Skip to content
Twin bedroom with ensuite bathroomDouble bedroom with ensuite shower room
Mallory apartment, Keswick
Mallory apartment, Keswick
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2.5 baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

The space

Situated in an idyllic hamlet in the Northern Lake District, on the slopes of England's third highest mountain, the apartment sleeps four in two en-suite bedrooms. Keswick is 1.5 miles away.

The apartment is on two floors: both bedrooms have views over the mature gardens and their own TV, radio and hairdryer. Downstairs, there is a spacious lounge, a fully equipped kitchen (fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave, gas hob and electric oven) and a small toilet room. The apartment has its own private entrance and private parking spaces. You are also welcome to use our wifi.

The apartment is situated within a Victorian Lakeland Country House, set in over two acres of mature gardens, with its own putting course, which provides entertainment for young and old. There are also resident red squirrels and Philip the Pheasant, who enjoy their daily meal of nuts and seed!

In terms of location, we are based in Applethwaite, a small village which is five minutes by car from Keswick, or a 25 minute walk down a beautiful country lane (with magnificent views). It is also very conveniently situated for getting to all areas of the Lake District - e.g. Buttermere is 25 minutes, Grasmere is 20 minutes, Penrith is 20 minutes, and Windermere is 45 minutes away (by car).

Keswick has a wealth of pubs, cafes and restaurants, a cinema and The Theatre by the Lake. It also has lots of shops, including numerous walking shops, should you need to get kitted up. There is also a small bistro less than 5 minutes by foot up the lane.

As the apartment is on the slopes of Skiddaw, the elevated position of the house offers magnificent views over Keswick, Derwentwater, Borrowdale and many famous peaks such as Catbells. Once there it feels as though you're a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

We live onsite and will be there to welcome you and share our local knowledge with you, to help you make the most of your stay here - be that local cafes, art galleries, walking routes, local beer etc! We can help with bike storage and drying facilities if needed.

Many people like to visit this area for a week or more, and we would be happy to discuss a weekly rate. Whilst we've set the minimum stay as 3 nights, if bookings allow we would be happy to consider one or two nights - if this interests you, please get in touch and we'd be happy to discuss.

We absolutely love the corner of the world in which we live, and look forward to welcoming you!



Amenities
Internet
Family/kid friendly
Kitchen
Free parking on premises
Prices
Extra people $18 / night after 2 guests
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 10AM

We don't have many house rules, however,
1. On departure, please leave the apartment in the same clean condition as you will find it.
2. Please remove all outdoor shoes indoors so as to ensure that the carpets remain as clean as possible.
3. Bathroom towels are not provided as standard but are available for hire at £5 per set. This is for the laundry cleaning charge made to us. We do this to keep the rental charge down for guests who are happy to provide their own towels.
4. No smoking is permitted within the apartment.

The main thing is that you feel relaxed, at home and enjoy your stay!

Cancellations
Availability
3 nights minimum stay

107 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Angela User Profile
July 2017
The apartment was beautiful and what a wonderful setting. Gail was lovely and we would love to stay there again when visiting the Lake District.

Isabel User Profile
July 2017
Spacious, with lovely garden views, very clean traditional country house type apartment. We loved eating in the garden overlooking the lawn for dinner. My son enjoyed playing mini golf and other sports outdoors. Everything worked very well - TV, hot water and heating (on cold day with 94 yr old mother). Very convenient to nip down by car to do shopping at Booths/co-op. Lovely memories. Feels like being in the country, but very quick to Keswick and good roads to rest of Lake District. Very well maintained and clear instructions for everything. Thank you so much Gail!

Sandy User Profile
July 2017
Applethwaite is a peaceful place to rest while you visit the Lake District! Gail was a gracious host.

Sejal User Profile
July 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. Mallory is a beautiful property, in a secluded quiet residential neighborhood at the foothills of Skiddaw mountain. It was perfect for us as we had a car to get around. The home is spacious and very clean with all the ammenities needed for a family vacation. Wifi is very patchy but expected as it's a semi rural setting. Gail was very responsive. We had a chance to meet her when we were leaving which was nice as she was not in town during our trip. You do need to bring your own towels or pay an up charge of £20 and also toiletries are not provided. So just plan accordingly. All in all a great stay. I would highly recommend it.
Gail User Profile
Response from Gail:
I am delighted Sejal enjoyed his stay. Just to clarify, the £20 mentioned was for 4 sets of towels.
July 2017

Judy And Gary User Profile
August 2016
Pros: The house with several apartments is in a beautiful setting with views of Keswick and the hills. This is a great location of you have a car. Four of us stayed in the two bedroom apartment called Mallory. It consisted of a large living/dining room, and kitchen downstairs. A stairway led upstairs to the two en suite bedrooms. The apartment was spacious and quiet. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped for us to be able to cook our breakfasts and dinners. Cons: We did not have a car, so walked daily into Keswick. Note- the place is outside of Keswick in Applethwaite. It is in fact a 25 minute walk downhill mostly on a relatively quiet lane to the city limits of Keswick. The walk to the grocery store is 1.8 miles from the apartment. We found the walk to be 45 minutes uphill carrying groceries. The round trip walk to the city center added 3.6 miles to any day hikes that we did, described as leading out of Keswick. We came to the area to do walking, but at the end of the day carrying groceries becomes tiring. We felt it would have been nicer to be closer to town. A notable feature was that we had to pay £20 (£5 per person) to rent per person one bath and hand towel for our 5 night stay. This is the first time we can remember ever renting towels except when using a YMCA swimming pool. Furthermore, the towels were low quality and never dried after the first use. The most significant issue was a strong odor of mold throughout the apartment. This was noticeable even to one of us who is often oblivious to odors. It was so pervasive that even plates and glassware from the cabinets smelled of mold. We rewashed them before using, and the odor improved. There was a piano in the dining room (a positive feature), but the odor of mold was incredibly strong upon uncovering the keyboard. In sum, the apartment has many redeeming features, but the mold would be reason for us to seek lodging elsewhere if we return to the area.
Gail User Profile
Response from Gail:
Thanks for your review. We love our location here in Applethwaite and make clear to guests that we are, as you say, a 25 minute walk to the nearest shop. We have checked the entire property for the odours you describe and haven't found them. Be assured that the cleanliness of our property is a high priority, as our reviews confirm. We replace our towels and bedding on a regular basis and guests are informed at time of booking about the charge for towels if they don't bring their own. Best wishes and hope the rest of your trip goes well.
August 2016

Geoff User Profile
August 2016
Gail and Tom were wonderful hosts! Upon arrival, Gail was very helpful in getting us orientated to Keswick and provided many good local recommendations. The historic home and grounds were lovely and we felt most welcome to sit out and enjoy the yard.

Robert User Profile
July 2016
For our two-week holiday to Northern England and Scotland, Mallory was our second (of three) Airbnb stays. We booked for July 4-7, but the apartment was available until the 8th, so we extended our stay by one additional day -- four nights total. We're glad we did! Gail is a very attentive, personable, and helpful hostess. We enjoyed making her acquaintance. She was there to welcome us upon our arrival, to show us around, and to answer our initial questions. She was also available as questions arose during our stay. The tea service with biscuits, and vase of fresh flowers were a nice welcoming touch. Mallory is large and spacious, larger than we expected. We were pleasantly surprised. Mallory is also well-equipped with everything we needed, especially as we cooked our own breakfast and dinner each of the days of our stay. The sitting room and dining table (where we ate our meals) at the large bay window overlooking the grounds was our favorite feature. The Applethwaite Country House setting and grounds are truly stunning. We were fortunate to see a fawn (baby dear) right outside the kitchen window our first morning there. The weather was cool for early July, with high temperatures in the 50s (F), with daily intermittent sun and rain, but a welcomed relief for us from the Texas summer heat of 100+. We were fortunate to have mostly sun for our outdoor excursions, which included a beautiful scenic 28-mile drive in our rental car south out of Keswick on B5289 along Derwent Water, eventually to Honister Pass, and then to Lorton, Braithwaite, and finally back to Keswick. We sopped many times to walk and take pictures. It was one of the highlights of our entire time on holiday. We spent an afternoon in the shops of Keswick, attended the cinema with balcony seating, and found the stately church whose steeple can be seen from miles away. We also enjoyed the Keswick Launch cruise on Derwent Water and a walk through the beautiful gardens at Hope Park. We highly recommend Mallory.

Applethwaite, United KingdomJoined in July 2012
Gail User Profile

I am an energetic and outgoing person and love being in the outdoors, preferably up the side of a mountain! I love cycling, swimming, fell-walking, the theatre, spending time with my family - and reading at the end of a busy day.

I've lived in the Lake District for 25 years now, and haven't once tired of the breathtaking views from the house. My husband and I have travelled all over the world, and love exploring new places and cultures independently, with our rucksacks on our backs. We really enjoy meeting people of all ages.

We are grandparents to four enchanting little individuals and thoroughly enjoy the time we spend with them.

Languages: English, Español, Français, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings