Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Shawn's place is usually booked.
Chances are...
Shawn's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Shawn's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Shawn has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

With Airbnb, you can find unique accommodations in people's homes—from houses and apartments, to tree houses and igloos. The listing details below explain what you'll find in this space. If you have any questions, you can contact the host directly.

Contact Host

Quirky South Philadelphia Funhouse!

The Space
Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)


Weekly Price: $390 /week
Monthly Price: $500 /month
Cancellation: Strict


The Space

My house (affectionately dubbed XANADONT) is a quirky little three floor south Philadelphia row home who's permanent residents are myself,my Italian Greyhound Bailey and occasionally my girlfriend Julia.

The house is painted in lovely warm oranges and yellows and is full of Japanese monster toys, action figures, displayed skateboards and art. Some of the art is spooky but the house is so warm and friendly it all balances out!

Your rental fee includes the following amenities:
A private bedroom with a Full bed.
Shared use of the refrigerator/kitchen.
Use of a washer/dryer.
A private washroom (shower no bath tub)
The shower is a tight fight- Low ceiling and not a lot of wiggle room, but it gets the job done.
Free Street Parking.

We are close to a major bus route (one block to the 47N- which gets you into downtown Philadelphia for $2.25 in under 10 minutes) as well as five blocks or so from Target, Ikea, Best Buy and more.

The famous 'Italian Market' is quick walk (10 minutes north) from me- it's known for Charcuterie and Cheese shops, fresh vegetables, an exotic butcher shop (should you need fresh Reindeer meat) and a handful of authentic Mexican restaurants that are out of this world.

Equally close are several delicious Vietnamese Pho houses and Asian Supermarkets that have exotic produce and Asian specialties.

I tend to deny day of reservation requests, so try to get them in early. I work odd hours, so if you try to book day of there may be no one home to prep the room/house. I also usually deny any booking with an uncompleted profile. Photos, verifications, etc. Having guests stay in your home requires a lot of trust, so taking the time to fill out your profile is a great first step in booking.

The house next door is undergoing refurbishment. They have been starting early (8-9am) and keep changing their date of completion. I'd rather risk losing bookings than have people unable to sleep in, so if you're not going to be getting up early, this may be something to consider. I'll remove this when the project is done. I'm sorry for any inconvenience.

Personally, I sleep right through it! :D

Guest Access

A private bedroom, living room and bathroom (with a small shower) as well as communal use of the kitchen.

Interaction with Guests

Due to my work schedule, it's rare that I meet guests. My girlfriend (and our tiny dog) are more present during stays, and I'm reachable by phone 24-7.

The Neighborhood

My street is mostly made up of families that own their homes; not a lot of renters so we don't have a constant turnover of neighbors.

Getting Around

We are one block away from two bus pickups- the Northbound 47 bus and the East/West Bound 79.

+ More

House Rules

I'm friendly, clean and respectable, and prefer my guests to be the same.
The house does have a dog (Bailey the Italian Greyhound) who's very affectionate, but isn't fond of other animals, so no pets are allowed. Smoking indoors isn't allowed, but there is a back patio available to smoke on as well as smoking being allowed out front.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher
Lock on Bedroom Door

1 night minimum stay

39 Reviews

Check In

About the Host, Shawn

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Member since August 2012
Response rate: 100% (past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour


Explore other options in and around Philadelphia

More places to stay in Philadelphia: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums