shared.user_profile_image

Lovely 3-bed period flat in Hackney

United KingdomLondon
Entire home/apt
6 Guests
3 Bedrooms
3 Beds
$119
Per Night
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Light and spacious 3-double bedroom apartment set over 2 floors, with 2 bathrooms, well-equipped kitchen/diner, large living room and lovely private garden. Excellent transport links to Liverpool St (15 mins) and direct buses to the west end. Lots of excellent restaurants and bars walking distance.

Living room

Living room


The Space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $22 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $30
Weekly Price: $745 /week
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

A lovely, light 3-bedroom flat in Hackney Central / London Fields (E8), with a quirky combination of antique and modern furniture. Excellent transport links to the city (20 minutes), Islington (10 minutes) and the West End (30 minutes), either via three different bus routes that stop outside, or trains from Hackney Central station (5 minute walk) or London Fields Station (10 minute walk).

Minutes from open spaces of London Fields (excellent for families) and fashionable bars and restaurants on Broadway Market. Ten minute walk to Dalston and 15 minute bus ride to Shoreditch (both excellent for clubbers).

Two minute walk to local shops for basics (milk, bread etc), a lovely coffee shop and an excellent wine shop. Large supermarket less than ten minutes walk.

The flat is extremely spacious for a couple or four guests, and can easily accommodate up to six people (without using the living room as a bedroom!). The communal living spaces are excellent for up to six people but a little word of advice about the beds - there is one excellent 'normal' bed with a very comfortable matress, a comfortable, sprung double sofa-bed, and the final double bed is a futon. It is fine if you like hard beds but it may not be suitable for older guests!

Please note this is my home, but I rent it out when I am away for work. So I make sure you have some hanging space and some drawers in each of the bedrooms for your clothes, and plenty of clear shelves in the bathrooms. But it does still have some of my clothes there, and books and so on. It is like staying in someone's house, not a hotel - which I like, but I would not want anyone to be expecting a completely empty 'holiday home'.

Ground floor:
Large, sunny living room with 2 sofas, stripped wood flooring.

Large, well-equipped kitchen/diner with table to seat 6 people, 4-ring gas hob, electric oven/grill, fridge/freezer.

Down 3 stairs to:
Recently refurbished bathroom with toilet, shower, washing machine and dryer. Pretty mosaic tiles.

TV room / Bedroom 2 with sofa-bed, armchair, TV (Freeview, approximately 30 channels), DVD player (please feel free to watch my DVDs!). Window overlooking back garden.

Back door to private garden.

Down staircase to basement floor:
Two large Rooms:
Bedroom 1: queen-size bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, radio, reading lamps, window overlooking back garden.

Study / Bedroom 3: double futon (will be set up as sofa unless otherwise requested), desk, plenty of hanging space for clothes.
Please note that unless you book the flat for 5 or 6 people, this room will not be available to use as I use it to store my clothes etc when I am away!

Bathroom: Toilet, bath, shower.

Under stairs cupboard containing ironing board, iron, hoover.

Wireless internet throughout the house.

Guest Access

If there are 2-4 of you, then I'll shut up one of the bedrooms to dump some of my stuff in to give you more room!

I'll make sure you have a wardrobe's worth of hanging space and a chest of drawers.

You're also very welcome to use all the equipment (including coffee machine, juicer etc) and the herbs and spices in the kitchen.

Interaction with Guests

I only rent the house when I'm away, so I won't be around - but my sister lives on the same road and my mum lives 10 minutes away if you need anything!

The Neighborhood

London Fields is a really buzzy, fashionable area with really excellent restaurants and bars. If you want clubs, there are lots of great late night dancing options in Dalston, 10 minutes away. If you want green spaces, it's lovely to cycle along the canal towards the Olympic Park, and Victoria Park is great for kids, runners, tennis, sun-bathing...

Columbia Rd has great independent shops and a fantastic Sunday flower market, and is about 20 min walk.

Further afield, the bus to the west end (Soho and Covent Garden) is door-to-door and take 30 to 40 mins depending on traffic. You're also within half an hour of the Tower of London, the South Bank, and within 20 mins the shops and restaurants of Islington and Brick Lane.

Getting Around

You're a 5 minute walk from Hackney Downs (trains to Liverpool St take 10 mins), 5 mins from Hackney Central (trains to Islington take 10 mins, and carry on west to Hampstead Heath), and a 10 min walk or 5 min bus from Dalston Junction (trains to Brick Lane and Shoreditch take 15mins).

Buses stop outside the house: number 38 goes to Islington, Sadlers Wells and Covent Garden, 242 goes to Shoreditch, Liverpool St and Tottenham Ct Rd and 277 goes to Islington.

Other Things to Note

I have two cats who ideally will stay while you use the house. They are very friendly and VERY housetrained - they only go to the toilet outside. If you are ok with the cats staying, they need feeding twice a day, but that is the only interaction you need have with them (unless you want to stroke them, which they will also be fine with!)

+ More

House Rules

Please leave the house as you found it, i.e. wipe the kitchen surfaces down, do the washing up. No need to clean it thoroughly though - a cleaner will come when you leave.

+ More

Availability
4 nights minimum stay
Living room - Victorian chest of drawers, stereo, lots of books!

Living room - Victorian chest of drawers, stereo, lots of books!

9 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

About the Host, Robin

shared.user_profile_image
London, United Kingdom
Member since September 2012

Connections

Explore other options in and around London

More places to stay in London: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums