Bamboo Gardens- Home Away From Home

House - Entire home/apt · Brock St, Cannon Hill, QLD 4170, Australia

The Space

TROPICAL, SIMPLE AND AFFORDABLE!!

Hello and welcome to Brisbane!

My son, small dog and I have a large leafy Queenslander home in Cannon Hill with roomy private self contained accommodation for up to four people downstairs. Cannon Hill is 8kms from city centre. The space has 1 large bedroom with TV (double bed with brand new mattress topper) with own bathroom and separate toilet and separate secure entrance so you can come and go without any disruptions. Kitchenette/living room connected to outdoor undercover terrace. This room contains a sofa bed or fold out camp bed for extra guests.
Insect screens are installed on windows.

A very child friendly property, with a secure tall fence all around and a large trampoline available for use. Offstreet parking for one car is available if needed, (I will put my car out) but there is plenty of free parking in the street outside for car caravan, boat etc.

Location and Transport
Cannon Hill is located approximately 8kms from the CBD or roughly 15 minutes to the city or 15 minutes out to Cleveland and other bayside areas.We are only 20 minutes by car / taxi from the airport. Very handy to access both the Sunshine and Gold Coasts on the Gateway Motorway.

There is a car rental office just around the corner!

Train: Cannon Hill Station is 600 metres away.

Bus: Route 227 to and from City stops around the corner - 50 metres away- all timetables available.
Citycat Ferries: stop at Bulimba where there is a bus that comes to near our home. SEE TRANSPORT DETAILS.
Airport or train station pick up can be arranged (small charge) if really needed. All timetables available here.

Wireless internet available throughout house, and a small library for relaxing. Am working on a reference visitor information resource section but as a Brisbane person, I am able to provide good information regarding Brisbane's attractions. I have been a traveller so have a good understanding of visitor needs and will be delighted to share whatever I have in my head over a cup of coffee (or something more grown up) on the big back deck upstairs.

It is simple, clean and contemporary - a good space to relax after a long business day, conference, student stay or visit to Brisbane.There are leafy options for outdoor eating relaxing in the simple undercover area or in the bamboo garden.

Facilities

New modern kitchenette within the living area with:
Induction cooktop, microwave, electric frypan and skillet, toaster, electric kettle, flat bed griller and refrigerator as well as tea and coffee making facilities, plates, cutlery for simple independent self catering.
Pedestal fan, IPOD dock, large flat screen TV, iron and ironing board, large work table/ desk, plenty of wardrobe space and tallboy for clothes.
BBQ is available for outdoor cooking day and night, if you want the real Queenslander experience.

Shared front load washing machine and drying area.
WIFI throughout.

Shopping and Eating Out

- 700m from two large supermarkets, deli, butcher, newsagent cafe.
- 700m from several takeaway food places - I have takeaway menus available.

Nightly Rate Includes

- Accommodation for first person plus $10 for each additional guest. There is a sofa bed that can accommodate 1-2 people / children or one adult plus I have another single mattress on floor if preferred. Bedroom is quite a large room.
- Tea, coffee, juice, milk, bread, butter and jams will be in fridge to get you started. After that I leave it up to you to purchase your own supplies.
- Fresh linen, towels, soaps, shampoo etc. Supplied linen will be changed after one week for longer stays or upon request.
- Access to wireless internet as long as use is not in the mega proportions for movie downloads and TV streaming.

Check-in and Out

Our standard check in time is after 2pm and check out before 10am. We are happy to be flexible on this wherever it doesn't conflict with other bookings, please just communicate with us about what you need.

Minimum 2 nights night up to a maximum stay of four weeks.
If you do require a longer stay, please get in touch to discuss further as I am flexible.

NO SMOKING

This is definately a non smoking home. Please do not smoke anywhere in or around the house.

I am an Airbnb user for overseas trips so hopefully have covered the basics for a simple affordable alternative for your stay in Brisbane. Thank you for visiting our property page and I look forward to meeting you on your visit to Brisbane!

Annette and Toby

Guest Access

You will have access to a self contained one bedroom unit including kitchen facilities. You also have use of outdoor area which I may pass through to service my garden or hang out the washing.
Washing machine is upstairs on rear deck for your use. My office on ground level is private and has no access to guests.

Interaction with Guests

I will aim to meet you on arrival and help become familiar with everything including safety items. Introduce the puppy and where maps, shops and transport are.
After that I may pop in to see everything is as it should be then you are free of me. I am happily available to answer questions or you need help.

Getting around

Buses are 100 m away and the train station is about 700 m away - a 5-10 minute walk. Both take you into the city about 15 minutes away.

I can collect from the station if you have a lot of luggage.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 2
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $337 /week
Monthly Price: $1349 /month
Cleaning Fee: $10
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We found Annie an excellent host and Dusty the dog was adorable. After a long journey we found the acccomodation very welcoming, Annie had even provided a food starter pack. She is very knowledgable about the Brisbane area and gave some useful tips on the local rail link to the city from the nearby station. Although we cut short our visit to stay with family locally, it certainly was no reflection on Annie or the accomodation and we would have no hesitation recommending it to other people. Thankyou and regards, Paul,Lynn and Joe Kelly.

    April 2014
  • Really nice apartment and a great central location for our stay in Brisbane. Quick access to shop and just a short drive from the airport. Annie was a great host and available for our many questions about the city. The space had everything we needed for a nice 4 day trip. Thanks!

    April 2014
  • Annie was a great host. Very easy going and flexible. The self contained apartment is exceptional value - great outdoor space and upmarket on the inside. Would definitely stay again

    March 2014
  • An absolutely wonderful home away from home! Our family loved this place and its hostess <3

    February 2014
  • A really pleasant haven to relax with the benefit of being close to great transport links and shops. Annette is a very gracious and helpful hostess and it felt like we were staying in our our home we felt so at ease.Thanks for a great stay

    January 2014
  • We had a super stay with Annette unfortunately Toby and Dusty were away! We love the city of Brisbane spending 8 & 9 hours a day there.
    Bamboo Gardens is a special place you think you are away on the wilderness then you hear a plane flying!! The apartment has everything, great comfy bed, lots of info and great seating outside to chill in the eve!! Our host even gave us a lift to the Sunshine Coast. We would def stay there again!

    January 2014
  • Our stay at Annette's house was lovely,just what we needed after 5 weeks travelling around Australia! The apartment was well appointed and very comfortable. Very clean and had a relaxing atmosphere.
    Annette was wonderful, a great host. She kindly picked us up and dropped us off from the airport, and also accomodated us in the afternoon after we had checked out as our flight wasnt until late evening. We were able to realx in her home on the balcony and were able to use her bathroom to freshen up. We would definatley stay here again.

    January 2014
  • Lovely place to stay. One of my party was a smoker and it is very much a no smoking property - both inside and outside - so that was blunder on my part, but everything else was gold.

    December 2013
  • EN :
    Annette is a lovely host. We had a warm welcome and everything was made for us to be comfortable. She had milk and butter in the fridge and some other staples which made meal preparation easy when we used kitchen.The flat is very clean, cosy and spacious. And the adjoining terrace full of potted tropical plants makes the place very unique and soothing. Annette was kind enough to let us stay in the terrace after check-out. So we were able to relax a bit longer before taking our flight, wich was truly appreciated! I definitively recommend the Bamboo garden to anybody staying in (website hidden) :
    Annette est l'hôte parfaite. Nous avons été trés bien acceuillis et tout a été fait pour qu'on se sente comme chez nous. Elle avait mis du lait et du beurre au frigo ainsi que d'autres ingrédients de base, ce qui était bien pratique pour cuisiner nos repas. L'appartement est trés propre, comfortable et spacieux. Et la terrasse pleine de plantes exotiques en pot rend vraiment l'endroit unique et apaisant. Annette a été assez gentille pour nous laisser profiter de la terrasse apres avoir vidé l'appartement. On a donc pu se relaxer un peu plus longtemps avant de reprendre l'avion, ce qu'on a bien apprécié ! Si vous projetez de séjourner à Brisbane, allez-y les yeux fermés !

    December 2013
    Annie
    Response from Annie:

    Thank you for your kind review Angi. I hope your return to work and the holidays will be good for you. Best wishes Annette

  • We were supremely happy with our stay with Annette and enjoyed meeting her and spending restful time in the space. It was very private and comfortable and Annette had kindly left some start up groceries in the fridge eg milk, bread, yogurt, butter jam.

    It ended up not just being a place to sleep but somewhere we made time to return to in the afternoon and enjoy the ambiance and calmness of the verandah and the garden. We enjoyed some time getting to know Annette and thank her for her generosity in excess of expectations.

    Thank you.

    December 2013
Per Month
From
$53
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 216 times
Languages
English
School
University of NSW
Work
Landscape Architect/ Visual Planner sub consultant
About
My son Toby and I live in Brisbane Australia. Toby is in Year 9 and is a quiet lad. I am a Landscape Architect and work from home with my own private consultancy. I have travelled far and wide in earlier years, have lived and worked in the Middle East for five years. Am now back home an establishing Chapter 10 of the life cycle in our Brisbane home. I have a keen desire to show Toby the hot spots of the world while he is still happy age to travel with me. I do this homestay to bring the world to us now that I am anchored for a while. Oh it also helps to pay for paint and other toys!! Come and meet us some day soon. Cheers Annette
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings