations were started and stopped a long while go. Kenny, I gather lives a very busy life and is rarely there according to the "manager" who let us in.
The entry is at the back of the property, we did not see the front view, it is not close by.
The only upside of this experience was to find Cocos Cafe close by with fabulous food and music!
I’m going to go through this quickly: “Mary and Alan” claimed to be old AirBNBers, but they have no reviews. They claimed to be hippies and made a last-minute request; if they’d have had an accurate profile, we’d have never have approved their request. They asked for a late check-in AFTER booking, forcing me to have my property manager come to the property, as I was out of town.
The proceeded to be more or less our worst guests so far. They claimed that sheets that my manager had just changed, were dirty, berated her and forced her to change them as they argued. They entered private rooms and utility areas, making changes on their own. They claimed that they left early, and filed a refund request for MORE MONEY that they paid-- without cancelling through AirBNB. As far as I know, they used the room, as they left plenty trash.
The report above is just slanderous. I live *on* the property when in Nashville; I slept *in* the same room as them a day before they arrived, and a few days after they left, as we had house guests-- darn if I or any of our other guests knows anything about alleged bedbugs, but I inspected both the sheets and blankets and saw and felt nothing. There are seven central air units for the building, and they were there on a hot day and said they needed to use blankets. Go figure.
The street view is of course generated from the address by AirBNB and is within 75 feet of the building-- nothing more we can do about that. There is no exposed earth-- there is stone masonry we *recently* chisled through. While the room has no key lock, there are TWO layers of deadlocks outside that-- pretty normal for AirBNB accomodations in my experience. And yes, we just stripped the walls down to the sheetrock and took some ceiling tiles out.
What a deal!
This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the final rate, including VAT along with fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the fee charged by Airbnb
This is the fee charged by Airbnb and includes VAT