Cute, comfortable room in Gramercy

Apartment - Private room · E 21st St, New York, NY 10010, United States
Your host, Jernee
41 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

I have a room available to rent per day, or per week.The room is in a colorful 2 bedroom apt. (My boyfriend and I have the other room). The room is furnished with a queen size bed (firm and new), an armoire, a rack to hang clothes, a small dresser, tv w/ DVD player. There are 2 fans for the room if it gets too warm. The room is 6 ' by 10 ' (small), but very comfortable and perfect for someone who wants to throw their feet up and relax after a day of exploring the city.
I provide clean linens and towels, soap, shampoo & toothpaste, and you can use my hairdryer.

I've been a homestay provider for Kaplan (a school that teaches English to people who come from all around the world) for a few years now, and I love it :). I thought I'd give BnB a try in between students. I'm easy to get along with, very patient, and will answer your questions in a timely manner.

I am a big animal lover, and have 4
cats. They do not go in the rented room (unless you want them to). They are friendly and loving.

The apt. has a large sunny living room, a small kitchen and bathroom. You are welcome to use the kitchen, the utensils and cookware, and of course to store food in the refrigerator. We share the bathroom. Free Wifi throughout the apt.

There is on-street parking, and a parking deck on our block. The area is quiet and very safe. It's an excellent location - 5 minute walk to the East Village, 8 minute walk to Union Square, close to NYU. I'm right around the corner from SVA and Baruch College.
TImes Square is a train ride away, and you can easily walk to the Village, hop a train to the West Village. The apt. is also a train ride away from many of Brooklyn's charming neighborhoods.

The apt. is centrally located with regards to major subway lines - the L,4,5,6,N, R,W,Q.

There 2 supermarkets within 2 blocks, a laundromat around the corner, and we are close to 5 independent movie theaters - (the furthest is 15 minutes away - walking). There are tons of yummy places to eat, in all price ranges, all types of food, all within walking distance.

Both myself and my boyfriend work during the day (during the week) so check-in cannot be any earlier than 5pm. My apologies. I can give you info. as to where you can store your luggage in a locked locker if you arrive in NY earlier than our check-in time.

Check out is flexible!

The apt. is alcohol and drug free.

The Neighborhood

Our neighborhood is quiet and safe. We love walking over to the east river promenade and sitting on the benches, riding bikes or sometimes we even go run! I can take a city bike anywhere and get there in 10 minutes.

Getting around

We are close to Union Square Subway Station (10 min. walk), the L train, and many buses. Plus you can walk or bike anywhere in the city:).

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $449 /week
Monthly Price: $1500 /month
Check In: 5:00 PM
Check Out: 2:00 PM
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Jernee was a great host. It was a comfortable room, and easily accessible from some subway stations. It was quite and safe place. Thank you so much!

    June 2014
  • Jernee was really nice, easy to communicate with, and got back to me really quickly when I contacted her. I enjoyed my stay in the room, which was in a really good location and had everything I needed.

    June 2014
  • Nice room in a good location. Affectionate kitties too.

    May 2014
  • Had a very comfortable stay here! Jernee and her boyfriend were friendly and welcoming. The area is great.

    May 2014
  • A great way into a big city. Cozy and comfortable with a warm New York welcome from both Jernee and Seth.very well located and great value for money.Thanks to all,cats included,highly recommended!

    May 2014
  • I had a great stay with Jernee and Seth. They are both very easy going and considerate people and were ideal hosts. The location of their apartment is also in a very good area. I would definitely recommend staying with them; thanks for everything!

    April 2014
  • Jernee was a very nice, considerate woman. Her apartment was within 10mins walking distance to my school so it was perfect. My room was cozy and clean.

    April 2014
  • Jernee is a very kind person, easy to communicate with. The room is in safe area, and not far from subway and attractions. The bed linen and towel was clean and fresh. The cats are nice :)

    April 2014
  • This place is great! It is clean, comfortable and affordable. Jernee is nice and makes her best to make your stay a good one. She gives you a map of the district, soap and shampoo, a bath towel and additional blankets, let you cupboards in the room to keep your things organized, let you use the fridge and the kitchen if you want to... The district is calm, as the building. I would highly recommend this room to anyone who want to stay some days in Manhattan.

    April 2014
  • Didn't meet Jernee in person but she was super helpful and communicative. My stay was great and everything went well. Convenient location and she was willing to accommodate my request of leaving my bags there on the day of checkout. I really appreciated that. Her cats are awesome and quite the characters, they definitely made my stay. Highly recommended.

    April 2014
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 493 times
Spotswood High School, Rutgers School Social Work, Rutgers University
Pratt Institute Health and Counseling Center
Hi! I am a social worker at a private art college, and I love my work! When I'm not working I'm rock climbing, helping animals, exploring the city. At home I spend my time drawing and making things, reading, watching films, or playing with my cats. I've been studying spanish for 4 years now, and have a small crush on Latin America:). I travel at least 2 times a year b/c I think it's important to remind myself that there is a world outside of my own, and I enjoy meeting new people and learning about other cultures. I feel lucky to be living in NYC, and do my best to take advantage of the arts, the culture, and anything that might be free:). I'm mostly a quiet person, but I'm also friendly and good-humored. I like to meet new people, I'm helpful, but I also give people their space.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
5 weeks ago
Similar Listings