Private room
4 Guests
3 Beds

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Deborah's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!
Chances are...
Deborah's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Deborah's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Deborah has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Strict Cancellation
50% refund until one week before arrival, except service fees.
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

My home is quiet, welcoming and has lots of art. The upstairs is a huge double room with a full-size comfortable bed, TV, cable, free wifi, desk, tables, chairs and a comfortable single cot.

Note: The bathroom is on the main level.

Contact Host

HUGE Peaceful Oasis upstairs, Reed

The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Check In: 11:00 AM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: $15 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $10
Security Deposit: $150
Weekly discount: 7%
Cancellation: Moderate


The Space


Welcome to your home away from home! I have a welcoming, charming, quiet, large home for you to enjoy. It's very peaceful here. My house is on a street that gets virtually no traffic, and the houses are somewhat far from each other.

**Please note: the ceilings in the upstairs bedroom – – this listing – – are approximately 6 feet tall. People over 6' tall would need to be careful, or they might not want to stay in this room. **

I am allergic to cigarette smoke. I strongly prefer non-smokers. I cannot have you in my house if you smoke more than 2 cigarettes per day. Smoking is never allowed in the house and cannot be done near open windows. Thank you for understanding.

Ideal location for easily getting around and walking to lovely neighborhoods like Reed, Hawthorne, Division and Woodstock. Very close to bus lines. Uber and Lyft are now available for airport (and other) drives.

Safe, quiet, charming neighborhood in inner SE Portland. Just 5 blocks from shops, Trader Joe's, Open Space Cafe, Starbucks, restaurants, Walgreens, Reed College and a nice park. Also near a beautiful wooded walking/running path around a creek adjacent to Reed College, and The Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden. 20-minute drive or bus ride to downtown.

*** CAT ALLERGY ALERT: I have two cats. They are not allowed in the bedrooms but the severely allergic may have trouble in the rest of the house, though I keep it very clean and the cats are outdoors a lot. ***

People of all diversities and ethnicities are welcome here. LGBT-friendly.


You are encouraged to utilize the entire house during your stay. You'd have use of a full bathroom ON THE MAIN FLOOR (not in your room) with a bathtub and shower. It's just for you, or you'd share it if there are guests downstairs.

Available are 2 bedrooms, all very separate from each other. This listing is for the huge, bright furnished upstairs room. My other listing is:

Room 1: Cat-free zone! Spacious, light
upstairs bedroom with great firm double bed, plush single bed, (and a
comfortable single cot for a 4th person), antique
touches, skylights to see the stars, tv, tables,
bureau, closet and attached living space with
desk, microwave for tea, bureau, rocking chair, etc.

NOTE: This room gets quite hot in the summer daytime. However, the window AC unit is very strong and rather quickly cools down the room, making it comfortable. On hot days, I turn on the window AC unit for guests in the evening if they're still out.

For extremely hot days (luckily these are infrequent), I turn the AC on in the entire house, which also helps.

Room 2: Cat-free zone. Full-size comfortable sofabed with memory foam topper in the large finished basement.
There's also a very comfortable single futon, and a comfortable single cot can also be set up for a 4th person. There are also three tables, many chairs, a bureau, a
loveseat and a tv with built-in VCR and DVD player.

Room 2’s listing:

There is a lot of privacy when you stay here. My room is far away from rooms 1 and 2. While I'm home a fair amount of the time, I'm quiet and will give you space if you want it. I'll also gladly socialize; it's up to you.

Quiet, well-behaved children 3 years old and over are welcome. Children 7 years or younger stay for free. When booking with a child aged 7 or under, do not include them in the reservation guest number, but do tell me about them.

I don't provide a prepared breakfast, but you're encouraged to enjoy the breakfast food and drink I have and to use the kitchen. I have coffee, lots of different teas, bread, peanut butter, jam, fruit, cereal, eggs, and vegetarian meat substitutes. (Note: for stays of over 1 week, I provide these food basics for the first week only. After that, it's helpful if you buy your own food). Thanks.

*** I give a 10% discount for returning guests, and a $50 finder's fee if you book someone who ends up staying at least 2 nights during their stay. Discounts are given for stays of one week or longer; this discount is shown on the first page. Utilities are always included.

We are 2 blocks from the #17 bus line (goes downtown and east of here) and 5 blocks from the #75 bus line (goes north/south on SE Cesar Chavez (aka 39th Ave). Easy connection to MAX trains.

My house is nicely furnished and inviting. Eat a meal at the large dining room table, complete with a view of the peaceful yard and the trees beyond. Or sit outside on the nice wood deck and watch the squirrels and cats play (not with each other though). :)

All hardwood floors, fireplace, W/D, cable tv, DVD player and movies. There are three TVs: in your room, a large one in the living room and one in the basement. Free Wifi too!

My two "Cat Ambassadors" will greet you and socialize with you. Teddy, the grey one, says almost nothing but will welcome you when you come home and sit on your lap if you let him. Cleo, the tiny striped and dotted one, has a delightful little squeak, talks a lot, and likes to be petted. She is locked out due to hunting, so feel free to let her in if she wants to come in.

I'm looking forward to meeting you!

Guest Access

The whole house, outside deck and backyard!
Mi casa es tu casa.

Interaction with Guests

However much or little you want. I will be here on the main floor at varied times. My bedroom is far from yours. If you're traveling alone and would like company when exploring, please let me know. If I'm free, I'll gladly join you. I enjoy doing that.

The Neighborhood

This is a quiet, peaceful, safe neighborhood with beautiful houses and lots of colorful gardens.

There are many families living here. It's close to many stores and restaurants, with easy bus access. It's only 15 minutes or less to get downtown by car, and about 25 minutes by bus.

Getting Around

Very easy! The #17 bus goes downtown. It's only 2 1/2 blocks from my house. The #35 bus goes north and south, and is only 5 blocks from my house. You can easily access the Max light rail from either bus.

Starting September 2015, the new Max Orange line will go 1 mile away from my house! You can connect to the #17 bus and get off at 34th Ave., or if I'm available I can pick you up at that Max station.

+ More

House Rules

We are in a drought and I am a conservationist. PLEASE conserve water and turn off lights and appliances when you leave a room.

No smoking allowed in the house. No smokers allowed who smoke more than 2 cigarettes per day.

Please don't leave open food, sugary drinks, or dirty dishes in your room.

Treat the house like you would treat your own house. Be gentle with the hardwood floors and the furniture, please.

Please be respectful of my neighbors and be quiet after 10:00 pm. Please take your shoes off for the upstairs room and the finished basement.

You are responsible to promptly pay for any damage you cause, through the Airbnb security deposit.

Thank you!

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Fire Extinguisher

1 night minimum stay
Living room

Living room

Verified Photo

86 Reviews

Check In

This host has 66 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Deborah

Portland, Oregon, United States
Member since November 2010


Explore other options in and around Portland

Popular neighborhoods in Portland: Northwest District · Richmond · Concordia · Buckman · King