Cozy room near metro, free parking

Apartment - Private room · Avenue de Chateaubriand, Montreal, QC H2S 2N7, Canada
Masha And Conor

Bright and cozy room in a large flat, shared with a friendly couple and a lazy kitty. Very comfy queen-size bed, large deck in the back, steps from the metro, near a great local food market, free private parking available. Wifi & full kitchen.

Your host, Masha And Conor
38 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

Bright and cozy room in a large flat, shared with a friendly couple and a lazy kitty. Very comfy queen-size bed, large deck in the back, steps from the metro, near a great local food market, free private parking available. Wifi & full kitchen.

The Space

Really comfortable bed, wifi, proximity to public transit and groceries, free parking in the back and laundry.
You will have a private room in a large flat, in the front of the house, with a big window, a desk, queen sized bed, closet, dresser, and a bedside table. In the summer the deck in the back is open for use as well. It's new so we don't have photos of it yet. You can also use the kitchen and living room.

The apartment is shared with a couple: a musician and a dressmaker. Our bedroom is on the other side of the apartment, so you will not be disturbed.

The grocery store is a 2 minute walk, and there's a market where you can buy anything from fresh local produce to fancy cheese to organic meat, a 10 minute walk away.

We invite our guests to use the kitchen. We always leave some space for your stuff, put it wherever you want, we won't eat it. Promise.

There are 2 sinks in the bathroom. We generally use the one on the left and leave the one on the right for our guests. If you need to do laundry, we will gladly show you how (our machine is pretty new and high-tec, so it can be somewhat confusing).

Guest Access

Kitchen: space in the fridge, stove, dishwasher, sink (obviously) and coffee-maker.
Laundry: washer and dryer
WiFi, backyard where you can have your breakfast in the summer.

Interaction with Guests

We like to answer questions and give advice on what to do in Montreal based on your interests. In general we like to give our guests their space, but we're always ready to help.

The Neighborhood

The neighborhood is pretty quiet. There are many cute restaurants and bars nearby, ask for suggestions. When you're here, you have to check out Jean Talon market where local farmers and artisans come to sell their produce, concoctions etc.

Getting around

The metro is on the same block as us and there are several bus lines within a 2 minute walk radius. In the summer there is a bixi stand on the next street over, so if you're the cycling type, it's very convenient. If you drive here, you will want to leave your car parked for most of your stay. There is even a night bus (361) that runs frequently on weekends, so when you find yourself in party central (St. Laurent area), it's very easy to get home even in the middle of the night.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $307 /week
Monthly Price: $960 /month
Security Deposit: $98
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Some pets
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We had a great time and both of them were super helpful! They recommended a wonderful French cafe the first night--we loved it! The bed was clean, the room was plenty big, and the cat was friendly too. Only "issue" was the temperature as it was hot, but nothing they could do about the weather. They gave us a fan and it helpful so no worries. We would stay there again--great times!

    July 2014
  • Conor accepted my booking promptly, it is the first time for me to succeed in booking BnB after I reserved online for 5 times in the same day. Masha helped me a lot when I arrived very late. They are very nice. It is a comfortable place for travelers.

    May 2014
    Masha And Conor
    Response from Masha And Conor:

    ShuRong and his wife were only around overnight, so we didn't get much of a chance to meet, but they were polite, clean and low-maintenance. Unless you're looking for lengthy story-swapping sessions, these are ideal guests. We'd have them back, and definitely recommend.

    May 2014
  • Great location, wonderful hosts and a lovely kitten!

    May 2014
    Masha And Conor
    Response from Masha And Conor:

    Ju and his wife were only around overnight, but were great guests, very kind, big smiles, quiet and clean. Ju LOVED our cat Maggie (Margaret Catwood), which, as cat-lovers ourselves, was very endearing. We'd have them back and would recommend to other hosts.

    May 2014
  • MUST READ: As soon as you walk in the apartment, there is an unpleasant smell of either mildew or muggy-ness. The coat closet when you walk in was very dirty and untidy. The mat was pretty filthy and there are shoes and other items piled up under the coats. I would think that if you are expecting guests that are paying to stay there, that you would at least organize and clean before their arrival. The room is smaller than the photos appear. The bed is comfortable, however, the sheets and pillowcases do not smell like they've been freshly laundered. The bath towel and hand towel that was provided smelled like it had been left in the washer for a couple of days and then put in the dryer. The smell would remain on my skin, so I would apply lotion to hide the unpleasant smell. The bathroom counter and sink area was clean, however it didn't appear the floor had been swept or mopped in a while. The room is bright so if you want to sleep in until at least 8 am, it's not gonna happen. They should invest in possibly some shudders so that guests can have some rest after walking around all day in beautiful Montreal. One morning I tried to sleep in but with the tv turned up really high and the sound of pots and pans and cabinets being slammed, I could not go back to sleep. The hosts were talking out loud as if there weren't guests in the other room. (It's a very small apartment). I tried my best to not be a nuisance or a bother but it was not mutual. I asked for recommendations (email hidden) and other restaurants prior to arriving. Connor provided me with some information and also referred me to a section on airbnb. I thought that hosts would be happy to help a traveler and would not mind answering questions. After a few days of me returning, here what they sent me: Dear Sylvia, You have received a review from Masha And Conor O'Neil! Masha And Conor O'Neil also wrote this private feedback just for you: "It was great having you, hope you had a great stay. Just 1 tip for future airbnb-ing: check the reservation confirmation carefully for relevant information. It helps hosts not have to repeat themselves about the same questions (such as directions from airports, and cool nearby places to check out). It also has house-rules in it that are made for easier stays. For example, we have a rule about not using perfumes or strong-scents in common spaces, like the bathroom (though the guest room is fine), since we are both pretty sensitive to them. Just things to make both hosting and guesting easier. In any case, it was great to meet you, look us up if you're ever back in these parts." Thanks, The Airbnb Team So, just keep in mind, these hosts mind "repeating themselves" so be sure...

    April 2014
    Masha And Conor
    Response from Masha And Conor:

    Wow, I'm flabbergasted at this review. At no point during your stay did you give any indication that you had anything but a fine time. All of the items in the guest room were washed the day of your arrival. Perhaps you use different products with different scents? We've never been told that any of our linens smelled bad, though I can honestly say that your perfume was probably as vile to us as our linens were to you (you'll note that "no strong scents" is part of our house-rules, ones you ignored). If you'd asked about other towels, we would have provided you with some.
    The vestibule is exactly what you'd expect in a small entryway in Montreal JUST after the last snows of winter melted: winter boots and coats were still out because it was still cold at night, and forgive us if we didn't scrub down the floor of the place with boot traffic. The bathroom floor was mopped the day before you arrived. It's white, dirt and hair are visible on white floors.
    The room is bright, but there are both blinds and curtains. If you close both of them, and it's STILL not dark enough, wear a sleep mask. It's not a hotel, you're in our home, and that room is my brother's room, and he sleeps in it just fine.
    The "loud TV" was a "not-so-loud" radio: again, you're in our home, we both work from home, it's clearly indicated in our profile. And we provided good and complete answers to literally every question you asked.
    It's very clear to me that your Airbnb expectations are that you are either: a) staying in a BnB, which would cost at least twice what you paid here; or b) staying in a hotel, which would cost at least triple. Next time, I advice you to go with one of those options, and save future hosts the trouble of absurd and unnecessarily negative reviews.

    April 2014
  • Chambre avec lit confortable.
    Aucune surprise conforme au descriptif indiqué par l annonce.
    Adapte pour une nuit de récupération.

    October 2013
    Masha And Conor
    Response from Masha And Conor:

    Jean et sa femme sont un couple très sympa. Ils sont seulement restés une nuit mais ils étaient très gentils et charmants. Nous les recevrons encore si jamais ils revenaient à Montréal.

    October 2013
  • Room is in a rather quiet neighborhood, but is conveniently located just minutes away from the metro line!

    October 2013
  • Masha was very friendly and happy to chat. I met Connor briefly.

    The room was very disappointing, especially when compared with other accommodation provided for a lower price.

    The other item that was very disappointing is that I specifically made it clear that I required parking for my car. I was told in previous communication that free parking was available. We parked our car in what we assumed to be an acceptable space, but when we left in the morning we had a parking fine for $57!

    As all signs and communication are in French, there was no way possible that we would have known that the space we had parked our car in was restricted. I would have expected our hosts to have either:
    1. Pointed out where the free parking was
    2. Arranged for a parking permit (at our cost)

    October 2013
    Masha And Conor
    Response from Masha And Conor:

    "We parked our car in what we assumed to be an acceptable space, but when we left in the morning we had a parking fine for $57!" You did not use the provided free parking space behind our house, and you neither mentioned it nor inquired about it when you arrived. Had you asked, you would have been directed to the parking spot in the back of the house. Please don't blame us for your mistake.

    October 2013
  • Welcoming hosts, but the place is a little bit messy, and not perfectly clean .... Weird smell in the house. Pictures not realists.

    September 2013
  • Masha and Conor were good at communicating and working out the details for my arrival -- it was a bit complicated because they were out when I arrived, but we sorted it out with no problem. The room was comfortable, and the house is pleasant. The shower worked fine. The location was great -- less than 5 mins from the subway station and close to a big outdoor food market. I was happy with my experience.

    September 2013
  • Masha & Conor sont des hôtes très sympathiques ! Ils sont aussi disponibles pour toute demande d'infos ou de bons plans. Appartement spacieux, bien situé (pas très loin du métro), rues commerçantes à proximité...
    Si vous cherchez un logement temporaire, foncez vous ne serez pas déçu de votre séjour chez eux !

    September 2013
Per Month
From
$48
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 91 times
Languages
English, Français
School
École des metiers des Faubourgs-de-Montréal, Concordia University, Dawson College
Work
Self-employed, Lakes of Canada (band)
About
We are two artists: Conor is a musician and Masha is a clothing designer. We are both passionate about our respective fields, but our lives revolve around much more than just work. We are socially-conscious and LGBTQ-friendly. Conor is a hockey fan, so if you stay with us during hockey season, you will surely get a taste of Canada on that count. Masha loves theatre and musicals, so if you're looking for activities of that sort, she will gladly be your guide. We have a cute kitty cat named Maggie, she's mostly scared of strangers, but you will definitely meet her. We invite our guests to make themselves at home here, and we take the attitude as if you were our roommate during your stay.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings