Bed & Breakfast near Sarlat Room 3

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Sarlat-la-Canéda, Aquitaine, France

The Space

Theresa and James Cogger welcome you to Les Petites Charmilles where you can enjoy comfortable friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in their traditional style house set in beautiful wooded grounds in the heart of the Dordogne countryside in south-west France .
All our four bedrooms (2 double, 2 twin) have their own shower & toilet, and look over the gardens. This room has a separate exclusive shower-room immediately opposite.
B&B guests have their own entrance and lounge, free use of the swimming pool, barbecue, picnic areas, and a refrigerator. Free wifi internet connection is also available.

++Room 3 accommodates 2 people in two single or one double bed with private shower/wc opposite.++

Les Petites Charmilles is ideally situated near the famous medieval town of Sarlat and makes a pleasant centre for your holiday in this beautiful region. There is plenty to see and do during your holiday.
Close by are the valleys of the Dordogne and Vézère rivers with an abundance of historic châteaux, caves, prehistoric sites and pretty villages to visit. The area is great for an active holiday; walking, cycling on road and on trails (bring your own bike - we have secure storage - or rent one locally), and horse riding. Hire a canoe on the river or go fishing (in season); tennis is available nearby, and there are golf courses less than an hour away.
Of course you can also pass the day relaxing in the sun by our swimming pool or pass a few hours at a French café watching the world go by!

Please note that we are in a small village with one bar/restaurant but no other shops.. There is no bus service to the village, so an independent means of transport is essntial to enjoy the region. Sarlat, the nearest town is 10 minutes away by car.

Nearest AIRPORTS: Bergerac, Brive-Vallée de la Dordogne, Bordeaux, Limoges, Toulouse
Nearest RAILWAY STATIONS: Souillac (Paris-Toulouse line); Sarlat (trains from Bordeaux and Bergerac)
CAR HIRE at all airports and in Sarlat (Europcar, Hertz)

A NOTE ABOUT OUR PRICES;
The prices quoted are per room for two people for one night, including breakfast. if you want more than one room we might quote you a combined price for all the rooms, this is sometimes easier to do.
A "taxe de séjour" (tourist tax) of 0,66€ per person (over 13 years) per night is added to the bill and collected on departure.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Check In: 5:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The reservation was canceled 152 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    February 2014
  • Un couple très accueillant sur un air anglais !
    2 très bonnes nuits dans cette jolie maison située à 5 min de Sarlat centre. Bonne literie, propreté impeccable, copieux petit-déjeuner avec de bonnes figues fraîches.
    Tout simplement à recommander !

    October 2013
  • Chambre et maison très agréable, dans le calme de la campagne du Périgord noir. Nous ne sommes restés qu'une seule nuit mais avons apprécié notre séjour chez James et Theresa.

    September 2013
  • We enjoyed our stay in Sarlat with James and Theresa. The room was spacious (we got upgraded to a bigger room with no extra cost) and we had a lovely breakfast! Will come back if around!

    September 2013
  • After our arrival we were in shock! The home and grounds looked nothing like the photos. The pictures showed a well groomed and tidy cottage, yet we found the grounds to be overgrown and very unkept. As well, the parking accommodations were not good either.

    Before arriving, we were lost, and our GPS would not pick up the location. We called and asked for assistance with the directions and Theresa scolded us for not being able to use the GPS properly and asked "did we not have the detailed directions she provided." She reminded me of my worst school teacher. Instead of being helpful, she was condescending and unfriendly.

    We did not feel welcome once we arrived. Her children and grandchildren were there for the weekend. No one was very friendly,and we felt like we were intruding on a family occasion.

    There was no private lounge or separate entrance, and the bathrooms were not located in the bedrooms, but across the hall and dirty. The fridge was a small community fridge which was packed and shared by other guests.

    After a long day of traveling and finally finding the property, which is much further away from Sarlat than indicated in the advertisement, my poor mother asked James for a coffee and he informed her that she would have to wait until morning and she would be served tea. Who can't make a coffee for someone?

    We book with airbnb all the time and are always so pleased. This was our first disappointment. I cannot comment on how the actual stay was, because we forfeited our money, cut our loses and drove back to Sarlat immediately to find a place to stay.

    It would be very inconvenient to stay at this location if one wants to be in the heart of the city and sightsee or simply have access to a cafe, grocery store, etc. You are in a remote location.

    We had an incredible time in this gorgeous region of France. I would highly recommend this area, but not this rental property with James and Theresa.

    September 2013
    James And Theresa
    Response from James And Theresa:

    We are sorry that Matthew was disappointed enough to leave without explanation within 30 minutes of arrival.
    We do send guests our GPS coordinates and driving directions from nearby towns and normally guests find their way here easily, but if they do get lost we try to be as helpful as we can, and have even driven to meet the guest and lead them here.
    We often offer our guests a drink on arrival, or provide the means to make tea. We apologise if Matthew and his mother felt this offer was not made.
    We do not say the lounge is private, and the entrance is separate from our own entry into the house. As we are not self-catering we provide a small fridge for drinks and snacks only, however we don't control what guests can keep in it.
    As for the garden both our lawn mowers were unfortunately under repair and we have had difficulties in maintaining it this year, because of the weather.
    The room descriptions have been amended to make it clear where the bathroooms are and that we are in a small village with limited amenities (many people prefer this) and 10 minutes drive from Sarlat.

  • We had a lovely stay here, thanks to the kindness of Teresa and James. They helped with planning our day and made us feel at home.
    A delicious breakfast was prepared every morning.
    Peaceful location in a beautiful part of the world.
    Great swimming pool too!

    August 2013
  • Nous avons reçu un bon accueil très convivial et de bons conseils utiles pour notre séjour. Nous avons pleinement profité de la piscine.

    July 2013
  • lieu calme et isolé; pas d’eau chaude la 1ère nuit ni le lendemain matin, un peu gênant; d'autre part, il y a une petite taxe de séjour à payer à la sortie qui n'est pas prévue au départ...

    June 2013
    James And Theresa
    Response from James And Theresa:

    Encore une fois excusez-nous la problème de l'eau chaude, miantenant réparé. Nous avons ajouté un note à propos la taxe de séjour.

  • Very kind and lovely hosting.

    October 2012
  • Theresa and James were very amicable hosts. They went out of their way to be very helpful. They made suggestions of things to do and see that were interesting They searched out information for us in connection with our plans. The room was neat and tidy. Their home is lovely and in a beautiful setting.

    October 2012
Per Month
From
$81
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 29 times
Languages
English, Français
About
James is from England, Theresa from India. We've been running our B&B in France for eight years.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings