Coffee, breakfast, wine and bird watching on the deck.
Private room
3 Guests
2 Beds
$75
Per Night
1157 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Awesome, private suite with full bath. Great view of old oaks, tidal creek. Plenty of room to spread out. Breakfast foods and coffee in a.m. Only 10min drive to historic Charleston. 15min to beach. Great deck to hang out. Bikes available.


Coffee, breakfast, wine and bird watching on the deck.

Coffee, breakfast, wine and bird watching on the deck.


The Space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $15 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $25
Weekly discount: 10%
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The Space

The best of Charleston! I love hosting and want to make your stay the best possible. Great deck for eating al fresco, enjoying the view of the tidal creek and wildlife, afternoon wine, morning coffee. Breakfast included. Welcome glass of wine. Room is a finished room over the garage with a private bath, separate ac. This room accesses through the main house. Queen bed (requires 4 steps up to access) plus twin bed. Flat screen tv with lots of channels, super fast wifi. Plenty of parking. 10/12 minutes to historic district. 15/20 min. to beach. Quiet neighborhood within walking distance of restaurants, shops, music venue, theater. Beautiful oak lined avenues, great for walking/jogging/biking. Bikes avail. to use. Near the famous Angel Oak, the oldest and largest tree East of the Mississippi. Breakfast foods available: Muffins, juice, coffee, tea, milk, help yourself. Linens, towels, soap, shampoo, tp are included. Fabulous sightseeing with gorgeous preserved architecture, gardens, tours, carriage rides, boat trips to Ft. Sumter, parks, Farmer's Market, world class shopping and restaurants to suit every taste. Many many activities from theater, to concerts, to jazz and comedy clubs plus visual art in parks and galleries to enjoy. A week is hardly enough to time to see the city. Folly Beach is 15 min. away and has awesome beaches, restaurants, bars, kayak trips, stand up paddling, surfing, dolphin watching, fishing pier, more. Also nearby are Magnolia and Middleton Plantations-take a half day to enjoy each. Your hostess was born in Charleston so has lots of recommendations and help. Bus service is available, but not so convenient. There is a play park close by and boat landing two blocks away. Hope to see you soon! NO smoking on property, please. Please ck. out my reviews on my other room rentals! No perfumes or scented products in home due to asthma/allergies. I highly recommend having a car or renting one!

Guest Access

You have access to living/dining rooms, kitchen and breakfast foods, cereal, muffins,fruit, tea/coffee. The deck is a great place to sit with a glass of wine... Hi speed wifi, cable tv in room, central hvac. Bikes in garage, beach mats/chairs. Book of Crystal's Favorite things to see and do in Charleston. Brochures/maps/coupons/etc. Feel free to use the washer and dryer. There is an additional fee of $20 per day for your friendly dog, (with approval a 2nd dog is an additional $10). Back yard is fully fenced.

Interaction with Guests

I love to hang out with my guests with that glass of wine or coffee or sweet tea. Sometimes we go and do things together. I'm 5th generation here and know the secrets of my city. Bring your dog for an extra fee of $20/day and $30 for two per day and they need to meet my approval before booking, please. No Pit Bulls. Love to get to know you!! I'm home a lot as I work selling real estate here in Charleston, but on rare occasion may be on vacation. However, I do work from home so have limited time to visit. If I am not in town, sometimes I have a house sitter, or you would be on your own!

The Neighborhood

This is the oldest, prettiest (in my opinion) neighborhood on James Island. There are ancient oaks lining every street. Its surrounded on 3 sides by salt marsh, creeks, river and Intercoastal Waterway which we see from the deck. I'm two blocks from restaurants/theater/bars/music venue/boat landing/park. We have Sun. afternoon farmers market in neighborhood (not during winter). Friendly, safe, quiet. AND ONLY 10 to 12 MIN. To DOWNTOWN!! And 15 min. to the beach unless its a weekend morning, can take longer.

Getting Around

Great neighborhood for walking for fun or to shops, restaurants, music venues. There is bus service to downtown. Or Uber is very reasonable. Or taxis. Most guests rent a car. I highly recommend having a car. It is not possible to walk to the historic district due to bridges over water. I provide airport transportation with notice for $35 each way and downtown for $15. I am not always available for that. Taxis ($15 to 20) or Uber can be called. Also, can try biking. Bikes in the garage for your convenience.

Other Things to Note

PLEASE CALL AN HOUR OR TWO BEFORE ARRIVING! Looking forward to having you! PLEASE PARK IN DRIVEWAY, not behind another car though. No small children 2 and under please. Be sure to look at the height of the queen bed as it does require 4 or 5 steps and some folks have trouble accessing if they have physical challenges.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not infant-friendly (0-2 years)
Check-in is after 2PM

Please let me know arrival time as it changes for you. Lock up when arriving and leaving. Feel free to use kitchen If a visiting dog is here, please do not let in yard unless you are with them. No smoking on property, including deck and yard and driveway. Wifi info is on desk in your room. Please do not wear hairspray, perfume, cologne or use scented body wash or soaps while visiting due to allergies. I do provide body wash, shampoo, conditioner, soap that I am not allergic to. PLEASE PARK IN DRIVEWAY! Its ok to park in front of the garage door. Please keep your room door shut for privacy when out of the house or going to bed at night. And shut both doors to the space to keep HVAC systems separate. Also, please turn HVAC so it won't run the whole time you are out of the room. Dogs must me approved before booking!!

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay
Waterfront bed, bath, BF, sleeps 3!

213 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 251 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Crystal

Crystal

Charleston, South Carolina, United States · Member since March 2012

I'm a fifth generation Charlestonian, a real estate agent, a home renovator, investor and grateful Airbnb host. I love animals (am known as the neighborhood dog whisperer) and welcome them to visit with you. Rather be in nature than anywhere and am blessed with a stunning view and yard. I enjoy great conversations, and lots of laughter. In fact, I am a Certified Laughing Yoga instructor. I love to be active, swimming in the ocean, going to dancersize, yoga, walks around the historic district of Charleston to admire the gardens and architecture of the old homes. Good food, a nice glass of wine, while watching a stunning sunset is the perfect end to the day. I like all kinds of music, attend concerts every chance I get. I'm an avid reader, fiction but historical novels too. I've traveled throughout the Caribbean, Latin America, Hawaii and own a home in Costa Rica on the Pacific Coast. Recently went to Europe and am anxious to go back. Love to have visitors to show them our beautiful sights. I strive to make your visit perfect in your own special way and to be of service in all my endeavors. Would love to do Yoga with you, join you for dinner, give you a tour of downtown, help you find your way around out lovely city.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts