Private Room in Chill Eastside Spot

House - Private room · SE 83rd Ave, Portland, OR 97266, United States
Sarah
Your host, Sarah
35 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Hey there! I, along with my adorable four-year-old daughter and our very affectionate dog, would like to welcome you to our home. We offer a clean, spacious room with a comfy queen bed, wifi, in-room cable and DVD player for movie nights, and shared bathroom. You are free to use the kitchen and washer & dryer anytime you wish. There is also an enclosed backyard with a deck, which makes for a peaceful retreat in the summertime. There is an abundance of street parking and a driveway spot as well.

I lead a perpetually busy life with full-time work during the week while my daughter is in daycare, so you'll have the house to yourself alot of the time. My daughter is a people person, and will be more than happy to give you the grand tour if you'd like and make sure you have everything you need to feel comfortable.

We live very close to the Foster-Powell area of Portland, which has many low key, neighborhood-y bars and restaurants which attract mostly 20- and 30-somethings. We are also close to many SE attractions such as beautiful Mt Tabor Park and Hawthorne Street area. There is grocery shopping within walking distance, as well as the Max Green line and a few bus lines. I-205 is less than five minutes away, and it's a quick ten minutes to the airport. Downtown is also quick and accessible, either by car or by using Portland's awesome public transportation system.

I know my way around the city quite well, have an active social life, and fancy myself a connoisseur of fine food, drink, live music, and off the beaten path activities (of which there are many in Portland), so I'm happy to give recommendations on where to go/what to do while enjoying your stay here. We look forward to meeting you!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $260 /week
Monthly Price: $600 /month
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Sarah was friendly and welcoming. The bed was nice and comfortable. Overall it was a nice experience. Sarah opened up her home to my family and we are very grateful.

    May 2014
  • Sarah and Hadley were great hosts. Sarah was flexible about check in, check out, and my weird hours and offered a great suggestion for a park to visit on a sunny day. The bed was comfy and the coffee was hot, can't ask for more for the price!

    April 2014
  • Sarah has a very cozy home and I felt very comfortable on my first Airbnb experience. She's right: her daughter and puppy are adorable! I spent most of my short time in Portland out and about exploring the city, and it was so nice to have such a nice, comfy room to go back to. I would definitely recommend staying here. The only thing I would suggest to future Airbnbers here is you may want to have a car with you, since the house isn't really within walking distance to much. I don't mind taking public transportation, so it wasn't a problem, but just something to think about. A lovely place to stay, thanks Sarah!

    March 2014
  • This was my first airbnb experience and it exceeded my expectations. I couldn't ask for a better experience. Sarah and Hadley are the sweetest family. The location was convienent to all activities around Portland and the suburbs. The home itself was VERY CLEAN, warm and welcoming and the bed was super cozy. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Sarah and Hadley!!

    February 2014
  • The bed was comfortable and the house was well heated. However, the house was not clean.

    January 2014
    Sarah
    Response from Sarah:

    I apologize if the cleanliness was not up to your standards. I have not
    had any prior complaints regarding cleanliness in the year-and-a-half I've
    hosted Airbnb guests, and frankly I'm quite surprised by this one. I have
    had several guests leave positive comments in this area (see below).
    Thanks for the feedback.

    January 2014
  • Again the bed was comfortable and the hous was well heated but it was not clean for me there was a bad smell in the hous but not in the room. I would only recommend it if the rate is less than 30$.

    December 2013
    Sarah
    Response from Sarah:

    I suspect this guest's negativity may be related to a well-deserved and very negative review which I left on his profile, however, these comments have been noted and any needed improvements will be made. Thanks again for the feedback, and best of luck to you.

    December 2013
  • I stayed at Sarah's for eight days. I was a little nervous because I'm not typically a BNB type person (love my privacy and quiet!), but she was the perfect host and I absolutely loved my stay. The bedroom was comfy, and I had everything I needed. Sarah was very generous, welcoming, and easy going. She had no problem with my coming in late after long visits with family and friends, and she even shared her driveway! :)

    The location was perfect, too - right off 82nd with nearby shopping, groceries, coffee, etc. Easy to get to the airport, downtown, and to I-205.

    I hope to get back to Portland soon, and would gladly stay at Sarah's again if available!

    October 2013
  • Sarah was a great host, her daughter was very cute and the bed was comfy. Everything was as Sarah described in the description. All in all, a good experience.

    October 2013
  • Tell others in the Airbnb community about your stay.

    October 2013
    Sarah
    Response from Sarah:

    Hi Andrian, is this what you meant to say? Or perhaps an error? Please correct if it's an error. Great having you guys!

    S

    October 2013
  • We had a really great time spending few days with Sarah and Hadley ! She makes you feel like home and can help you to discover Portland. The room was clean and cosy, so it was perfect. Thank you Sarah =)

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$40
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 97 times
Languages
English, Español
School
Portland State University
Work
Health care - Care Management
About
Hello! I'm a single mom who lives in Portland, Oregon. I work in health care; care management to be exact. My interests include reading, writing, travel, dance (esp. Latin, i.e. salsa, merengue, bachata), language (I'm either fluent or proficient in Spanish, not sure which, depends on the day :)), culture, dining out, coffee, politics, health care, and of course spending time with my four-year-old daughter. I love meeting new people and gaining new perspectives. I had a great experience after joining this site last summer prior to an extended road trip through the Midwest, and I'm excited for the opportunity to extend the same welcome I felt during that trip.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings