Private Room / Shared Bath

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Villas Jacquelina - Finca Los Alfaro, Quepos, Costa Rica

Villlas Jacquelina Basic private room / double bed / ceiling fan / shared bathroom / Sleeps 2 guests for $35

Your host, Esteban
28 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

Villlas Jacquelina Basic private room / double bed / ceiling fan / shared bathroom / Sleeps 2 guests for $35

The Space

Villas Jacquelina is an eco friendly Bed and Breakfast / Hostel located on the outskirts of Quepos, less than a mile from the towns center. Villas Jacquelina specializes in affordable rooms, enjoyable guest amenities, amazing mountain views, great evening vibes and quality guest service. Guests at Villas Jacquelina most often arrive as strangers and leave as friends, due in part to the American/Costa Rica family who runs and owns the business. Guests enjoy the villas spacious, cool, and clean bedrooms and bathrooms which complement well, the refreshing pool, spacious guest patios, elevated rooftop gardens and outstanding views. These Villas are special and have the guest reviews to prove it. Ranking #1 on tripadvisor, hostelworld and (website hidden) for Quepos, Costa Rica , Villas Jacquelina has quickly become THE place to stay.

Guest Access

Communal Kitchen
Communal Dining areas
Communal Rooftop terraces
Communal Swimming pool area

Interaction with Guests

Interact with other guests as much as you want. Your private room will give you privacy and space if you want it. Communal areas are clean, comfortable, and welcoming, if you feel like getting to know some other travelers.

The Neighborhood

The Villlas is located in an old family farming neighborhood. The neighborhood is mixed between vacation rentals (closer to the villas) and Tico homes. We personally know almost all of our neighbors and feel that the area is safe and well kept.

Getting around

Getting around is easy. A 12 minute walk or a $3 cab ride will get you into the center of Quepos (near bus station). Villas Jacquelina also has bike rentals for around $5 per day.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 16+
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 8+
Beds: 16
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $200 /week
Monthly Price: $550 /month
Check In: 1:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Excellent experience! Esteban was such a gracious host who greeted us with fresh coconuts and warmth when we arrived. Esteban is very flexible and accommodating. We enjoyed having a "private and communal" experience here. The shared common space was very comfortable (the kitchen was always very clean and easy to cook in, the outdoor balconies were beautiful with hammocks and splendid views). It was great to connect with some other fellow travelers who were also staying there. Our rooms were adequate and clean. The location is also very convenient since you are away from the "tourist mess" of what exists near Manuel Antonio. Yet, here you are also within walking distance of the downtown. I highly recommend Villa Jaquelina.

    May 2014
  • I initially booked one week but ended up leaving 2 days early. This place is very dysfunctional and the host seems overwhelmed trying to run this large place by himself. After my payment was made my emails were not answered in a timely manner or at all, I 4 times had to confirm that I was being picked up at the bus station as the host kindly offered. I also inquired in advance about the advertised rental bikes and yoga classes I read about from other reviews, but no reply was ever received. It later turned out the yoga instructor had left and none of the 6 bikes there were in working order. The host kindly upgraded my room for no additional charge but the apartment I got has its issues. The ceiling in my bedroom was leaking in two different spots right above my bed, every time it rained which was most afternoons. I brought it to the host's attention but the problem was never taken care of. The Internet was very unreliable and was disconnected most afternoons when it rained. The day before I left there was a power cut and the Internet never came back on while I was there. There was no TV as advertised, lizards crawling up and down the walls in the apartment and ants everywhere. I understand this is a tropical country but still! The host is a nice guy but seems to overwhelmed and too busy to take care of any issue brought to his attention. I 4 days in a row asked for an iron and iron board and was each time told 'manana' (tomorrow), tomorrow never came so I in the end stopped asking. I have never stayed at a B & B or hotel where an iron and iron board was not available! Very disappointing stay.

    May 2014
    Response from Esteban:

    Hello Cat,
    I am sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. We pride ourselves in guest relations and try to go above and beyond to meet our guests needs and I am sorry your needs were not met. I do have to mention that unfortunately we do not offer extras like ironing boards, irons, or TV's, nor do we advertise having these things. Normally I find that b&b's charging over $80 per night can afford to offer these extras but that is part of the reason our prices are as low as they are ($35 per night).
    It sounds like you had some problems with some of the things you encounter regularly here in Costa Rica, (getting wet from the rain, bugs, sudden loss of power or internet, and geckos everywhere). Unfortunately there is not much we could have done to prevent you from encountering these issues and I wish we could have done more.
    Please understand that our lack of communication was not due to the fact that we received payment as we do not receive payment from air b&b until a day after you have arrived. I apologize and want you to know this is not normal for us, (on air b&b we have an average response time of under 5 hours).
    Again, I am very sorry your stay was disappointing. Most guests are amazed at how well organized we are but in this case we must have failed you. Please accept my most sincere apology and feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do to further assist you.
    Thank you for choosing Villas Jacquelina.
    Esteban Acedo - Owner and General Manager

    May 2014
  • Easy walk to town and marina. Great and friendly host with good recommendation. Very simple, bare rooms but clean

    April 2014
  • Beautiful, clean building. Modern amenities. Friendly, helpful hosts. A little bit tucked away from activities, probably best if you have a bike or a car to get around.

    April 2014
  • Esteban was an incredibly warm and gracious host. The villa was gorgeous and although the rooms were sparse, they were incredibly clean. The next day we purchased the best breakfast we had yet to encounter in Costa Rica. It was a good experience and I would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

    April 2014
  • Villas Jacquelina was a great place to spend the week. Steven, his family, and Yara were beyond welcoming and amazing. The location was about a mile to the center.. bring comfy shoes to walk, as the road is not paved. The breakfast was delicious! I would recommend this place wholeheartedly. Pura Vida!

    April 2014
  • Wonderful relaxing stay, Estaban was away and his father Steven there. Neat host, enthusiastic and knowledgable about the area, transport and activities available in Quepos and around Costa Rica.
    Yara kept the lodge lovely and clean and made tasty breakfasts for those that wanted it.
    Really enjoyed having the pool and hammocks, close enough to town to walk yet in a nice quiet neighborhood.

    April 2014
  • I enjoyed my stay at Villas Jacquelina. I backpacked there from downtown Quepos. Taxi service was quick and cheap—making the Villas a nice and quiet retreat to stay outside of town. The bedroom, bathroom and pool were all very clean. My room had a big ceiling fan above the bed and a window, so the room was nice and cool at night. The thing I appreciated about Villas Jacquelina the most was the service. We were well taken care of by the staff. Snorkel gear was loaned to us to use at the beach. The breakfast was delicious (and cheap). I even received shuttle service from the staff to the Quepos bus station upon checkout. All in all, a great experience. Thank you

    March 2014
  • Hébergement simple mais agréable. Mais soucis, nous avons du demander aux propriétaires de baisser la musique (très forte) et de hurler moins fort car ils nous empêchaient de dormir. Ils étaient complètement bourrés et faisaient une grosse fête avec leurs amis au premier étage de l'hôtel. Ce n'est donc pas le lieu idéal pour se reposer.

    March 2014
  • Villa Jacquelina was awesome! Esteban and his family were so friendly, hospitable, and knowledgeable about the area. The location was perfect; a short walk to the shops and beaches in Quepos, and very close to Manuel Antonio. We will definitely go back if we are in the area in the future!!

    March 2014
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 231 times
English, Español
San Diego State University
Villas Jacquelina General Manager
I am a 24 year old recent San Diego State University graduate. I moved to Costa Rica 2 years ago to help my Dad and his Costa Rican Family start our business (villas jacquelina). I love sports and good times and am always doing things in the area. I know everything to do in the area and often inform my guests on where to go and what to do. I am an amazing host because it is what i love to do and I value each person that passes through my place. Staying with us is like staying with family.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
Similar Listings