Hidden Jungle Beach House - COUPLES

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Calle, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Limon 70403, Costa Rica

Fall into the arms of Mother Nature!
Hidden Jungle Beach House is truly the place to refresh the mind, nurture the soul and release the stress of everyday living.
3 minute walk to the beach...
5 minute walk to town...
Clean, Comfortable, Economical

The Space

Peaceful Jungle Setting, surrounded by nature...
Only 4 rooms - no more than 8 people to share the public space.

At Hidden Jungle Beach House we have ROOMS FOR SINGLES and COUPLES. (A couple is any two people who want to share a bed. There is only one bed per room.) THIS PAGE IS THE LISTING FOR COUPLES. The other Hidden Jungle Beach House is the listing for singles. Couples pay $38.00 per night total, for both people.

Immerse yourself in nature in this tranquil, jungle hide-away, just a 3 minute walk to a breathtaking beach, Playa Negra. Enjoy peace and quiet, yet have access with a 5 minute walk, to the charming town of Puerto Viejo, - cute shops, great restaurants and (email hidden)ly night life.

Hidden Jungle Beach House: where nature lovers can socialize around the kitchen table or enjoy solitude in a quiet spot on a hammock.
You fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake to the chattering of a million tropical birds.

Hidden Jungle Beach House is a typical Caribbean style wooden house with three levels. The kitchen is on the first floor. The bedrooms are on the second. And the third floor is my room, I'm the owner, Lisa, and I live here, too. The first floor kitchen is spacious and open, with jungle all around. The grocery store is only a short jaunt away so you can buy what you need and cook it here. The shared bathroom with a hot shower is on the first floor.

The second floor of Hidden Jungle Beach House has four bedrooms and a living room with cable TV. It also has a shared bathroom with a sink and a toilet. The bedrooms are simple. Three bedrooms have double beds and one has a single. Each room has a place to hang your clothes, shelves, desk or table and chair, mosquito nets and a fan, along with clean sheets and towels.

We are a simple place: The windows have screens but we use mosquito nets, too; no A/C just fans and jungle breezes. We love animals. We have two German shepherds (and a cat) to guard the house and entertain the guests. Smoking cigarettes is allowed only outdoors in the yard.

Hidden Jungle Beach House is truly Puerto Viejo’s hidden treasure. You’ll love it’s relaxed and friendly vibes. You’ll sleep cozy and comfortable in the arms of mother nature. You’ll wake up to the sounds of howler monkeys, cute little geckos and a million different kinds of colorful birds.

Helpful suggestions on where to go and what to do are provided by your delightful host, me! I have lived on Costa Rica’s Caribbean for five years and can give you lots of good advice.

If you are looking for a simple, economical place to stay in the quiet tranquility of the jungle but not far from all the activity, Hidden Jungle Beach House is the place for you.


Guest Access

Quiet Comfortable places to immerse in nature...
Shared spacious kitchen with coffee and condiments provided...
2 shared bathrooms, hot shower, toiletries provided
Bike Rental
Surf Board Rental

Interaction with Guests

I live here, too! I am most always around - accessible for questions or help. When you arrive I give a little tour of the place, showing you where everything is. I am happy to give guidance or recommendations and help you find what you need. I can book your transportation to get here from the airport and I also offer a guide service for the local area.

The Neighborhood

Life in the jungle! Our closest neighbors are sloths, often seen in the trees just outside our windows. Stunning Blue Morpho butterflies and colorful hummingbirds flit by as you sit on the patio. The mornings are chirpy and bright with a million melodic bird songs. Afternoons are quiet and peaceful under the cool of the jungle canopy. And the evenings are exotic with the heady fragrance of jasmine, white ginger and ylang ylang and the curious calls of our nocturnal animal friends. This is truly the place to refresh the mind, nurture the soul and release the stress of everyday living.

Getting around

It is easy to get here. From the airport you can take a bus, a private shuttle, a rental car or you can even take a rafting trip! I'll give you all the details and book your transportation, if you like.

Once you are here you can access most everything on foot or by bike. The public bus system works well and there are taxis at your disposal.

Other Things to Note

DOGS: We have two German Shepherd guard dogs. They are very sweet. They do not bite. But they do bark to protect the property from intruders. When you first arrive they will not know whether or not you are an intruder and they will bark. Before you get here I will ask for your arrival time. When you get here I will be here waiting and I will walk out to greet you and introduce the dogs. Then they will know you and accept you as part of the family for the time you are here. No problem. When you leave and come back, they may bark until they see who you are but just talk to them and they will recognize you. No worries. Most all of my guest love our dogs and the dogs love the guests as well.

COUPLES: Our place is small and the four rooms are close together. You will have complete visual/physical privacy but you may not have the audio privacy that some couples prefer. Noise at the level of quiet normal conversation is not heard by others in the next room but our walls are not soundproof

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Lisa was a great host, very diligent in explaining all the house rules and getting you aquanited with the area. The house is great, very cute, with a solid location (5 minute walk from the town). Lisa has good suggestions on what to do for day trips and also good dinner suggestions and whatnot. Overall I had a nice stay.

    March 2014
    Response from Lisa:

    Thanks for the nice review Andres. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

  • What can I say....Lisa was an amazing host!! She is very kind and considerate and helpful! Lisa and her Jungle beach house is filled with love, creativity and soul. My husband and I were there for a handful of days, left to go south and came back and were so excited to be back in the open air colorful home. We felt very comfortable and peaceful there. It is in a perfect location off the beaten path but close enough for nice walk to town or short walk to the tranquil ocean. It is also a great place to sit back, have a beer and meet your fellow travelers and exchange stories. We have so many beautiful memories of our time at Lisa's Hidden Jungle Beach House and it will always hold a special place in our hearts.

    March 2014
    Response from Lisa:

    Mike and Laurie, thanks so much for your really nice review. Your comment about my place being filled with love, creativity and soul really touches my heart because that is my objective. I love where I live and my hope is my guests will feel and experience the same. And one of the best things about my place is that it seems to attract the nicest people, like you two. Frequently single travelers meet and join up for further adventures. People often hang around the kitchen or patio and share stories of travel, laughing and getting to know the viewpoints of others from all over the world. Thanks for being part of it. Please do come back!

  • Lisa's place was so great the first few nights we just had to come back to "home" for another night!

    March 2014
    Response from Lisa:

    It was even nicer to have you back again!

  • I arrived at Lisa's place at night ( I did let her know in advance the timeframe I would be arriving ). I was greeted by a dog that seemed rather unfriendly. Given the dog and the time of night, I decided to stay at the place up the road that was more inviting. Lisa's place looks really nice on airbng and I'm sure it is, it just didn't work out for me.

    March 2014
    Response from Lisa:

    Sorry about that, John. You said you would be arriving between 6 and 9 p.m. Later on you told me you actually did arrive at 7 but I didn't know it. You did not call me until 10. I was waiting for you all that time. Each time I heard my dog bark I came out to look but I never saw you. My dog barks to let me know if there are intruders but as soon as I tell her you are a friend she is just fine. Most people who stay at my place love the dogs. Had you called me I certainly would have met you outside like I do all my guests. But as I said, It was dark and I did not know you were out there. Then when you did finally call me an hour after your time frame at 10 p.m., I still would have given you the room, but you had already taken a room at another place. It is a shame there was this mis communication. But I trust you had a nice time in Puerto Viejo any way.

  • This was our first stop/stay in Costa Rica and to be honest it could have been much better. I had communicated with Lisa quite a bit before our trip and at first she was very informative and willing to answer questions and would respond quickly. At one point that ended (I guess I had reached my "limit on free answers" and she was quite adamant that she charges for such advice and/or information) and the communication became slightly awkward and limited from that point. We had flown into San Jose and scheduled a shuttle ride to Puerto Viejo for the same day. Our overnight flight got in at 6am. and the shuttle picked us up at 2:20. We had been told that the ride from San Jose to PV would take approximately 4-4 1/2 hours. Our cell service did not work at all down there so we had no way of communicating with Lisa other than through email if we had wifi. Due to VERY heavy traffic and a couple of accidents our shuttle ride turned into a 6+ hour "ride from hell" and instead of arriving at Lisa's at around 6:30/7 we got there around 8:30/8:45 which was NO fault of ours of course. The shuttle driver had called for directions but ended up in front of the wrong house. We then noticed Lisa standing at the end of a driveway just behind us, arms crossed and seemingly upset. As we opened the doors to get out her first words were not hello how are you, I'm Lisa, you must be exhausted after that ride, can I help with anything? Instead we were greeted with a frustrated "where have you been, I expected you over 2 hours ago" and after I responded that traffic was terrible and so was the ride, she just walked away and said "after you get your stuff just go to the end of the driveway, thats my place and I'll see you there". We were absolutely exhausted and just wanted to shower and go to bed. Lisa said she would give us the shorter version of her "Tour, introduction, security briefing and house rules overview" but this lasted a bit to long and was a bit overwhelming to be honest. We are both in our 40's and experienced world travelers so a simple rundown would have been plenty sufficient for us and then if she wanted to let us know anything else the next day that would have been fine. As a note we had read a very negative review about Lisa that stated much of what we experienced so I would read ALL of the reviews first before making a decision. We were in Costa Rica for a month and stayed with 4 other airbnb hosts and our experience was great. Lisa's was the most expensive, smallest accommodations (slightly bigger than a closet size room) and unfortunately rather inhospitable comparatively. She has a very nice/clean house and a great location. She also has...

    February 2014
    Response from Lisa:

    Thomas gave me a bad review - not really because of my place but mostly because of me, personally. I admit that I was not at my best with he and his wife. And I will also say that they were not bad guests. They just seemed very self centered and asked alot without interest in giving anything in return. I will not go into details with examples. Suffice it to say that you get along with some people and others just rub you the wrong way.

    I really enjoy my guests and I do lots for them. I have taken sick ones to the hospital, contacted their families, visited them and brought what they asked for. I took one woman to a local indigenous doctor and joined her on many visits afterward to translate, because she could not speak Spanish. I make suggestions and give directions if my guests want to know. I helped a guest who got robbed (it did not happen here at my house). I spent all day with her at the police station and court house so she could make the report and testify. And I get no compensation for these things. I go out of my way for my guests and I am happy to do it. But I do not like to feel used. These people made me feel used.

  • We've stayed with Lisa for 2 nights in the end of February. We both enjoyed our stay in the little jungle house having all the basic living necessities within reach. With just a 5 minute walk from town you're close to everything, but when staying in the house you really feel like being in the forest (including sloths in the backyard!). Rooms and toilet upstairs are cozy and don't expect too much privacy since it's all made of wood including the unavoidable gaps ;) But it's all part of the nice experience! Lisa is around to give you some good advice or help you with arranging trips. She has her house rules, but these make sense and will keep the house nice and clean for everybody. Overall I would recommend staying with Lisa in her jungle beach house!

    February 2014
    Response from Lisa:

    Thanks for the nice review, Casper. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at my place. and thanks for mentioning the benefit you saw from my house rules. I try to keep them simple and to a minimum, but they are necessary, as you said, to make the place clean and comfortable for everyone. You two were great guests.

  • Lisa was a great hostess. She answered all our questions, and was very helpful throughout our stay. Her place is nice, quiet, and very clean. We felt welcome and safe in her home.

    February 2014
    Response from Lisa:

    Thank you so much, Mandy. It makes me happy to know that you felt welcome and safe and to know that you appreciated my place.

  • The reservation was canceled 34 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    January 2014
  • The reservation was canceled 32 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    January 2014
  • The reservation was canceled 59 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    November 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 202 times
English, Español
I’m Lisa Valencia, a writer and Costa Rica guide who has lived in Costa Rica’s Caribbean since 2007. I believe in following your dreams and living life to the absolute fullest. I believe in giving without regard to what you get. I try to find the balance between being in the moment and planning for the future. I work on keeping judgment in abeyance. And I am thankful, grateful and appreciative of almost every little thing in every moment of life. One of my greatest feats, since moving to Costa Rica has been that of learning to reinvent myself. In the USA I worked as a mural artist and an interior designer. I’ve continued my art work in Costa Rica, but only to a minor extent. To my own surprise my creativity took a turn to the literary, as I recounted my Costa Rica new life experiences to my friends. In September of 2009, I wrote a book about my first two years in Costa Rica, coming here as a woman alone. My book, “If She Can Do It, So Can I!” is available on my website as an AUDIO BOOK an EBOOK and the paperback version is available from Amazon. My love for literacy and language sparked another idea. I became certified to teach English as a second language and taught locally for a year. As my writing continued it stimulated more reinvention. Due to readers extensive inquiries about Costa Rica living, I developed a Guide Service and a Consultation Service for those interested in Costa Rica. Three years ago life brought another new way to share my Costa Rica experiences and to reinvent myself. I am the happy owner of a sweet little guest house in the jungle. Although I carry on my guiding and consultation, my realm of service has extended to providing lodging at Hidden Jungle Beach House. It seems things have come full circle. My book was written to inspire others to believe in themselves and follow their dreams. Now I can help those who dream of travel to Costa Rica by providing guidance and an economical place to start their own adventure.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings