Before we go inside, look back across the front yard toward the opening in the hibiscus hedge from the parking pad. You can also see the solar lighted stone path to the front door.Here we are looking toward the front stoop. Note the glass block wall which adds light to the vanity area.
Honeymoon Cottage - East side Kauai
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our 1 bdrm cottage is steps from Aliomanu Beach. Private yard in country setting means a quiet stay beyond the hustle of tourist areas. Centrally located on East Kauai with short trip (15-20min) to Kapaa, Kilauea and Princeville. Enjoy..

The space

For about the same price our honeymoon cottage provides a cozy location near the beach with a sense of privacy you just can't get at a tourist hotel.

The Honeymoon Cottage is a one-bedroom (queen-size bed) hideaway cottage with its own private garden and beach access to Aliomanu Bay in Kauai. We are located in a rural neighborhood, but just 15 minutes (driving time) from Kapaa, Kilauea and 20 minutes to Princeville amenities or a healthy walk (about 20 minutes) to Anahola eateries, post office and general store.

Amenities include: Casual kitchen (w/2 burner cook top, microwave, toaster & toaster oven, full size frig), Living Room, Breakfast nook, Barbecue on Lanai, Cable TV, Washer/Dryer and Ceiling fans. NOTE: internet, wifi and unlimited local and long distance (to US, Canada & Mexico) calling are now included.

Portable A/C is available at $10/day (electricity is very high here) but often not needed as cooling breezes frequently blow, but sometimes and especially if you have breathing problems, when the breezes slow, the A/C would be advisable.

How far to the beach? 35-40 steps depending on how big your stride. There is a private path from the cottage to Aliomanu Beach. The beach is protected by a coral reef, located about 50 yards out. No big waves come into the swimming area. At low tide you can examine the tide pools or walk out to the reef in shallow water, though there are deeper places to swim. For my taste the water is a bit chilly during the winter months, but I do see people out enjoying the water all year long.

A car would be great for exploring the island on your own. The island has a public bus service. Just search kauai bus schedule to get details.

Flowers, fruit, wine, computer shown in pictures are a suggestion which can be purchased/rented. Ask for prices.

Be advised our cute cottage is not a luxury hotel with 24 hour maid service. It is located in a rural and sometimes humid tropical environment. If this information concerns you... ask us questions.

Note: A non smoking facility. Nightly rate INCLUDES state taxes (13.41%).

Our facility has been approved by the county of Kauai, #5069. Backup 24/7 phone: (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN).

Guest access

Fully stocked kitchen with pots, pans, dishes and utensils.

Interaction with guests

Dave will usually be available when the guests check in to answer questions, give a small tour of the local area and to talk story.
If desired, Dave can give a longer walking tour of local fruit trees, in season, and our guests can sign the autograph tree. We are right next door, just a phone call away, if needed. Otherwise we leave our guests to their own privacy.

Other things to note

Kauai is a less populated rural island more conducive to relaxation and enjoying nature. Kauai Transient Vacation Number: 5069

License or registration number

Kauai Transient Vacation Number: 5069
Learn about this number

Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people $40 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $145
Weekly Discount: 7%
Weekend Price $170 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 10AM

FOR THE SAFETY AND COMFORT OF YOU AND YOUR NEIGHBORS

Aloha and Welcome to the Beautiful Garden Island of Kaua’i

We want your visit to be safe and enjoyable for both you and your neighbors.
1.Be good neighbors:
a.Keep noise to a minimum, especially before 8:00 am and after 9:00 pm. Your neighbors may have work the next day, so please be considerate.
b.Turn off outdoor lights at night whenever possible. Enjoy our dark nights when the stars are bright and beautiful. Of equal importance, our wildlife can become disoriented at night if lights are too bright.
c.Hawaii has a non-smoking ordinance. There is no smoking within 20 feet of all public buildings. This cottage is also non-smoking. Use lanai and dispose ashes, when safe, in exterior trash can.
d.Whenever possible, please recycle. Please leave recyclable items on lanai. Housekeeping will pick them up. Anything you can do to help will be appreciated for generations to come.
2.Beach Safety: Northern winter storms and southern summer storms can bring extremely dangerous surf conditions. NEVER turn your back on the ocean – summer or winter. Rogue waves can appear even in calm surf conditions. There are lifeguards at Haena Beach Park, Hanalei Pavilion, Lydgate, Poipu Beach Park, Salt Pond and Kekaha. For your family’s safety, check with lifeguards before going into the ocean. If you’re at a non-guarded beach, check with locals who are there regarding unseen currents or other dangers.
3. In case of fire or medical emergency, call 9-1-1.
a.The address here is 5040a N. Aliomanu Road, Anahola (turn off Kuhio between Mile Marker 15 & 16). Street pronounced Ah-lee-oh-mah-new; city pronounced Anna-hole-ah; highway is Coo-he-oh.
b. For non-emergency assistance, please call Police Dispatch at (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN).
c. The phone number for Wilcox Hospital in Lihue is (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN).Weather: During heavy rains, we do experience flash flooding. If you must drive, use extreme caution. Note that flash floods can cause the road out of Hanalei to close for undetermined periods of time. For up-to-date Traffic and Weather information, please call (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN).Disaster Emergencies: On the first business day of each month at 11:45 am, our Civil Defense sirens are tested. However, if you hear these sirens at any other time, please tune to AM 570 for up-to-the-minute reports and instructions. Also, the front of the Kaua’i phone book has emergency, disaster, evacuation and shelter information.
6.Security: Be cautious with your personal belongings. It is always best to lock up your valuables. Lock your doors and windows when you leave the cottage.
7.Island driving etiquette:
a.Please honor the posted speed limits. Frequently check your rear view mirror. If more than 4 or 5 cars are stacking up behind you, pull completely off to the side of the road and let them pass. This can also help you when driving at night as our dark roads can be confusing. The cars following you likely know where they are going and can help light the way.
b.If you are lost, remember that this is a small island and you will not likely be lost for long. Keep driving until you find a safe place to pull over and turn around. If you can head downhill, you will get to the ocean within a few miles. Never make a U-turn on the highway.
c.When navigating the one-lane bridges, cross the bridges caravan style. It is usually appropriate for 5 or 6 cars to cross at a time. A simple rule of thumb is: drain the lane; if you arrive late – wait.
d.When parking at the beaches, parks or here at the cottage, be sure to park fully off the street or in clearly marked parking spaces.
e.If you want to stop to enjoy the scenery, please pull completely off to the side of the road.

Most of all, enjoy your visit to our beautiful island!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Phil User Profile
June 2017
This was just what we wanted on our vacation! Private and surrounded by flowers with direct and private access to the beach. The beach was secluded and had minimal use with the best snorkeling we had the entire 2 weeks right in front of us!
Dave & Deana User Profile
Response from Dave & Deana:
We do have Terminix service who come quarterly. It is hard to keep up with those critters, but otherwise glad you enjoyed your time on Kauai.
June 2017

Julia User Profile
September 2016
The location of the cottage was awesome. Just steps from your almost private beach with lots of nature around. Daves tour was really really nice. It could get a little humid inside but the fans did a good job. It's a tropical location so you should expect some mosquitos and bugs.
Dave & Deana User Profile
Response from Dave & Deana:
We have Terminix who come quarterly and we can always call them in between if needed, just let us know. I'm guessing we could scatter a few roach motels around to see if that helps.
September 2016

Aniek User Profile
September 2016
The Honeymoon Cottage is a truly lovely place. It's spacious, private and has most amenities one needs. The direct access to the (mostly private) beach is a big big plus! The location is also perfect, it's quiet yet a great home base to explore the island - half an hour from Hanalei, half an our from Lihue. I totally recommend staying at this cute cottage and would gladly stay here again if I ever visit Kauai again (which I hope I will!)
Dave & Deana User Profile
Response from Dave & Deana:
We are so glad you had a wonderful time. We, too, believe our little corner of Kauai is a magical place.
September 2016

Debbie User Profile
August 2016
Wonderful, spacious cottage less than a 1/2 block from the ocean. Very peaceful (except for roosters!). We definitely enjoyed our stay. You will too!

Brenna User Profile
January 2016
I really loved staying in this cozy little home. It was exactly as advertised. I think other renters have described it aptly so I'll just give you what I thought were the highlights. Pros: * Located in a quiet residential area away from other tourists. * Just a short walk around the big house to a lovely secluded beach. * Great snorkeling in your own 'back yard'. * Feels like home away from home. * Nice bathroom with roomy shower plus washer and dryer! * Well equipped kitchen (for a rental) with a decent knife set. * Very comfortable bed! * Nature's alarm clock doesn't let you sleep your vacation away. * Helpful notes in just the right places meant I never had to ask! * Gracious hosts who are there if you need them, not if you don't. Cons...and these are quite minor in my opinion: * Living room furniture is not very comfy. * Path from parking to front door is not well lit at night. * No A/C. House can get rather humid after a big rain and the A/C would help dry it out quickly. Otherwise, the fans are more than adequate to keep it comfy.

Laura User Profile
July 2015
The cottage was amazing and the location made for an easy honeymoon. We loved the north shore so being close to it was nice. The beach out side of the cottage was amazing. Dave was a wealth of information and we also highly recommend the walk and tour with him. Everything was perfect. Best vacation ever!
Dave & Deana User Profile
Response from Dave & Deana:
So glad you had a good time. Come back and see us again... whether you stay with us or not. Take care, :D&D
July 2015

Mike User Profile
September 2012
Interesting experience. Dave is a very gregarious host, giving us a tour of the surrounding beach as we arrived. Unfortunately, we had to walk away after a day and a half. The cottage was quite stale, with little ventilation. Being behind the main house, away from the beach, the bugs and mosquitoes became unbearable. Additionally, there were large cane spiders outside 2 of the windows with numerous webs that gave it a 'creep' factor.
Dave & Deana User Profile
Response from Dave & Deana:
We are so sorry that Mike and his lady had a bad time. The unit has 5 fans and we have a portable A/C unit that can be installed for $5/day fee. Also sorry the landscaper missed the spider webs, but if told about it we would have happily removed them. It was unfortunate that the breeze died down and that means the mosquitoes can find you. We have Terminex service quarterly, but the in the tropics, bugs thrive. We try to do all we can to help our guests enjoy their stay, but since Mike didn't tell us he was unhappy until he had already moved out, we couldn't try to solve the problems.
September 2012

Hawaii, United StatesJoined in November 2010
Dave & Deana User Profile

Dave and I are retired and enjoying our chance at the good life in Hawaii. We've selected the beautiful island of Kauai for our life in the sun. Between the both of us we've lived in Florida, California, Illinois, Missouri, Texas and Vancouver, Canada. Also, Deana, as a teen, lived in Misawa, Japan. We both worked with computers in our working life and now we both create websites for small businesses.

We volunteer with AARP and Teen Court, so our life is fun and full.

Dave enjoys a walk on the beach most mornings and enjoys sharing the local sites with our visitors. Feel free to join him around sunrise, once you get your time zones in sync.

Come and see what we know about our lovely, quiet and relaxing island.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings