City & Harbour View - city fringe

Bed & Breakfast - Shared room · Bruce Ave, Brooklyn, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Caroline
Your host, Caroline
42 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The Space

**WIFI AND CATS INCLUDED**. And no more dog!
Are you looking for budget accommodation close to the city? This is a 1914 villa with two bedrooms, one occupied by myself and the other my second listing on Airbnb (see link on the right), an open living and dining room and a shared bathroom. You will be accommodated in a comfortable, soft leather double sofa bed in the open room, next to the French doors with a great view over Wellington city and harbour. The space is semi-private as you can close the door to the other part of the house at night to have more privacy. There is also a new solid wood headboard screening the bed from the kitchen and dining area. It qualifies as a "shared space" because it is part of the open living area and is not a separate bedroom, however you are not sharing your sleeping space with anyone else. Myself and any other house guests will generally be in or around the open living area until about 10pm most evenings. If you do want to go to bed earlier then just let me know and we can work out something that suits.

The two cats - my fur children - are Mogadon (the matriarch) and Neko, the rather big kitten. If you are lucky, one might select your bed as their chosen sleeping spot!

Wifi and cat cuddles are all included in the price. (Note that cat cuddles can't be guaranteed. They will let you know if you have been chosen to receive this privilege). You can help yourself to fresh plunger coffee or a variety of teas at anytime. Breakfast can be arranged for an additional $5 per person per day. You can choose from eggs, toast, homemade muesli and fruit. Please let me know in advance if you would like to arrange breakfast as I need to know what you would specifically like to have, otherwise it may not be available.

If you strike a famous stunning Wellington morning (see photos), you can eat breakfast out on the deck in the sun, looking out at the harbour. Who could complain about that?

Check-in is flexible as I can leave you a key. Latest time for check in is 9:30pm. Sorry, arrival on later flights cannot be accommodated. Leaving early is no problem however.

Brooklyn is a nice suburb with a village and cinema only 7 minutes walk from our house. There is a chemist, takeaways, dairies, a small supermarket, DVD store, two pubs / restaurants and a Caribbean cafe. The cinema tends to play art house movies and has a great restaurant and cafe too. On Tuesdays, all movie sessions are $10 all day.

Our house is on a quiet street that is close to central Wellington - either 10-15 mins by bus to Lambton Quay (shopping area) or around 30-40 mins walk. It's a leisurely 30 minute walk to the waterfront. You can check out the weekend markets, Te Papa national museum (about 40 mins walk), the funky shops in upper Cuba Street (25 mins walk) and heaps more. You can follow the road or you can take a track through Central Park. On the way you might take a detour to Aro Street, home to excellent cafes, bakeries and eclectic shops.

I love living here; beautiful sunny Wellington mornings where we can look out to the harbour and see the birds fly out from the Zealandia sanctuary. It's lovely just sitting on the deck in the peacefulness of early morning, coffee in hand, watching tuis and kingfishers feeding on the pohutukawa and flax. Come and stay!

Room type: Shared room
Bed type: Pull-out Sofa
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $14 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $218 /week
Cleaning Fee: $11
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I spent some nights at Caroline's. She and her husband are wonderful hosts, and the house is beautiful. Really artsy and friendly. U absolutely loved it there and would recommend it to anyone!

    June 2014
  • I had a very good time at Caroline's place! She is such a friendly, generous and easy- going person with a great sense of humour. Caroline has a really nice and warm house with an amazing view over the Whole City, which is amazing as well! Thank you for everything, I Hope we keep in Touch! Margaux

    June 2014
  • Caroline was a lovely host for us for the two days we stayed at her place. She was very open to share information about Wellington or just chat about basically anything.

    Highly recommended!

    March 2014
  • Caroline clearly has a lot of experience on hosting people, and she knows how to share the space in her home. I didn't see that much of her, as she was working and I was eager to see as much of Wellington as I could in one day, but she had thought of everything in her notes about the house and was helpful with everything I had to ask. The house itself is great, with the balcony and the view, which are a due reward for the climb up the hill. The arrangement with the (comfortable) sofa bed in the living room is special, but it seemed to work well.

    March 2014
  • I had a great time staying with Caroline! Her house is amazing, the view is stunning, any time of the day, you don’t really want to leave this deck!!! I felt very welcome, by Caroline and her boyfriend, and the two lovely cats. Lovely people, lovely company! I was invited to join them for (great!!!) dinner, eating veggies from the garden and much more. Nice walk down into the city, everything in reach. Can’t think of a better place to stay while in Wellington!!!

    March 2014
  • I had a really short but sweet stay at Caroline's house. She's really helpful and welcoming with her guests :) If you want a quiet stay not far from the city center with an awesome view of Wellington, Caroline must be your host.

    March 2014
  • I stayed in the "shared" space, which was at the end of a long room with doors opening on the deck. There was a great view from the deck! The house is over 100 years old, so quaint décor but very comfortable. Caroline was a lovely host, involving me in her karate class and inviting me to some of her organised activities. She makes delicious lemon curd and the cats were very cute. She and her partner helped me out a lot by picking me up and dropping me off, much appreciated. Would definitely recommend staying with her.

    February 2014
  • I had a lovely stay at Caroline's! Amazing view of Wellington and the harbour, which I could see from my bed. She was very helpful and welcoming, she had great suggestions for fun activities in the city. The bed was in the living room, but the house was fairly quiet and I had not trouble sleeping soundly. Pleasant walk into the city (~30 min, with hills) or easy bus service. Highly recommended!

    February 2014
  • I had the fantastic opportunity to stay with Caroline again this year and i enjoyed every minute of it. She picked me up from the airport and even cooked me dinner one night!! Possibly because my friend who was also meant to stay decided not to come at the last minute so that cheered me up. Caroline is a fantastic host, knows all about Wellington and she's always got something exciting going on ! You must ask her about Lady Lemon - Yum Yum !!! Loved the pussycats, Mogadon especially and Neko has grown so big in 1 year!! Great view and easy place to get to and from town by bus. Highly recommended ;-)

    February 2014
  • Caroline and Mogadon the cat were lovely hosts and I had a great time staying at their place. Stunning views of Wellington from the tip of your bed and only a pleasant stroll from town. Caroline and her partner were kind enough to take me along on a trip to the local SPCA open day which was fun, even did a side trip to a lookout point. Very comfortable and enjoyable stay! Thanks :)

    February 2014
Per Month
From
$36
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 62 times
Languages
English
School
Hillmorton High School, Christchurch
Work
Ministry of Education
About
I am a 30-something professional working in the public sector. I am currently a Programme Director at the Ministry of Education, working in Schooling Policy in the area of postgraduate initial teacher education. In my spare time i go running, drink wine and eat good cheese (not necessarily in that order).
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago
Similar Listings