Room 3 as a twin room, private shower room opposite. / La chambre 3 à deux lits, salle d'eaux privée en facePrivate shower room, directly opposite
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

Theresa and James Cogger welcome you to Les Petites Charmilles where you can enjoy comfortable friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in their traditional style house set in beautiful wooded grounds in the heart of the Dordogne countryside in south-west France .
All our four bedrooms (2 double, 2 twin) have their own shower & toilet, and look over the gardens. This room has a separate exclusive shower-room immediately opposite.
B&B guests have their own entrance and lounge, free use of the swimming pool, barbecue, picnic areas, and a refrigerator. Free wifi internet connection is also available.

++Room 3 accommodates 2 people in two single or one double bed with private shower/wc opposite.++

Les Petites Charmilles is ideally situated near the famous medieval town of Sarlat and makes a pleasant centre for your holiday in this beautiful region. There is plenty to see and do during your holiday.
Close by are the valleys of the Dordogne and Vézère rivers with an abundance of historic châteaux, caves, prehistoric sites and pretty villages to visit. The area is great for an active holiday; walking, cycling on road and on trails (bring your own bike - we have secure storage - or rent one locally), and horse riding. Hire a canoe on the river or go fishing (in season); tennis is available nearby, and there are golf courses less than an hour away.
Of course you can also pass the day relaxing in the sun by our swimming pool or pass a few hours at a French café watching the world go by!

Please note that we are in a small village with one bar/restaurant but no other shops.. There is no bus service to the village, so an independent means of transport is essntial to enjoy the region. Sarlat, the nearest town, is 10 minutes away by car.

Nearest AIRPORTS: Bergerac, Brive-Vallée de la Dordogne, Bordeaux, Limoges, Toulouse
Nearest RAILWAY STATIONS: Souillac (Paris-Toulouse line); Sarlat (trains from Bordeaux and Bergerac)
CAR HIRE at all airports and in Sarlat (Europcar, Hertz)

The prices quoted are per room for two people for one night, including breakfast. if you want more than one room we might quote you a combined price for all the rooms, this is sometimes easier to do.
We have to collect a "taxe de séjour" (tourist tax) of 0,66€ per person (over 13 years) per night which is to be paid before your departure.

Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 5PM
Check out by 11AM

Please arrive between 5pm (17h00) and 7pm (19h00), or call us if you may arrive outside this period.
NO SMOKING except in the garden with our agreement.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house


2 nights minimum stay

21 Reviews

Check In
Renee User Profile
July 2017
Location was great if you are looking for some peace and quiet and the chance to relax by the pool and only a short drive to Sarlat. Hosts were very helpful to ensure we had a great stay and we loved the outdoor breakfast table each day. Would stay again when in the area and am happy to recommend to others.

Mark User Profile
August 2014
James and Theresa were incredibly welcoming. They have a gorgeous property, set in an amazing location. The rooms were very clean, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast each morning was a treat, and Theresa was accommodating as to the time, and we were able to sit in the garden. Warm croissants, homemade jam, and coffee were a great start to each morning. I would highly recommend this to anyone in the area!

Sue User Profile
February 2014
The reservation was canceled 152 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Sofie User Profile
September 2013
We enjoyed our stay in Sarlat with James and Theresa. The room was spacious (we got upgraded to a bigger room with no extra cost) and we had a lovely breakfast! Will come back if around!

Matthew User Profile
September 2013
After our arrival we were in shock! The home and grounds looked nothing like the photos. The pictures showed a well groomed and tidy cottage, yet we found the grounds to be overgrown and very unkept. As well, the parking accommodations were not good either. Before arriving, we were lost, and our GPS would not pick up the location. We called and asked for assistance with the directions and Theresa scolded us for not being able to use the GPS properly and asked "did we not have the detailed directions she provided." She reminded me of my worst school teacher. Instead of being helpful, she was condescending and unfriendly. We did not feel welcome once we arrived. Her children and grandchildren were there for the weekend. No one was very friendly,and we felt like we were intruding on a family occasion. There was no private lounge or separate entrance, and the bathrooms were not located in the bedrooms, but across the hall and dirty. The fridge was a small community fridge which was packed and shared by other guests. After a long day of traveling and finally finding the property, which is much further away from Sarlat than indicated in the advertisement, my poor mother asked James for a coffee and he informed her that she would have to wait until morning and she would be served tea. Who can't make a coffee for someone? We book with airbnb all the time and are always so pleased. This was our first disappointment. I cannot comment on how the actual stay was, because we forfeited our money, cut our loses and drove back to Sarlat immediately to find a place to stay. It would be very inconvenient to stay at this location if one wants to be in the heart of the city and sightsee or simply have access to a cafe, grocery store, etc. You are in a remote location. We had an incredible time in this gorgeous region of France. I would highly recommend this area, but not this rental property with James and Theresa.
Theresa And James User Profile
Response from Theresa And James:
We are sorry that Matthew was disappointed enough to leave without explanation within 30 minutes of arrival. We do send guests our GPS coordinates and driving directions from nearby towns and normally guests find their way here easily, but if they do get lost we try to be as helpful as we can, and have even driven to meet the guest and lead them here. We often offer our guests a drink on arrival, or provide the means to make tea. We apologise if Matthew and his mother felt this offer was not made. We do not say the lounge is private, and the entrance is separate from our own entry into the house. As we are not self-catering we provide a small fridge for drinks and snacks only, however we don't control what guests can keep in it. As for the garden both our lawn mowers were unfortunately under repair and we have had difficulties in maintaining it this year, because of the weather. The room descriptions have been amended to make it clear where the bathroooms are and that we are in a small village with limited amenities (many people prefer this) and 10 minutes drive from Sarlat.
September 2013

Jonathan User Profile
August 2013
We had a lovely stay here, thanks to the kindness of Teresa and James. They helped with planning our day and made us feel at home. A delicious breakfast was prepared every morning. Peaceful location in a beautiful part of the world. Great swimming pool too!

Julia User Profile
October 2012
Very kind and lovely hosting.

This host has 24 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Sarlat-la-Canéda, FranceJoined in July 2012
Theresa And James User Profile

James is from England, Theresa from India. We've been running our B&B in France for ten years. We love meeting people from all over the world.
We both enjoy photography. James is a keen cyclist and is a member of the Sarlat Cycling Club. Theresa loves gardening and water-colour painting and enjoys cooking Indian and English food. She also does Head & Shoulder massage therapy for stress relief and pain.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings