Entire home/apt
4 Guests
1 Bedroom
3 Beds

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Joey's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!
Chances are...
Joey's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Joey's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Joey has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Strict Cancellation
50% refund until one week before arrival, except service fees.
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

With Airbnb, you can find unique accommodations in people's homes—from houses and apartments, to tree houses and igloos. The listing details below explain what you'll find in this space. If you have any questions, you can contact the host directly.

Contact Host

Off street parking available at our home with unique corten metal siding and solar panels.

Off street parking available at our home with unique corten metal siding and solar panels.

Verified Photo

The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: $20 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $1000 /week
Monthly Price: $2500 /month
Cancellation: Moderate


The Space

Rent the ground floor apartment of our unique solar powered corrugated metal home (built in 2011) super centrally located. Separate back entrance. Full kitchen with dishwasher and range. Walk-in tiled shower. Tons of windows. The apartment has a separate bedroom with a queen bed, two twin pull out chairs and a couch in the living room that one person can sleep on, and a toddler mattress. Pack-n-play is also available. Reclaimed high school basketball flooring. Patio and outdoor shower!
1) Queen mattress in bedroom
2) Two IKEA twin pull out chairs in living room
3) Couch that one person can sleep on in living room
4) IKEA Toddler mattress
5) Pack-n-play

We have a complete kitchen with full size fridge, range/oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, pots and dishes.

Parking is in our driveway off street, although you can also park on the street. We have two Gary Fisher bikes to use (1 male, 1 female). Please let us know if you want beforehand, as the bikes don't get used much and get deflated and sometimes not working great. We can also point you to fun bike routes.

Family friendly
We are very family friendly. We have two young girls. See note below about Children and noise. You are welcome to use any of our gear, including a pack-n-play, strollers, high chairs, potties, books and toys. We keep a dollhouse and some books and toys in the apartment all the time. If you need any suggestions of things to do with children, please just ask. We also don't care if your baby cries.

Guest Access

The apartment is completely separate from the rest of the house. You will have your own kitchen, bathroom with shower, bedroom, living room, and laundry. You enter the apartment from a back patio entrance.

Guests will have access to a private back patio and yard that we use intermittently, but is more accessible from the apartment.

Preston Suds is the closet laundry mat. I am happy to do some laundry for you. There is a green laundry bag in the pantry. Please put outside and text me.

Interaction with Guests

I interact with guests as much as they would like. I love being a host to our home and to Charlottesville, and am happy to chat with you about things to do here. However, I completely respect guests' privacy and want you to feel you are in your own apartment/hotel suite and feel no obligation to talk in person. I appreciate communication via text/email, as I use my iphone a lot. Some guests I never see, some I see on repeated visits.

The Neighborhood

We are in the neighborhood of Fifeville, just four blocks from West Main Street (by the Main Street Market), a 5/10 minute walk to the Downtown Mall, and a 20 minute walk to UVA and the Corner. Walk to Amtrak and Greyhound. Right by the free trolley line. It is an eclectic neighborhood, fairly historic, gentrifying as more people want to buy close to the center of town.

Restaurants (within 5 minute walk)
Blue Moon Diner
Orzo Kitchen
Horse and Hound
Oakhart Social
Public Fish and Oyster
Or, just walk another 5 minutes to the Downtown Mall

Shops (within 5 minute walk)
Calvino (coffee shop)
Albemarle Baking Company (best bread and desserts)
Feast (high end grocery)
Organic Butcher
Seafood @ West Main
Eloise (high end women's clothing)

Tonsler Park is about two blocks away, with lighted tennis courts, a new huge children's structure, an old little league field good for dogs, and basketball courts.

Getting Around

There is the free trolley and various City buses that run along West Main Street, which is about four blocks away. You can walk to the Amtrak train and Greyhound bus stations in about 6 blocks.

Other Things to Note

About Us
We have a home building business focused on building unique single family homes on urban infill lots (Latitude 38). We are very versed in what's going on in the City. Joey is from Charlottesville and Jeff moved here from San Francisco about eight years ago. We love to travel and explore cities. We love to walk and bike, and love where we live because it is so close to everything.

We have two small girls, currently 3 and 5 years old. The reality at this point is that for about 1-2 hrs in the morning and a couple hours in the evening they tend to run and around, bang and drop things, cry and laugh, and generally are hard to keep to a total quiet. If you are a family, we are a great place to stay, as you can make as much noise as you need. If you are sensitive to noise or do not want to feel as though you are part of someone's house, this is not the spot for you. However, we are never loud past 8pm.

We used to have a dog, but our yard only partially fenced in. Let us know what kind of pet you have and we may be okay with him/her.

+ More

House Rules

The apartment is in our home, so we prefer it to stay fairly quiet. No parties. Guests are fine. We go to bed pretty early, so it should be quite quiet for you as well as night. We hope you will use our home as your home. Use it, but respect it.

Please let me know if you need early or late check in/out. I can usually accommodate it, but it helps with planning, as we schedule turnovers based on scheduled departures.

Please put any used towels in a pile in shower.

Let us know if anything does not function or gets broken while you are here.

Please smoke out back on the patio.

If you have a pet, please let me know prior to booking.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay
Open living, dining and kitchen area.

Open living, dining and kitchen area.

Verified Photo

149 Reviews

Check In

This host has 9 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Joey

Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Member since March 2012


Explore other options in and around Charlottesville