Double room with handmade Mennonite quiltSingle room
Heart of Niagara-Queen room
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

This is a well appointed century home within walking distance to downtown St Catharines for access to a variety of restaurants and pubs. It is only a 15 minute drive to Niagara Falls and a 20 minute drive to Niagara on the Lake, a lovely historical town and home of the world famous Shaw Festival for professional theatre. (Public transportation is also available.) We are in the heart of wine country with well over 100 wineries in the surrounding area, most of which have tours and tastings. The Welland Canal which passes right through the city also makes for a very interesting visit as you can watch huge shipping vessels 'cllimb' the locks as they travel through the Great Lakes. Toronto, a large cosmopolitan city, is just over an hour away.

Guests would have access to the bright sunroom for watching TV, perhaps playing with the Wii or just relaxing. They are also welcome to use the kitchen facilities and In warm weather there is a screened in porch which is lovely for enjoying a bug free meal. WiFi is available. There is off road parking as well. Breakfast could be self catered or prepared.

I have three bedrooms so would be able to accommodate up to 5 guests.

The queen room on the second floor has a very comfortable queen bed and is a Florida-like coral and white decor. The bathroom would be shared by occupants of the double room.

The double room on the second floor has an antique bed with a custom made mattress adorned with a handmade Mennonite quilt. Facing east means lots of morning sunshine. The bathroom would be shared by occupants of the queen room.

I regret that my home is not suitable for young children.


Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo

Prices
Extra people $8 / night after the first guest
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 10AM

In general check in would be from 4:00 and check out before 10:00. However this could be modified with advance notice if necessary.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

87 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mandy User Profile
August 2017
Number one. The best Air B and B breakfast ever! Thanks Barbara. Loved that you sat down with us and shared your vast local knowledge over perfectly cooked bacon and eggs. And a very generous fruit plate (of summer fruits). The coffee was superb too. Our mattress was extremely comfortable (as were the pillows) and the room was cool and inviting. We particularly loved the proximity to the town's high street with its many eateries. And were bowled-over by the vegan restaurant Rise Above which was your suggestion. We went for dinner and were so impressed booked brunch the following day. For meat eaters Rise Above was an enlightening experience. Don't forget to visit Niagara-by-the-Lake if you happen to be in Saint Catharines. And attend a few plays during the Shaw Festival of just wander around the flower infused town with your camera. Totally pretty. But our heart was in Saint Catharines with the delightful Barbara. Thank you!

Kirsty User Profile
August 2017
Barbara is a wonderful host who welcomes you in to her home to share the space with her, and her cats. She has a small beautiful garden to sit in. Excellent breakfasts.. Recommend to all who like a true home environment, rather than a sterile 'guest' room or hotel.

Amelia User Profile
August 2017
Barbara's place is supremely comfortable to stay in - one of the best bed & breakfasts I've ever stayed in. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the house is beautiful and well located just ten minutes walk into town and he bus station - but most importantly Barbara went out of her way to make us feel at home. She provided many little touches that made it feel just like we were staying with family. Loved having breakfast with Barbara and the other guests every morning, and loved being able to head down and have a chat. And her two cats Toby and Praline are just the sweetest little animals around!

Nadia User Profile
July 2017
I had a really great weekend at Barbara's home. She is a very sweet person and you will feel yourself at home. The house is very clean and comfortable, you will have everything you need. Two huge cats are very talkative and friendly if you want to interact. And the breakfast here is the best I had on AirBnB so far and I travelled a lot! Thank you, Barbara!!

Ziqing User Profile
June 2017
Barbara's house is lovely. It's close to the downtown bus terminal. The room is big and well-decorated. Barbara was very helpful and she drove me to my bus station after I checked out. I would definitely recommend this place to people who visit St Catherine's.

Katherine User Profile
May 2017
Barbara is a great host! The house is very cozy as pictured. A delicious breakfast was offered on both days and the bed was very comfortable! Great location being close to Niagara Falls and Toronto. I would highly recommend Barbara's place if you want to feel at home!

Anna User Profile
May 2017
Beautiful house in a great location!

This host has 279 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
St Catharines, CanadaJoined in August 2012
Barbara User ProfileBarbara is a superhost.

I'm a pretty easy going, positive person who enjoys meeting new people. My philosphy is to just enjoy life and try to be thoughtful to those around me. I've always lived in the Niagara peninsula but love to travel as often as I can. I'm retired from an IT position with the local school board but now keep busy as a financial planner and tax preparer. Besides travel, other hobbies include photography, theatre, gardening, playing bridge and playing Scrabble. My house is shared by two lovely cats. As a guest I would be quiet and considerate. As a host I would do my very best to provide a warm welcome to my guests.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings