View looking North WestView of our home from the road, facing west.
Farm House by the Ocean, Sydney NS

Entire home/apt

8 guests

4 bedrooms

5 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
8 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our renovated farm house situated in the peaceful neighborhood of South Bar is sure to sooth the soul. Enjoy walks along the rocky beach to pick up fresh lobsters at the pound, the gourmet kitchen awaits! And it's only a short drive to all amenities.

We only offer long term rentals from November to April, minimum 3 months. Guests are responsible for heat and snow removal. Pricing is negotiable depending on circumstances.

The space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 4
Beds: 5
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people $21 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $59
Security Deposit $838
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed
Bedroom 4
1 bunk bed

House Rules

All the facilities are included



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

3 nights minimum stay

42 Reviews

Check In
Darlean User Profile
August 2017
Beautiful old farmhouse. Perfect location for family to reconnect and find peace. Everything was very clean and organized. Was a very welcoming. Was easy to connect and have questions answered. I would recommend this location.

Shannon User Profile
August 2017
Rick and Nadine's place was perfect for our stay in Sydney area. A very well equipped kitchen. Comfortable beds and living area. Quiet location and lovely older home with modernized kitchen and bathrooms.
Rick And Nadine User Profile
Response from Rick And Nadine:
Thank you Shannon, we always love to hear our guests' feedback. We also enjoy their feedback about their adventures in the area as we pass this along to other guests, we appreciated. We hope to have you stay with us again!
August 2017

Thomas User Profile
August 2017
House was as we expected, host was very nice.

Marie User Profile
August 2017
You may use my note to Nadine & Rick for public viewing.
Rick And Nadine User Profile
Response from Rick And Nadine:
Hi Marie, thank you so much for your review, Nadine and I are sincerely happy to have been able to provide comfort for your family. We hope to see you again in the future! "The farmhouse by the sea was perfect for our family. Close proximity to the airport & family in the area made our choice to stay here perfect! My 90 year old father and our family came to Cape Breton to bury our mother who passed. The farmhouse was a comfort to my father, much more so than any hotel could ever be. Thank you Nadine & Rick and we will definitely recommend and will not hesitate to return to your beautiful home! TKS Marie"
August 2017

Paul User Profile
August 2017
A beautiful, quiet farmhouse with lots of light and views of the bay. We would say it`s the best-equipped rental property we`ve been in - dishes, cooking utensils and gadgets were ample for our six-person party. There was lots of space for our kids to play safely and explore the paths to the water and past the raspberry bushes. South Bar is a short drive into Sydney, which has everything you need - groceries, pubs, restaurants, and tourist information. A good base for visiting Louisbourg, Baddeck, Two Rivers nature park, and Glace Bay - New Waterford. Cabot Trail and Glenora Distillery are longer trips, and it might be better to go there en route to or from the farmhouse. Four bedrooms and two bathrooms plus indoor and outdoor dining gave us lots of space. Highly recommended.

Dana User Profile
July 2017
It was exactly as advertised and we had a lovely stay here. Rick and Nadine have the kitchen fully equipped, so it was easy to make our own meals and enjoy the home. Would recommend for anyone wanting to tour the Cabot Trail and Sydney/surrounding area.

Glen User Profile
July 2017
Our stay got off to a less-than optimal start when we found the previous occupants' dirty dishes in the dishwasher, a rinsed but not properly cleaned kitchen sink (very stained stainless steel), dirty linens in the washing machine, literally only 1-2 mm of liquid hand soap in the bathroom dispensers, and a single spare roll of toilet paper. We informed the owners immediately. They were very concerned and apologetic, explained that a very large group had just stayed there and that someone other than their regular housekeeper had prepped the home for us. They promptly arranged for someone to bring basic supplies that evening (the owners do not live near the property). We also noted and told the owners that there were no fans in any of the bedrooms (hot, muggy summers are typical in Cape Breton!), and they supplied these to us the very next day. The first night we discovered that the house has a bit of an ant problem. The ants are largely harmless (the large black variety), but they were seen on the kitchen counters, on the ceilings and walls in the bedrooms, and even in the beds (one was felt crawling on one of our backs!). We recognize the house is an old farmhouse but more needs to be done to control the problem. We saw and killed ants at least once every day we were there. The first two nights of a six-night stay there were four of us (two couples), but for the following three nights there were six (three couples). It was when the third couple arrived that we discovered the third queen bed was incredibly uncomfortable, and after one night they switched to the bunk-beds in the fourth bedroom – not a very good option, but unavoidable. This really needs to be rectified for future guests. The property description didn't make it clear that there is only a single proper shower, and it is in the 3/4 bathroom just off of the kitchen. The other bathroom, upstairs, has a large tub (looks very nice in the photos) but there is only a spray attachment that could be used for washing hair. We worked with what we had, but this should be clear in the Airbnb description. The path to the shoreline was very nicely done with gravel, but after a 5-7 minute walk, getting down to the water requires a steep descent on a muddy overgrown path. The description provided by the owners of the setting is an oversell, in our opinion. Nevertheless, the property does back onto the water, which is a nice feature.
Rick And Nadine User Profile
Response from Rick And Nadine:
Hi Paul, thank you for the feedback. We have never received such a negative review, it is unfortunate that you had such a terrible time, I'm guessing you are more suited for a motel than an airbnb - something to keep in mind next time you travel. As you recall, I had my sister and a second housekeeper on site within about an hour of your first complaint, unfortunately the complaints just kept coming, regardless of what we did. They both said the place was spotless and you were completely over reacting. You complained about the shower, you complained about the path, you complained about the beds, you complained about the layout of the house, you complained about the kitchen and fans and on and on and on. You also complained about the freezer, which neither of them could see anything wrong with, we have brand new appliances. This is a 117 year old house outside of Sydney, if you are looking for a hilton, this is not it. The reviews on this site are important, we respond and react to any feedback we receive. Fortunately, all the other reviews we received have been positive and where constructive feedback was provided, we acted upon it immediately and followed up with the guests. Rick and Nadine
July 2017

Nova Scotia, CanadaJoined in August 2012
Rick And Nadine User Profile

Nadine and I enjoy spending time at the farm with our children, friends and family. We enjoy cooking and going on adventures which are a couple reasons we love this place. Walking down the beach to the lobster pound to get dinner is quite an awesome experience, especially finishing it up with some great Nova Scotian Wine. We both work in the industrial contracting sector and have managed to find time to spend on both coasts of Canada. We like to share our lives with others and enjoy meeting new people. We believe in a simple lifestyle where food is grown and eaten locally, neighbors are respected and cared for and our children can grow up in a positive and sustainable environment.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Similar listings