Armoire, clothing rod, tv, dresser, full-length mirrorA little art  in the room.
Private room
1 Guest
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
1989 travelers saved this place

About this listing

The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 8PM
Check Out: 1PM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room


Weekly Discount: 2%
Cancellation: Moderate


The space

We have a room available to rent in our colorful 2 bedroom apt. (my boyfriend and I have the other room). Our building was built in 1910, and renovated in 1980; it has retained its character, its older design, and historical look.

The room itself is furnished with a queen size bed (firm and new) which fills a portion of the room, an armoire, a rack to hang clothes, a small dresser, tv screen w/ DVD player. There is a portable fan for use and a a two-way fan in the window for a breeze. The room is 6 ' by 10 ' (small), and comfortable for someone who wants to throw their feet up and relax after a day of exploring the city and/or doesn't need a big room. The room faces a locked courtyard that the super uses to do his work.

I provide clean linens and towels, soap, shampoo & toothpaste, and you can use my hairdryer.

I've been a homestay provider for Kaplan (a school that teaches English to people who come from all around the world) for a few years now, and I love it :). I thought I'd give BnB a try in between students. I'm easy to get along with, very patient, and will answer your questions in a timely manner.

I am a big animal lover, and have 5
cats. They are friendly and interactive, so they will probably try to get you to play with them or pet them., but it's ok if that's not your thing. You can shoo them away, and they will move onto chasing each other :).

The apt. has a large sunny living room, a small kitchen and bathroom. You are welcome to use the kitchen, the utensils and cookware, and of course to store food in the refrigerator. We share the bathroom. Free Wifi throughout the apt.

There is on-street parking, and a parking deck on our block. The area is quiet and very safe. It's an excellent location - 5 minute walk to the East Village, 8 minute walk to Union Square, close to NYU. I'm right around the corner from SVA and Baruch College.
TImes Square is a train ride away, and you can easily walk to the Village, hop a train to the West Village. The apt. is also a train ride away from many of Brooklyn's charming neighborhoods.

The apt. is centrally located with regards to major subway lines - the L,4,5,6,N, R,W,Q.

There 2 supermarkets within 2 blocks, a laundromat around the corner, and we are close to 5 independent movie theaters - (the furthest is 15 minutes away - walking). There are tons of yummy places to eat, in all price ranges, all types of food, all within walking distance.

Both myself and my boyfriend work during the day (during the week) so check-in cannot be any earlier than 5pm. I can give you info. as to where you can store your luggage in a locked locker if you arrive in NY earlier than our check-in time.

Check out time is flexible!

***Please do not contact us for dates that are not open on the calendar. We generally do not take reservations more than a week in advance. Thank you :).

The apt. is alcohol and drug free.

Guest access

Bedroom, bathroom, kitchen.

Interaction with guests

Minimal, but we are friendly and happy to answer your questions!

The neighborhood

Our neighborhood is quiet and safe. We love walking over to the east river promenade and sitting on the benches, riding bikes or sometimes we even go run! We are close to the Farmers' Market at Union Square and all the festivals/street fairs in the East Village. We have a police station on the next block.

Getting around

We are close to Union Square Subway Station (10 min. walk), the L train (6 min. walk), 6 train (7 min. walk) and many buses. We are a 30 min.walk from Penn Station, 35 min. walk from Grand Central Station, 45 min. walk from Port Authority. All these transportation hubs are also accessible by subway (15-25 min. train ride). Plus you can bike almost anywhere in the city with a Citibike.

Other things to note

Please don't smoke cigarettes or weed in the house. Thks!

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is after 8PM

Check-in during the week will either be at 5pm, OR, after 8pm, depending on the day, & what time we get home from work. Please don't ask for earlier check-in, as we will not be able to do it. We can definitely tell you about a place to store your luggage if you arrive during the day and want to enjoy NY without the hassle of carrying your stuff!

Please take shoes off in the house :). Please let us know in advance if you plan to bring a guest into the apt. during your stay. Please recycle!

Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

4 nights minimum stay

Your Host



New York, New York, United States · Joined in June 2011

I am a social worker at a private art college, and I love my work! When I'm not working I'm rock climbing, helping animals, exploring the city. At home I spend my time drawing and making things, reading, watching films, or playing with my cats.

I've been studying spanish for 4 years now, and have a small crush on Latin America:). I travel at least 2 times a year b/c I think it's important to remind myself that there is a world outside of my own, and I enjoy meeting new people and learning about other cultures.

I feel lucky to be living in NYC, and do my best to take advantage of the arts, the culture, and anything that might be free:).

I'm mostly a quiet person, but I'm also friendly and good-humored. I like to meet new people, I'm helpful, but I also give people their space.

Response rate: 100%(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections