Futon in Family Home close to Tube

Apartment - Shared room · Maidstone Rd, London, N11 2TP, United Kingdom
Kevin & Zaza

It's a double futon (and if necessary mattresses on the floor) in our living room by the kitchen. It'(email hidden), but nobody will come into the room while you're sleeping (privacy between 11pm and 8 am).

Comfortable and warm, sheets provided.

Your host, Kevin & Zaza
3 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

It's a double futon (and if necessary mattresses on the floor) in our living room by the kitchen. It'(email hidden), but nobody will come into the room while you're sleeping (privacy between 11pm and 8 am).

Comfortable and warm, sheets provided.

The Space

ABOUT THE LISTING
Ideal if you need space for a couple of nights, this is a double futon in the living room of our family home. It sleeps two.
Photo to be updated as it shows a single futon.

This is (email hidden) with kitchen attached, but just sleeping space! We need some time of our own during the day from around 11am to 4pm because our kids do their work in here (which includes drumming practice!). You can of course come in and out during the day. You only have privacy between 11pm and 7.30 am.

Great access to Central London sights because we are so close to the Underground Station. The space is in our living/dining area and attached to our kitchen so it is only private between 23:00 and 07:30.
The living room is smaller than it looks in the above picture (4.5 x 3.8 m), because there is now a drum set in the room, but feels big because it is attached to the bright kitchen. It has great ambience and our guests have spent many happy hours in this space with us.

Ideal if what you want is a safe base in London and a family atmosphere to come home to. Meals are not included but if you are happy to contribute to the kitchen we will be glad to talk about how sharing can work.

We only host here if we are fully comfortable with you (so a good request and adequate description on your profile helps).

The living room has light coming in from 05:00 in summer; please remind us to set-up a curtain if you expect that this will bother you.

---What to expect---
You will be staying (email hidden)d in family home (complete with with peeling paint and cracked tiles in the bathroom!) -- this is reflected in the price. You have to be realistic with your expectations and not expect anything near pristine. We keep it clean, we love having people stay and we are interested in getting to know you and have you experience what it's like to be with a family.

None of the bedroom doors has a lock so if this is a concern for you please take your valuables when you go out. We cannot take responsibility for them.

You have use of our garden and wireless broadband, and free parking spaces are available within an easy walk.
• We are quite easy going but please also refer to the House Rules.
• Smoking is permitted in the garden.
• Fresh towels and bedlinen are provided though they will not be ironed.
• Breakfast of toast, coffee or tea is included. You may need to prepare it yourself. Please clear away your things. A cooked breakfast is available at a small supplement. Please help yourself to hot drinks at any time during the day.
• If joining us for meals that you haven't arranged in advance, please show your own capacity to share;-) seems obvious? Yup, the shops are 2 mins away.
• Finally please note that there is one bathroom in the flat. We normally manage adequately with up to four extra persons, but our place won't suit you if you tend to spend more than a half-hour in the bathroom. The bathroom does not look as bad as photographed but it has many imperfections.

---Travelling times Underground & Train---
• Bounds Green Underground station, Piccadilly Line: 2 minutes walk
• Primark Clothing Store-Wood Green Station: 10 minutes
• Kings Cross Station: 20 minutes
• Eurostar-St Pancras Station: 30 minutes
• Heathrow Airport (direct, 1 hour 15 minutes)
• Oxford Street, the British Museum, Trafalgar Square areas: 30 minutes
• City Of London (website hidden) district, Moorgate Station: 30 minutes
• Natural History, Science, Victoria & Albert Museums, South Kensington Station: 45 minutes
• Westfield Shopping Centre, Westfield Station: 40 minutes.
• Taxi (minicab) fare from central London to house is £30. Ask us for the phone number so that you can order the taxi when you need it.

---Getting Around---
Bounds Green is a pleasant and quiet neighbourhood, and due to its easy access to London Underground's Piccadilly Line, it will take you 30 minutes from our front door to Piccadilly Circus. The museums in South Kensington are also on the Piccadilly Line as are other popular spots like Trafalgar Square, British Museum and Covent Garden.

There are well-stocked grocery stores nearby, along with many take-aways and two pubs. If you like cafes, ice-creams and browsing, buses 102 and 299 will take you to nearby Muswell Hill, and if you like parks and stunning views across London we are twenty minutes’ walk to Alexandra Palace.

--- Extras (Add-Ons)---
• Family Suppers
• Bread Making Tutorials
• Malaysian, Thai and Moroccan Food
• Free booking of taxi to and from airport. Driver can meet you in the arrivals lounge.
• Free mobile Phone SIM: If you want to get a UK SIM for your phone we recommend GiffGaff. We can help you get set up with one when you arrive.

---To summarise---
• Up to two guests can be accommodated in the open plan living room/kitchen of our family home if it has not been booked separately.

• Our house is small by USA/Australian standards.

---Trivia---
• In the last 6 years we've hosted people from S.Korea, Hong Kong SAR PRC, India, Czech Republic, Chile, Uruguay, Scotland, Ireland, France, Italy, Spain, USA, Germany, Argentina, Finland, Uzbekistan, Poland, Greece, Turkey, Iceland, Belgium, Russia, Thailand, Greece, Brazil, Venezuela, Lithuania, Morocco, Portugal, Norway.
• We welcome diversity in culture, religion, sexual orientation and opinions, amongst others.
• Reliable Wifi: 20mbs down/1mbs up with good streaming & video conference performance.

---

NOTE
1. If you're using the futon, it's most likely that the room has been booked and so you are sharing the flat with us (family of 4) and other Airbnb guests.
2. There is one bathroom in the flat.
3. The option of a home-cooked meal is available.
4. From 07:30 in morning until 23:00 family members and our guests will be sharing the living room space with you.

Guest Access

Broadband Wi-fi
Kitchen
Living room

Interaction with Guests

As much as they need if we are around, within reason!

The Neighborhood

We are so close to the Underground Station that it's faster to get to Covent Garden than to get a bus to the large supermarkets.

Wide roads, safe area, fantastic grocery shops with exotic food and fresh vegetables.

Getting around

Absolutely great with the Underground 3 minutes away and the Overgound about 8 minutes away.

Room type: Shared room
Bed type: Futon
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 0.5
Beds: 1
Extra people: $14 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $273 /week
Monthly Price: $988 /month
Check Out: 2:00 PM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Kevin, Zaza, and their daughters are wonderful hosts and I recommend them to anyone! They are super informative and are eager to help. Plus the location is perfect, the tube is an extremely short walk away!

    I previously stayed in their private room prior to booking on the futon. The futon was just as described, although I did get the luxury of the room to myself until about 9AM everyday which was nice! It's the perfect base for sleeping if you're going to be out and about for the day, I had classes so it worked out perfect for me.

    October 2013
  • Roz, Kevin, Aisha and Jamila are a wonderful, friendly, creative, intelligent family and I had a great time staying with them. It was lovely to find such warm people to spend time with in the middle of all the stress and hassle of moving house :) I would definitely recommend them - and did I mention that Roz' cooking is absolutely divine? (email hidden) to stay.

    November 2012
  • Live with Kevin & Zaza and their children were very Great!!! The house is close to the tube. Kevin & Zaza were very attentive to my needs. I stayed in London to look for a job and Zaza corrected my cv and cover letter. Thank you for your kindness, help and indian food. And it will be a pleasure to come back.

    October 2012
Per Month
From
$49
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 29 times
Languages
Bahasa Malaysia, English, Español
Work
Database Developer (Kevin), Painter (Zaza)
About
We are a family of four and have been living in London for the last 15 years. We are committed to learning, raising ourselves, and realising the inter-connectedness of being in this wonderful planet. The idea of making connections and friendships with people from other parts of the world appeals to us and we have made many friends from around the world through hosting. We love blue skies, camping, beaches, making art, reading and travelling. We love cooking, making bread, learning to cook new things from our guests, and teaching them too. We both work from home so we're around most of the day.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings