Al fresco dining.
Beautiful Secluded Country Property Near Sugarbush
Beautiful Secluded Country Property Near Sugarbush


Entire home/apt

10 Guests

4 Bedrooms

5 Beds


Entire home/apt

10 Guests

4 Bedrooms

5 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
10 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This is an exceptional custom-built Vermont home, nestled into the forest near the top of a small peak in the Green Mountains, and featuring stunning views. Nearby to Sugarbush, the Mad River Valley, Montpelier, Vermont Tech, and Norwich University, yet exquisitely secluded.

The space

This is a very well appointed 4 bedroom/2.5 bath house with magnificent views, on 40+ acres of woodland and meadows, with hiking and VAST trails climbing to the peak of Cram Hill and connecting to the Roxbury State Forest (which the property borders). There is a spring-fed pond stocked with native brook trout, and a sandy beach for swimming or fishing. There is a 900 sq. ft. covered wraparound porch with 180 degree mountain views. Stonework and hardwood run throughout the house, and the gourmet kitchen features stainless, maple and granite.

There is a wood-burning stove (firewood is included), as well as two gas-fired fireplaces. Satellite wide-screen televisions (with a 300+ DVD movie library), wireless high-speed internet, audiophile stereo (with an 800+ record library), books, games and a landline phone are available for your use, as are full laundry facilities, a piano, and a two-car garage. The house sleeps 10 (two per bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room) and the master bedroom suite includes a private dressing room and 2-person Jacuzzi tub.

Local craftsmen and builders were used for all aspects of construction, and local materials were used whenever possible. Green construction and Lo-E glass throughout contribute to the high thermal efficiency of the structure. The property is powered by a hybrid solar system. Filtered water flows from deep within a granite outcropping and supplies the water needs of the house.

This property is located in the Dog River Valley of Central Vermont, 10 miles from Warren Center and the Mad River Valley, and 15 miles to Sugarbush Resort. To answer a question that a lot of folks have asked, it takes about 30 min. to drive to Sugarbush in the winter, except of course when we get bombed by a couple feet of snow - at these times it takes a bit longer, but it's well worth it! It is also 10 miles to Northfield, VT and Norwich University, and 15 miles to Randolph, VT (where there is an Amtrak station) and Vermont Technical College. There are three great golf courses within 15 miles. The quaint town of Roxbury is 4 miles away for gas, post office and basic supplies. It is a 5.5 hour drive from NYC and 3 hours from Boston or Montreal.

Thanks for looking!
-Scott


The space
Bathrooms: 2.5
Bedrooms: 4
Beds: 5
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 1PM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $100
Security Deposit: $500
Weekly Discount: 19%
Weekend Price: $350 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Check in is anytime after 3PM

Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Availability
2 nights minimum stay

17 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Tricia User Profile
March 2017
Great house! Really clean. Good layout for a group. Scott was very responsive. Bonus the house was well stocked with toilet paper, paper towels, garbage bags etc. The home is secluded and charming, felt like a get-away from the city. Four-wheel drive for your car is helpful.

Mike User Profile
January 2017
Great long weekend away at Sugarbush. Scott made himself available before our stay to answer any questions, was very accommodating to our early check-in needs, and even gave me good recommendations on where to buy some Heady Topper. His place is great, and even better than the photos depict. First floor is kind of open concept with plenty of room to entertain, which was great because there were 10 of us guests. The wood-fire stove was easy to operate with his instruction and heated the entire place no problem. The property is great, our dog loved running around. The only issue we had was our friends who drove up in sedans couldn't make it up his street, which is a really cool but very country 2 mile dirt road. For this reason I would say in the winter and spring that all-wheel or four-wheel drive is mandatory to stay here. Overall great stay that I'd highly recommend.

Paul User Profile
January 2017
The house was a lovely, secluded farmhouse on a very private road backing to woods and well off the road. Easy access to nearby towns. The wood stove and gas fireplaces made for a warm, cozy atmosphere and the house was well equipped with most everything we needed. Since it was winter, we didn't get to sit out on the huge front porch, but it would be great during the summer months. Scott sent extensive instructions and information on the house and surroundings areas which was extremely helpful. He was also quickly available to address and issues or clarification during our stay. We sat around the living room enjoying listening to some of the old records from his collection and would have played some piano too if one of our crew were able to. Overall, Scott's place was quite comfortable and perfect for the 8 of us in a rural Vermont setting.

Justin User Profile
January 2017
Definitely have a 4-wheel drive in winter. A couple of our cars were front wheel drive and they were okay, but the driveway can be a little tricky. It was wonderful to be away from everything for a while! A great place to stay!

Louis User Profile
November 2016
This was the panoramic getaway we were looking for. The house was perfect for the large family dinner we had.

Laura User Profile
November 2016
The host canceled this reservation 46 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Santosh User Profile
October 2016
Overall we liked the place. Had little difficulty finding the place on the first day. We had intermittent issues with hot water and only one bathroom worked. You couldn't take shower in the master bathroom as it was broken.
Scott User Profile
Response from Scott:
Hi Santosh, It sounds like you experienced some difficulty with one of the bathrooms during your stay - I'm very sorry to hear that. I wish you had contacted me at some point during your stay to let me know that there was a problem so I could have resolved it. I work very hard to make sure that all of my guests have an exceptional stay, because I think it's important that the time you spend with your loved ones at my house is special. Like any rental property with a steady stream of guests, problems occasionally arise, or maintenance is needed, and I do my best to take care of these things immediately. In any case, I genuinely hope that any inconvenience you experienced was minor, and that you and your family were able to have an otherwise enjoyable stay.
October 2016

Waitsfield, Vermont, United States · Joined in September 2012
Scott User Profile

I have been in love with Vermont for much of my life - I grew up hiking, swimming and skiing in the Green Mountains. When I had the opportunity to have a home here, I spent years looking for the perfect site, and slowly built the house that I had always wanted. In the process, I have also fallen in love with Vermont's people and way of life. I am happy to be able to share this special place with you.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.