Quiet & Cosy in City Centre


Private room

3 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Cosy, Colourful, Comfortable, & Central Private Room in York
+ Short Walk to York’s Best Tourist Attractions, Shops & Restaurants
+ 10 minutes walk from Railway/Bus Station
+ City Centre Parking Right Outside the Door
+ Safe and Quiet Neighbourhood
+ Great Views of York’s Ancient City Walls from the Room
+ Friendly & Helpful Host with over 1300 Positive Reviews

The space

We live in an end terrace large 5 bedroom house very close to the centre of York, surrounded by York's Ancient City Wall literally outside the door (see Pictures), which protects the house from city noise and traffic.

The City Centre is only 5 minutes walk away and its a 10 minutes walk to the train station (which connects with London in 2 hours, Leeds in 20 mins, Newcastle in 1 hour, Edinburgh 2 1/2 hours and Scarborough in 1 hour)

There are 3 of us living here. Jelle, a photographer from Holland, Jelle's 12 year old daughter who comes to stay on weekends and Eilif from Norway.

You will get for own set of keys and can come and go as you like. We're always just a phone call away to help you make the most out of your stay

We have other Rooms in our house on Airbnb. If this one is full, check out the other rooms. You can find the other rooms by clicking on my personal profile, then scrolling to the bottom where you will find my other listings.

The neighbourhood called Bishophill and has a good community spirit.
There is on street parking in front of the house via permit
(you can get parking tickets from us for £2 per day)

There is an enclosed garden at the back, also great for relaxing in the summer and for secure bike storage.

The bedroom (the 'Vincent room', inspired by Vincent Van Gogh) is clean, has a double bed, plenty of wardrobe space and fast wireless internet. Fresh linen and bath towels provided.
If there are 3 of you staying in the room, we make up an extra comfortable air bed on the floor. Btw, did you know that Airbnb came came about because 2 guys, Joe and Brian in San Francisco couldn't pay the rent, so they rented out 3 air mattresses in their living room and provided breakfast! Fast forward 8 years later and Airbnb has over 2 million hosts worldwide, 60 million guests and is valued at a staggering $25 billion!

Ok.. back to our property!
We have a large Living Room with TV, Netflix and Freeview box.
2 shared bathrooms with 2 showers and a bath.
Kitchen - There are cooking facilities available, please feel free to use our kitchen if you would like to cook. There are some shelves in the kitchen for you to use and store you things. There is lots of fridge space too. There is also a washing machine for you to use if you need to.

Having travelled extensively and using Airbnb on many occasions I think it's a great way to stay in a city benefitting from local knowledge.

The house might not have the most modern decor but it has character and charm, it is clean and comfortable and it has a great location and easy parking.

A little factoid: a former Mayor of York Phillip Booth used to live in this house.

If you have any questions feel free to ask, I want to make sure you enjoy your stay and we therefore aim to please.

LONGER TERM RENT
We can sometimes accommodate some longer terms guests so if you are looking for a room for 1-3 months, (or just for 4 or 5 days a week on a regular basis) we may also be able to accommodate you.

STAY ON A HOUSEBOAT IN YORK
I have recently listed a fabulous 85ft luxury Houseboat for you to stay on! It is situated in the beautiful and quiet Bishopthorpe along the river Ouse only 10 minutes from the centre of York. You can rent individual rooms on board from 39 pounds or rent the whole boat! 3 bedrooms, 2 large decks, living area and kitchen. Unique and fabulous accommodation!
To check it out, click on my personal profile and then scroll to the bottom of the page. You will see 'other listings by this host'. There are 4 York Houseboat listings to choose from.

Guest access

Guests have access their rooms, the bathrooms, living room and kitchen. I live here most of the time and am available to help at any time and like to meet my guests personally when I can and help them find the best places to see in York. I also have a houseboat in York and an office in Sheffield so I may not always be there but I am always available via mobile.

Interaction with guests

I live here most of the time and am available to help at any time and like to meet my guests personally when I can and help them find the best places to see in York. I also have a houseboat in York and an office in Sheffield so I may not always be there but I am always available via mobile.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 20 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 66 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 floor mattress

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 3PM

No smoking. If you want to smoke, please do so outside.
This is our home. Please be quiet between 11pm and 8am


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Availability
1 night minimum stay

489 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Darryl User Profile
July 2017
Jelle's place was excellent. A small, friendly atmosphere right close to most amenities. The only thing I could think of was sometimes bathrooms get busy, but beyond that no complaints. I would stay here again!

Af User Profile
July 2017
Room nicely decorated and spacious with desk and sidetable containing kettle and teas. Bed was very comfertable. Information leaflet about closeby restaurants, wife codes, york highlights and supermarkets available. Room could be locked. Two windows offered great views on the ancient walls, and provided the room with an abundance of ligth (curtains available for night). Two bathrooms on the same floor. Neighboorhoud is friendly. House is on walking distance of city centre. I have not met the hosts. Information about how to enter the house is very clear. I think there were more guests in the house, but have not met them either.

Caitlin User Profile
July 2017
Jelle's place was fantastic - amazing location, beautiful room with great view and very clean. Check in was very convenient and easy, and Jelle went out of his way to make guests feel comfortable and welcome; not only in the house but in York itself. Would love to come back.

Jennifer User Profile
July 2017
We stayed in the Vincent room, really cute room, everything was exactly as described, we had a view of the city walls from our bedroom windows, great info book with heaps of info about what to see and do in York, located on a quiet street but walking into the main centre was about a 5-10min walk, everything was within walking distance, we loved that once we checked out, we could still leave our bags in the living room so we could still walk around and explore before leaving York later that evening. Thank you Jelle, we will definitely be back!

Matthew User Profile
July 2017
Lovely place and hosts

Fiona User Profile
July 2017
good place for a night stop over in York.

Jane User Profile
July 2017
Great location for walking into the city and very quiet. Street parking for a small fee is an added bonus. Homely feel but decor could do with updating. Jelle a great host. Overall a good place to stay.

This host has 1734 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

York, United KingdomJoined in August 2011
Jelle User Profile

I am a Dutchman who lives in York, England, grew up in South Africa, went to school in New Zealand and loves to travel and meet people.
I have several listings and love Airbnb. I have been a host for around 4 years use airbnb when I travel too and I like to travel as much as I can!

Languages: English, Nederlands
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Jelle’s place.
Jelle
Tyler helps host.
Tyler
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings