Twin room


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
165 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Lovely and unusual traditional English house, friendly household. Cosy private attic room overlooking garden. Popular neighbourhood. Parking, nearby shops and good public transport to nearby city centre. Flexible terms.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $13 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $13
Weekly Discount: 10%
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The space

THE ROOM: very private bedroom on second floor with twin divan beds, wash basin, built-in wardrobe. Attic stair is a bit narrow and steep.

OTHER ROOMS in the house are sometimes available (see other listings on my profile).

BOOKING: see my profile for a bit of info about me. Please let me know a bit about yourself when you make your enquiry.

Guest access

SHARED SPACE: living room (TV, music), kitchen and snug breakfast room, 2 shared bathrooms, utility, garden, etc; small private study if you need it. Happy to help out with anything else you need.

FOOD: whilst I don't provide breakfast please help yourself to tea and coffee, toast, cereal, etc in the kitchen/breakfast room if you like.

HOUSE: you are welcome to use the whole house (apart from other bedrooms) and garden.

PARKING in driveway (one space) or on road outside front door (plenty of space).

Interaction with guests

ARRIVAL AND DURING STAY: I will normally greet you when you arrive and show you around. I am usually around or contactable by phone.

(If by any chance I am away from home when you come I am reachable by phone/text or e mail, and one of my housemates will look after you including showing you around and giving you a key).

TRIPS: Happy to show you around a bit if you and I are free and you would like, or just point you in the right direction.

The neighborhood

GUIDE BOOK: see this listing.

LOCATION: popular leafy neighbourhood within easy reach of the city centre, Longbenton, Regent Centre, the quayside, and the coast (not to mention Hadrian's Wall, Durham Cathedral, Northumberland Castles & beaches, etc - see Guidebook).

LOCAL AMENITIES: pretty good local shops including mini-market just across the green, small Tesco and not bad pub around the corner, other nice local small shops within 5 minutes walk. Plenty of good shops, restaurants, pubs, etc on Gosforth High Street about 15 minutes walk/5 minutes bus ride away. Library and leisure centre 15-20 minutes walk. For local events see The Crack Magazine (URL HIDDEN)

ACTIVITIES: happy to offer ideas for travel (North of England, Scotland and Ireland) food (some nice places to eat) culture (local visual and performing arts and museums, other places to visit) and exercise (good nearby coast and hill walking, well-equipped pay-at-the-door gym and pool, local bike hire), etc.

Getting around

PUBLIC TRANSPORT: see Stagecoach bus and Nexus Metro Web sites.

BUS: stops that are near my house

- Kenton Park Shops (1 minute walk, for universities, RVI, city centre and Central Station) - 10 and 11 via Kenton Road; 31 and 35 via Gosforth High St.
- Jubilee Road (approx 8 minutes walk; towards Freeman Hospital, Four Lane Ends and DSS/DWP Longbenton) - 6, 7, 8 (Freeman) and 32 (Four Lane Ends).

METRO: Wansback Road metro station approx 12 minute walk.

RAIL: Newcastle Central Station 10 minutes drive (20 in rush hour) or take the bus/Metro.

WALK: about 30 minutes walk to city centre via the unique Town Moor (skylarks, cows, and well-lit footpaths).

CAR: 10 minutes into city, and 5 minutes to the A1. Parking here is no problem. Very easy to get to Northumberland and the coast, Hadrian's Wall, Durham, etc.

AIR: Newcastle Airport is 10 minutes drive away.

Other things to note

(PLEASE NOTE: in accordance with AirBnB safety advice if you are making an enquiry please say a bit about yourself on your profile and provide verifications. If you prefer to give me that information privately please include it with your enquiry message. Thanks.)

HOUSEHOLD: me and two or three friendly lodgers (international mix of male and female, working and mature students).

ANIMALS: a friendly and well-trained dog is fine with me, so might be able to stay for a short time depending on who else is here.


House Rules
Check-in is after 3PM

CHECK IN and CHECK OUT: whatever suits us both.

BEFORE your visit please:
- keep in touch about arrival times to make sure there is someone at home when you arrive. Phone contact is safer, especially if booking less than 24 hours ahead.
- let me know if you need early or late check in and check out. Usually not a problem.

DURING your visit please:
- no smoking in the house: covered back yard and garden available.
- try not to disturb others sleeping at night; keeping late noise behind closed doors helps.
- avoid food in bedrooms if possible; you are welcome to use the breakfast room/dining room, and kitchen (including cupboard space/fridge if you need).
- avoid travel bags and suitcases on beds.

Housework for longer stays: vacuuming done weekly if floor is reasonably clear. Clean linen and towel alternate weeks or on request.


Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Smoke detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

90 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 51 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom · Joined in July 2012
Peter User Profile

I have an attractive and unusual house (built as a family home and GP surgery in the 1930's) in a nice residential area with very good transport links.

At present I share the house with two friendly professional lodgers, and am enjoying being an AirBnB host.

For me the best part of Airbnb is sharing stories. As my host in Powys and now friend Tim said it's the new hitch hiking.

(PLEASE NOTE: in accordance with AirBnB safety advice if you are making an enquiry please say a bit about yourself on your profile and provide verifications. If you prefer to give me that information privately please include it with your enquiry message. Thanks.)

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet