Deepwell Dream Home - Modern Luxury

House - Entire home/apt · S Paseo De Marcia, Palm Springs, CA 92264, United States
Michael
Your host, Michael
10 Reviews
Response rate: 74%
Response time: within a day

The Space

This stunning 3200+sf, completely remodeled, designer decorated, home is located in one of the best corner lots in South Palm Springs in the highly desirable and wind-free Deepwell Estates area, only minutes from all the restaurants and action in Downtown Palm Springs yet quiet and secluded.

The house features an open floor plan with wonderful indoor-outdoor flow, exceptional light exposures, ultra-modern furnishings and exquisite art all around. The home includes 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms (3 are en- suite), fully stocked gourmet kitchen with Viking Professional appliances, a separate breakfast area with pool views, a dining area with sitting for 6-8, comfortable outdoor sitting and lounging sofa, 4 pool lounge chairs, a pristine pool with waterfall feature, pool floats and toys, outdoor 7 person SPA, and manicured grounds.

The front lawn overlooks wonderful unobtrusive views of the San Jacinto Mountains, and includes two additional sitting areas and a fire-pit.

Both master suites include king size beds with luxury beddings (one bed is Tempur-style memory foam mattress), oversized bathrooms (one with two raindrop shower heads), large closets, iPod docs, a wall mounted fireplace, and 32inch LED TV’s.

The open living area includes a formal sitting area with a gas fireplace, and a large TV/Dining area featuring a 60 inch LED Smart TV with WIFI, Netflix, Bose sound system, and blue ray DVD player.

The home also features a covered private garage for 2 cars and ample private parking for 6 vehicles. The Deepwell Dream is your swanky Palm Springs retreat and is perfectly suitable for entertaining a family, a group of friends or a small gathering.

Beds: King, King, Queen, 2 Twins

Additional Terms: Holiday and special event rates may be higher. Higher minimum nightly stay of 4-5 nights may apply during holidays and prime season months (February - April). Rental contract required, No renters under 25 years of age, no smoking indoors, no parties allowed unless approved in advance, pets are allowed only if approved in advance of booking and pet fee is paid ($100.00 per pet).. Early check-in or late check-out may be available with an extra fee ($150.00). Separate Refundable Damage Deposit $750.00+ required by check, wire or direct deposit. Pool heating optional with an extra fee - $60.00 per day, $300.00 per week, actual utilities paid for reservations 28 days or longer. City Tax 11.5% not included in pricing and shall be paid separately with rental contract.

Other Things to Note

Additional Terms: Holiday and special event rates may be higher. Higher minimum nightly stay of 4-5 nights may apply during holidays and prime season months (February - April). Rental contract required, No renters under 25 years of age, no smoking indoors, no parties allowed unless approved in advance, pets are allowed only if approved in advance of booking and pet fee is paid ($100.00 per pet). Early check-in or late check-out may be available with an extra fee. Separate Refundable Damage Deposit $750+ required by check, wire or direct deposit. Pool heating optional with an extra fee - $60.00 per day, $300.00 per week, actual utilities paid for reservations 28 days or longer. City Tax 11.5% not included in pricing and shall be paid separately with rental contract.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 8
Bedrooms: 4
Bathrooms: 4
Beds: 5
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $2750 /week
Monthly Price: $10800 /month
Cleaning Fee: $300
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • This is simply an amazing place. It has everything you need, and more. The quality and design of furniture and inventory is first class and of great quality.

    We were a group of friends staying here for the 2nd Coachella weekend in 2014, and we had an amazing time. We had no problems with the host or property manager, and we would love to come back some time!

    April 2014
  • Family enjoyed long weekend stay in the sun. Plenty of room to spread out and relax. Michael was most helpful with the initial application and Claudia, house manager was terrific. Hope to return .

    April 2014
  • The house is fantastic. Great for a small group looking to relax, cook and enjoy some pool time. It's super clean, spacious and the beds are unbelievably comfortable. Michael was outgoing and very helpful with any questions I had. Claudia, the property manager, was very friendly and helpful upon arrival. Overall, couldn't be more satisfied with the stay.

    March 2014
  • We loved staying at this house . Housekeeper Claudia was extremly helpfull. We would def stay here again .

    March 2014
  • Beautiful neighborhood and House. But would not stay again because of misleading nature of ad. No tempurpedic bed, indoor fireplaces not working, appliance stored inside 2 car garage, upon arrival BBQ greasy, jacuzzi dirty and cold, petrified dog feces in yard, holes in lawn where other dogs urinated and dug, all carpets w stains and ursine odor, broken windows times 2, shower clogged, handles to window, shower and faucet not attached, holes in walls and pressboard cabinets veneer off, fridge scratched and ice machine clogged and dripping water on floor, all coffee mugs cracked and chipped, coffee maker filthy, exterior lighting on time clock that was disabled. When turned on lost power to kitchen agent turned off circuit to restore power then list power to bathroom paid $60 day to heat pool only heated 12/24h

    February 2014
    Michael
    Response from Michael:

    Regina had some issues with the house that she brought to our attention and we addressed as best we are able due to her very demanding and unhappy demeanor. We worked with her as best we could, although some of the things she has issues with we could not find – fireplace was working, SPA working, BBQ in good condition, carpets became stained due to her having a dog and dirt and mud brought into the home, pool heating worked perfectly. It became apparent during our interaction that she was looking for immediate compensation for her "Issues". It’s unfortunate when travelers deploy these tactics as a way to get stuff for free as it ruins it for everyone else. At departure we were unprepared for the condition she left the house in as we have never seen this home left in such poor condition. It took the cleaning crew of 5 people 2 days to clean after Regina and remove the filth and trash left throughout. We did not charge for any of the additional cleaning required or damages she caused and relayed to her that due to the cost of all the additional cleaning required we were unable to compensate her for the issues she experienced.

    February 2014
  • As of 2/5 I still haven't received the return of our damage deposit even though we rented this home for the weekend of January 10th - 13th. Since the amount is $750, which we were required to pay in cash or cashier's check, and it's been almost a month it's pretty upsetting.

    Not only have I not received the refund, I've contacted this group once a week since we left the house to inquire about any damages they found (there were none) and the refund. The first time I was told it would take one week and I could be refunded through my credit card. The second time no one responded at all. The third time they told me they'd mail me a check. That was on January 19th and I still haven't received the refund.

    The house itself is beautiful and all of us that stayed there loved it. I would just be prepared to pay almost an extra $1000 for the experience.

    January 2014
    Michael
    Response from Michael:

    Hi Tiffany - I'm very sorry about the delay with your deposit refund. I have followed up with the office and your refund has now been processed and should be arriving next week via a Citibank envelope. I'm afraid that we had a very hectic few weeks with hundreds of Coachella festival related inquires and calls every day this month. Again, thank you for the comments about the home. Please accept our apologies for the delay and rest assured that your refund will be arriving shortly. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly on here should you not receive the refund next week. Warmly, Michael

    January 2014
  • We stayed at Deepwell for the weekend and had an amazing time! We had a wonderful dinner party for a group of 20 to celebrate my birthday. It was the perfect night and we have some amazing pics to remember it by.
    We had plans to go out on our last night but the house was so fun we decided to stay in, make drinks and get into the brand new hot tub under the stars. Our time in Palm Springs was about R&R with good friends. Staying at Deepwell made it easy to spend time with each other and feel like we were taken care of.
    Ed at oasis rentals helped us with all our paperwork, checked us in and gave us the run down of the house. We all chipped in and cleaned before we left - had no problem getting our deposit back.

    May 2013
  • Deepwell Dreamhouse was an absolute pleasure to stay in for our last minute group trip to Coachella. Such a nice 60's style modernly renovated pad. Our host Claudia was awesome and pointed out how to use everything in the house. We accommodated 8 people and everyone had a blast! The pool got plenty of use! There is now a hottub there as well that was an unexpected surprise. We plan on staying there again mid summer.

    April 2013
  • Do not stay at this house. If you do, walk through it with the caretaker when you arrive, take pictures of everything, then walk through it again with the caretaker when you leave and take pictures of her next to every item in the house. Our deposit -$750 for a 3 night stay !! is being held by them for 2 months so far, claiming damage that we know we did not do. We even have pictures taken th night before we left showing no damage, to no avail. We will be much smarter next time, or avoid private individuals and stick to hotels.

    January 2013
    Michael
    Response from Michael:

    Dear Gail - As property managers/owner for many beautiful homes in Palm Springs we handle hundreds of guest bookings every year. We take pride in our homes and make sure to inspect every home carefully during check-in and check-out. You were personally greeted by our property manager upon check-in, who provided you with a wonderful modern home in brand new condition. As you know, immediately upon your check-out, the property manager discovered and photographed substantial scratching to a brand new Viking Refrigerator caused by a sharp object. You were kept fully informed of the damages and photos were sent to you right away. I'm afraid that when damages are discovered upon renter departure we do have to take measures to fix the damages and return the home to its original condition, all in accordance with your rental contract. Sincerely, Michael

    January 2013
  • The reservation was canceled 129 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    August 2012
Per Month
From
$495
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 404 times
Languages
English, Русский, עברית
Work
Oasis Rentals, Inc
About
Managing partner at Oasis Rentals. Come relax in the sun and enjoy the beauty of Palm Springs! Michael, Christopher & The Oasis Team are here to help you have an amazing visit to Palm Springs. If you have any question, please do not hesitate to ask! ***City of Palm Springs Business License #4256
View full profile
Response Rate
74%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
a week ago
Similar Listings