JUMPING WHALE STUDIO our BEST

House - Entire home/apt · Paulina Pl, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, United States
John

THIS SUNNY , MANY WINDOW UNIT HAS A NICE OCEAN VIEW
This Quiet restful place in Kona seems like you are in a remote part of the island , JUST roll out of bed , to hear the birds, go for a swim or go to local activities and foodie places

Your host, John
2 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

THIS SUNNY , MANY WINDOW UNIT HAS A NICE OCEAN VIEW
This Quiet restful place in Kona seems like you are in a remote part of the island , JUST roll out of bed , to hear the birds, go for a swim or go to local activities and foodie places

The Space

WHALES SPOTTED..... FRESH FRUIT BIG KING BED
BIG LAND & OCEAN VIEW
It is a great time to reserve your spot
the place is going to go up in price
the price it is at now is just an introductory promotional price

Compare what we offer
no other place in our price range compares even at the coming
rack rate126
more towels, 400-800 tread count sheets, cooking gear, table gear, light breakfast , free fresh fruit, ap enable tribite wifi and ethernet, free parking , in town of kona, ocean view, and more, tucked away but still in town , quiet place less than 5 minutes to Restarants/ Beaches , and Shopping

Checkin time
By advance appointment only
ideal checkin time 3pm-7 and by advance appointment only

With international flights and individual circumstances
We do make our best effort to accommodate early check-in, however our check-in by appointment stands - we need the time to prepare the place and expected early check-in is not always available, advance request helps

Compare Available Studios
All Studios are lockable and have Private sleeping and Bath areas and have the same rack rate

The place;
Lono Lanai With Host GIO Chef, Kona Historian, Exotic Tropical Fruit explorer and …..

Lots of Towels Cooking Set up
high thread count sheets

Deck with ocean and sunset views.
Private room with Tropically This house does have STAIRS, so must be comfortable walking up and down them.

We are at an 800ft elevation overlooking the ocean, about 5 minutes by car to the beach or less, and 5 minutes by car from the center of town as well as waterfront restaurants and stores.

Good snorkeling
At Kahalu'u beach, about 3-5 minutes west of us by car, with easy ocean access for beginners. You can rent snorkel equipment at the beach.

Our home is located on a quiet cul-de-sac 5 minutes from Kailua-Kona village by car, lanai with OCEAN, land & SUNSET VEIWS.

Private Studio with
Tropically decorated twin-sized Futon bed, studio apt., nice bathroom with shower, all not shared
Shared; Full size refrigerator, cooking areas. Sun warmed hot water. Hot pool for a nominal fee

FRESH FRUIT
Welcome Hawaiian FRUIT
Usually with fruit we have grown on site fruit

Fruit
Seasonal availability
Passion fruit or, papaya, or dragon fruit or Banana - ice cream / honey - or lady finger kind
Local Macnuts
an more / varies

Enjoy micro tropical garden
Mini tropical fruit trees, papas, veggies, herbs and cherry trees.

Shared another lanai, Car parking, WIFI, Shared cooking oven, gas stove, microwave

Pricing
Is approx. $126 day plus local and state taxes for daily rental
35 cleaning fee plus tax 6 per week or 70 for 1 week and a partail week ( like 8-13 days for example)

Airport
Pick up or drop is $ 43 includes tax (for 2 and kids max)
Prepaid only / Guaranteed Reservations Only

Check-in time
By advance appointment only
ideal checkin time 3pm-7 and by advance appointment only

With international flights and individual circumstances
We do make our best effort to accommodate early check-in, however our check-in by appointment stands - we need the time to prepare the place

We cannot always accommodate early check-in. Some solutions to deal with early arrival; A Guest could reserve the day before or go get a bite to eat , even go for a swim year round and then check-in after. Thanks for your consideration

Services
Some additional Costs
There is an extra cost associated with massage, Spa Area, rental bikes or cars, requested pick up or drop off, island tours or other special requests. Requesting a service booking a time, accepting a charge for a service is associated with special requests,
We do not offer commercial credit or charge accounts

Guest room materials
Room items are included for use in the rental and not as take home items. They can be purchased separately in advance through airbnb only
Items; Towels, robes, blankets bedding, utensils, cooking ware, baskets , gas canisters, plates, cups, books, paintings, batiks, or anything else that is reusable by the property from the property.

Some Freebies
The great tropical fruit when available (not the baskets or plates themselves)

Directions, ideas on places to go and see, limited rides to town (sometimes I drive to the store or town and it’s great to give you a lift then - no charge), and special VIP/ insider event experiences when offered.

The Host
John or Gio- short for Giovanni is an inspiring and aspiring, Kona Historian, Chef, Massage Therapist, Pilot, Entertainer, exotic tropical fruit explorer, micro scale farmer and aspiring world traveler. He likes to let you know about some of the secrets; of Kona, Hawaii, tropical fruit, healthy living, massage, and Tai Chi. He is available for various sessions
Massage, bodywork, structural integration, tarot, eternal being readings, and interpersonal exploration
Above all he is interested in meeting many good people from around the world and helping you explore Hawaii’s Island Paradise
Also appearances by Carolynn and Leona the play and food exploration crew
some of the differences are
the dolphin
has a dolphin theme, hard wood floors, outdoor dish sink 2 closets and a tube, a view of the ocean
the whale
has carpet, WIFI TV, no cable tv , large dish sink in the bathroom, more windows, it can be a more noiser as it has many windows and is near the parking area and above another unit, better view
Wild Fairy Garden
A Microcosuim or micro-ecosystem / garden has hard wood floors, has a more private deck, cooking area and dining area, but does not have the shared frig and deck close by, like the other two/ can use the shared frig and cooking area over looking the ocean. It has more of a over grown garden atmoshere, and less of a ocean view

Whale/Dolphin Tour
( with one of the most longest running and expereinced captains on the island)
with the tour you save even more

Actual price
As Tax is not included the actual price for the room differs
the real the price is 13.25 more with tax
tax is used to make the bathrooms clean at parks, roads to beaches and many more services
35 cleaning fee plus tax 6 per week or 70 for 1 week and a partail week ( like 8-13 days for example)

The Rack rate
126 per day before taxes

Pricing
Is approx. $126 day plus local and state taxes for daily rental
35 cleaning fee plus tax 6 per week or 70 for 1 week and a partail week ( like 8-13 days for example)
Airport
Pick up or drop is $ 43 includes tax (for 2 and kids max)
Prepaid only / Guaranteed Reservations Only
Check-in time
By advance appointment only
ideal checkin time 3pm-7 and by advance appointment only
With international flights and individual circumstances
We do make our best effort to accommodate early check-in, however our check-in by appointment stands - we need the time to prepare the place
We cannot always accommodate early check-in. Some solutions to deal with early arrival; A Guest could reserve the day before or go get a bite to eat , even go for a swim year round and then check-in after. Thanks for your consideration

Services
Some additional Costs
There is an extra cost associated with massage, Spa area, requested pick up or drop off, island tours or other special requests. Requesting a service booking a time, accepting a charge for a service is associated with special requests,
We do not offer commercial credit or charge accounts

Guest room materials
Room items are included for use in the rental and not as take home items. They can be purchased separately in advance through airbnb only
Items; Towels, robes, blankets bedding, utensils, cooking ware, baskets , gas canisters, plates, cups, books, paintings, batiks, or anything else that is reusable by the property from the property.

Directions, ideas on places to go and see, limited rides to town (sometimes I drive to the store or town and it’s great to give you a lift then - no charge), 5 minute chair massage sampler, and special VIP/ insider event experiences when offered.

The Host
John or Gio- short for Giovanni is an inspiring and aspiring, Kona Historian, Chef, Massage Therapist, Pilot, Entertainer, exotic tropical fruit explorer, micro scale farmer and aspiring world traveler. He likes to let you know about some of the secrets; of Kona, Hawaii, tropical fruit, healthy living, massage, and Tai Chi. He is available for various sessions
Massage, bodywork, structural integration, tarot, eternal being readings, and interpersonal exploration
Above all he is interested in meeting many good people from around the world and helping you explore Hawaii’s Island Paradise
Also appearances by Carolynn and Leona the play and food exploration crew

THE PLACE- Da INSIDE SCOOP
Not a Commercail Hotel, Condo,or apartment building and does not have a regular pool, toxic good looking landscape or ocean front or down town oreintation. This place is not the noisy party pad place that those other places offer
IT IS A
A RUSTIC HOUSE with a great view and separate Private lockable studios, and 3b unit( lockable rooms) that share bath/kitchen and living room and some shared areas , WITH RARE CHANCE TO FIND OUT ABOUT EXOTIC FRUIT, EATABLE LANDSCAPING AND HISTORY OF THE ISLAND

Cancelation
For a full refund, cancellation must be made 30 full days 50% UP TO 1 WEEK PRIOR
ABSOLUTELY, NO REFUNDS AFTER THAT STRICT WE RECOMMEND TRAVEL INSURANCE IN CASE YOU NEED FLEXABILITY, WE HAVE TO PROTECT OTHERS 7-14 PER SPOT AND THE HOST WHO GUARENTEES YOUR SPOT AND YOU IN TURN PAY FOR THAT SPOT DURING THAT TIME
Wild Hawaii
With it being hawaii we are blessed and we have a great amount of dust from the volcano
Wild life from Beatles to ants to praying mantas
With high winds and tides and rain and sun our places need more maintenance as things come up to address ganging conditions
We have high humidity that can cause towels to mold in a short time
There are unexplored ordinance around the island and earth quakes and tsunamis waves even flash flooding
If you let us know we can address concerns caused by theses island conditions and make your stay better and some of these conditions are a part of island living
Gio
Taxpayer ID: W(phone number hidden)

Guest Access

Spa area for a fee
easy parking

Other Things to Note

100 deposit, cleaning fee 35, extra person fee past 2 guests except under 11 kids, Spa area (10-25) a person, taxes ,and services are extra

Permit Number: W01605696-01

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 0
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $20 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $491 /week
Security Deposit: $100
Cleaning Fee: $43
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
  • John itself is a nice guy and he tries to keep at least the sleeping room clean. But except from that the whole property is a mess. To a certain point, we had a premonition of that, as the pictures are just too stylish (and in the end, almost do not reflect the real conditions at the place at all). The reason why we booked that place was that we couldn’t get a rental car for our last two days on the island and had to find an accommodation that provides us a pick-up service from the airport and back where we had had to return our rental car before. The biggest concern we had was the cleanliness especially on the terrace that functions as the kitchen. Half of the kitchen table were placed with old fruits and residues, so that ants were still the more enjoyable guests (in total we killed three cockroaches). Everything, starting by the refrigerator up to the dishes were sticky and dirty and even our attempt to clean the dishes failed us we could not find any dish liquid or sponge (John does not live on that property to get some from him). Without a car, the distance to the next shops and coast takes around an hour by foot, and is not really pleased as you have to cross a busy road and just walk up or downhill. Considering that we had 6 Airbnb accommodations on our trip and this one was the most expensive, it was sadly by far the worst stay. We are sorry to say that but we cannot recommend that stay if not essential things will change.

    December 2012
    John
    Response from John:

    Thanks for your insights improvements made. Hawaii provides some great spaces out side , wonderful sunsets, warm days , and unlike the cold climates you have to clean up right away or the geckos and other visitors will come outside. It was great to help Marcel with many free rides, yes we do recommend a car, We decided to just have the table up in the shared area when people use it , so it will not gather a mess, and separate cooking areas so people don't forget their things out there. Maybe a warning label on the kau oranges as they are so juicy that they make more of a mess than any other fruit we have- but they sure are good. Always a good idea to ask if you have trouble finding something too- even on breif visits like Marcels. A neat Factiod; is that the perculture gardens though they seam more wild, are more messy looking, dryer jungle looking - they actaully are alive, are a treasure and produce alot of edible fruit, veggies, and herbs. My hope is that a guest will be inspired and start a edible micro garden tour or garden of their own. Its hard to share Hawaii's weath ;the history , agraculture , places and permaculture with guests when they only stay a day or 2. Best to stay at least 1-2 weeks to really get a feel of Hawaii.

    December 2012
  • This location is a couch surfer's dream, but falls short of expectations of a bed and breakfast.

    The breakfast baskets were phenomenal with fresh fruit grown on property. John and his beautiful daughter are very friendly and passionate about running a bed and breakfast.

    Unfortunately, there was an obvious issue with cleanliness (coffee grounds in coffee cups from a previous stay) and quite a bit of clutter (two closets with miscellaneous items that may have been fun or useful if they were organized instead of shoved messily, and several piles of items in the main room covered with colorful sheets in attempts to conceal them). There was ample storage space for toiletries and clothes, but the space was take up by personal property of the owner (presumably).

    The room is on the second floor above some more permanent/monthly tenants who smoked pot and cigarettes on a daily and nightly basis and had pleasant but fairly loud conversations. The room also shares a wall with John's living space, so you have to walk past his private area to get to the room. There are windows and sliding glass doors on the entire entry side of the room which is beautiful for the view. Since there isn't air-conditioning, everyone leaves their windows open, which is great for enjoying the tropical climate, but pretty dramatically reduces privacy since the curtains are all sheer and there are so many people in such close quarters. It was obvious that someone had entered the room on a daily basis, though there were not any bedding or cleaning services.

    The unit has it's own toilet and very small showering space attached. It also has one kitchen size sink just outside the restroom, a coffee maker, and a very small (2ft x 2ft) refrigerator with a little freezer compartment.

    The walk to the beach is about 30 minutes steeply downhill. If you have a bike or a rental car (see Jason at Budget/Avis at the airport for a good deal. Tell him Jen from Vegas sent you!) you will be much more mobile than if you try to walk everywhere.

    We usually stay in hotels like motel 6, budget suites or quality inn and suites because it's affordable and we don't spend that much time in the room anyway. We were not looking for luxury, but we also didn't realize we would be walking into a space that felt like a messy spare room where miscellaneous junk is stored because there wasn't room anywhere else. I would be embarrassed to have a friend crash for free in a room like that, much less, charge people for it. There were hotels there for a comparable price. Next time we will stay in one of those.

    John was very quick to provide extra towels when asked and followed up to make sure we didn't need anything else. The space has tremendous potential. I sincerely hope that John spends a little extra time and energy to help it achieve its potential.

    October 2012
    John
    Response from John:

    Thanks Jen for your compliments on the Breakfast., and the great insights - we made some changes and more since then

    Bottom line do your research , find the place you want with the level of service you want , and ask or inform your host of any concerns so they can help you address them. Jen might be better with a hotel or bnb in the 149-365 range
    happy travels everyone
    Gio
    Just to be clear
    We are not a Bed and Breakfast Inn they charge 78-224 and often are more exclusive/ offering daily service - look at holulloa inn- usually they actually say bnb in the name

    We only charge charged Jen 42.50 a day at a specail discount rate. For the price no hotels offer what we do. To even come close they start at 79-124, avg rake rate for hotels in kona i am told is 149
    Local Hotels just do not have all the perks even at a greater price that we do, we did the research, and a real comparision. except 149-224 - no breakfast though

    We do ask guests who smoke in public areas or make regular after hours disruption to go as it infers with other guests. We ask guests to find other places who do not abide with the hawaii laws.

    It is important that we follow what guests ask for Guests do not always agree with what thier co guests request or share with us. We where following requests her party for limited service, with that said it is always good to ask for your needs to let staff or a host the opportunity to help you.
    We like to help and make your stay comfortable and safe.

    If a guest has concerns they need to share them with the staff or the host , seems strange that nothing was reported to us. when you have a group stay like she did it can be disorenting and unorganized with different guests in your own party moving things around. We where asked to not enter the room and we did not . We offered to clean on numerious occasions to her co guest who prefered limited service, and never told her.

    Bottom line do your research , find the place you want with the level of service you want , and ask or inform your host of any concerns so they can help you
    happy travels everyone
    Gio

    October 2012
Per Month
From
$76
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 49 times
School
MacAteer, John F. Kennedy University
Work
Wellness Coach and Integrative Hands on Practioner
About
I am a bit of an eclectic person, I like to do cultural travel, grow tropical exotic fruit, definately into the whole health and wellness thing. I've found that I really enjoy the hosting aspect of having people come into my home and us get to know each other over the course of their stay. Maybe it's the massage therapist in me but I really enjoy the satisfaction that comes with providing a good experience for my guests, be it good advice on what to see and do, brewing fresh coffee in the morning, or having everything clean, ready, and in order when guests arrive. Having traveled a lot myself (staying in everything from hostels and guesthouses to five-star hotels), I know only too well what kinds of things are important to me in a homestay -- conveint location,clean linens, a comfy bed, helpful people that turn me onto the to do's of the place and a hot shower after a long day of traveling or sightseeing. Oh, and a friendly host, of course.. I really, really enjoy living on the Big Island of Hawaii and know it pretty well. I'm amazed every day that a place as special as this exists and that I get to call it home and I'm thrilled when I get to share it with others. Hope to see you soon!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings