Facade, with balcony off master bedroomMaster bedroom (featuring Basil the cat).
User Profile Image

Classic Fitzroy Terrace (w/ cat) - walk to Tennis

AustraliaVictoriaFitzroy
Entire home/apt
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
55 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A cosy, expansive house in a fantastic neighbourhood within walking distance of the city centre and the Australian Open tennis. Does require some cat-sitting.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 8AM - 10AM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The space

Our 2-storey Victorian terrace in the heart of Bohemian Fitzroy in Melbourne is available for 1-2 guests for 9 days/nights only (while we're off at the beach). We just need you to feed our cat Basil each morning and evening (and give him a pat if he decides to be friendly).

You'll have access to a large home (other than our children's room and our small study). This means you'll sleep in our large upstairs master bedroom, with a comfy queen-sized bed. You'll have access to a full bathroom upstairs, and additional toilet downstairs, and our well-equipped kitchen/dining room. You are also welcome to lounge in front our big TV or stereo, or in the peaceful back garden.

We are about 25 metres from Brunswick Street, the coolest dining and shopping street in Melbourne, and only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the heart of the city (and an even shorter tram ride). The Melbourne Museum and Exhibition Buildings are just a few hundred metres away. It's a 30 minute walk to the Australian Open Tennis, mainly through lovely, shady parklands.

Our house was built in the 1870s, has very solid brick walls, high ceilings and loads of original features (polished floorboards, iron lacework, a large open, central staircase), but a modern kitchen, bathroom etc.

Given the location we're sure you'll spend much of your time exploring the neighbourhood full of shops, bars, cafes, restaurants, galleries and luscious green parks. But, when you need a rest our home is a lovely refuge.

Sorry, no pets, smoking or children.

Interaction with guests

We aim to be there for check-in, and then will simply be a phonecall away throughout the stay.

Getting around

There are trams in very close vicinity (#11 tram is 75metres away, #96 is 200m away, #86 is 400m away). Trains are only 1km away (Parliament station).


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 8AM - 10AM.

No smoking, no pets, no young children.

Linen, towels, breakfast ingredients supplied.

You're welcome to use the kitchen facilities, but please advise that you will (so we can keep out of your way, or schedule use).


Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

26 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

Your Host


Andre

Andre

Melbourne, Australia · Joined in January 2011

I'm an academic (an international business professor) from Melbourne, Australia. I'm in my early 40s and a non-smoker. My wife Catherine and I became regular users of Airbnb while traveling around the East Coast of the US in 2011. We hosted guests at our house in inner Melbourne (Fitzroy) for about 18 months.

Response rate: 100%(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections