Morning sun.Queenbed, large desk, closet, TV (on desk), refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave.
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Comfort, character and charm. Save those special dates now for holidays, special events, and the Brimfield Antique shows. Queen bed. Shared bath. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, TV. Light "help yourself" breakfast provided. Our house is over 200 years old and frankly could use a coat of paint. Fortunately this does not affect our guest's comfort.

The space

Recipe for a Wonderful Visit to Western Massachusetts.

Enjoy the colleges, family events and tourist areas while staying in a unique relaxing home. We encourage you to read our full description which should answer all of your questions.

Ingredients:

Affordable, comfortable room with private entrance.
Queen bed
First floor bath with large shower. Feel free to use the toiletries. (See photos for floor plan)
Linens provided
Wireless internet
Short walk to UMASS bus line
Ten miles to Amherst, 16 miles to Northampton on main road
Walking distance to library, restaurants, pub, bank, hairdresser, laundromat, and post office
Charm of a Victorian home in the Historic District
Tidy, considerate couple as hosts who rarely use bathroom. Common TV room with large flat screen.
Garden to relax in weather permitting
Small refrigerator, microwave and small flat screen TV in room.
Smoke free environment (smoking outside only)
Ample parking
Quabbin Reservoir nearby


Combine with: two creative hosts who love to laugh with their guests. Let them offer you a wealth of information on Western MA and New England. Feel free to blissfully ignore them if you like.

Let simmer as long as you like - one night to a semester. Discounts for stays of a week or more.

Sorry, no pets allowed, but there are local boarding facilities.


Feel free to stay in touch after a marvelous stay.

Family members have attended or taught at both UMASS, Cambridge College, and Smith College and lived in the area forever making them a great source of information.

Guest access

Room has 2.7 cu. ft. refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and TV. May use larger refrigerator in kitchen for ice and storing larger items. Full use of lovely side yard in good weather. Arrangements may be made to use full kitchen, as well as basement washer and dryer.

Interaction with guests

We try to meet all our guests and generally do not rent when we are not at home unless we have repeat guests. We are occasionally in the shared TV room but try to be out of there by 10 PM. (You also have a TV in the guest room. We encourage you to tell us your needs and to ask questions to insure a pleasant stay. Guests have been known to enjoy my husband's guitar and to see a few of his magic tricks. He also frequently takes photographs for guests and quickly emails them to you. We both like to chat but respect the guest's privacy. We do not go into the guest room when the room is rented unless a guest requests something. Let us know if you would like a linen change or room cleaning for longer stays.

Other things to note

Please message us if interested in a long stay. We can offer further discounts once we talk about your daily needs.

Plenty of off street parking. If you have a high vehicle such as a U-Haul, please talk with us, since special arrangements are needed to avoid our overhanging roof.

Our AC units are window units therefore air conditioning is only offered May 1-Oct 1 each year. Heating is available all year.

Please note that airbnb,com policy requires that the person making the reservation be at least one of the people staying here during the reservation. If you have interested friends or family, please encourage them to register with airbnb.com.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price: 65 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

We love children but limit our accommodations to older children (6 or older) since our old house is not childproof for the younger ones. Communicate your needs so that we can keep you happy! Shared bathroom requires personal consideration. No additional overnight guests. No smoking in the house. Please don't set off the fire alarm. We don't have a lot of rules, but would prefer not to have ultra noisy guests. Happy to give you privacy, but we would love to visit with you and offer advice on places to visit and services needed. If you have a tall trailer or RV, talk with us so that we can tell you the safest way to park. We have plenty of space but overhead clearance in the driveway is low so we have an alternative approach.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

182 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Carolyn User Profile
July 2017
Great location beautiful home and very entertaining and lovely host we will definitely be back for another visit

Ann-Kathrin User Profile
July 2017
It was literally a magical stay at Chris and Fran's home. Chris was not there but she and Fran prepared everything with so much love. In the evening we watched a movie with Fran and his friend which was so much fun and the morning we had a great breakfast with homemade breads and cakes. Only to recommend that place and we'll definitely come back. Thumbs up!!!
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
Thank you!
July 2017

Nick User Profile
July 2017
Chris's home is great. Very lovely and old fashioned. Paid great attention to us as guest.
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
Thanks Nick. We are glad that you are happy.
July 2017

Regina User Profile
July 2017
My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful time staying at Chris and Fran's house. They were highly communicative throughout our stay and provided us with extensive information on how we could reach their house and how we could find possibly any item we might need (e.g., towels, bathrobes, soap, etc...). The room itself was absolutely lovely. It was clean with a huge and comfortable bed, a mini fridge, fireplace, and a microwave. To top everything off, Chris and Fran are such wonderful people and we truly enjoyed conversing with them. Fran is such a wonderful magician and we were constantly in awe with each trick he was able to share with us. Additionally, they were generous enough to provide us with a wonderful hearty breakfast prior to leaving their home. In all, Chris and Fran go above and beyond to ensure that any visitors feel truly welcome when visiting their beautiful home.

James User Profile
June 2017
Great stay with great people!
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
We hope to see you again!
June 2017

Alison User Profile
June 2017
Comfortable, clean, friendly, good value...everything we wanted!
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
Thank you!
June 2017

Nina User Profile
June 2017
My husband and son loved this place so much last year they returned for a second fishing trip. We recommend this place highly.
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.
Response from Chris:
Our pleasure, as always.
June 2017

This host has 68 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Belchertown, Massachusetts, United StatesJoined in July 2012
Chris User ProfileChris is a superhost.

I am a 65 year old semi-retired hospital administrator currently teaching management courses online. I am also a certified Creative Journal Expressive Arts instructor specializing in combining journaling, meditation and collaging to purse ones life goals. My husband, a magician, musician and photographer, and I live in a 200 year old home in a New England town of about 15,000 people. My travel usually includes him or my adult daughter who lives in the Boston area. His daughter and our granddaughter live nearby and he has a son in Vegas.

I like the expressive arts, drum circles, zoos, crafts, and word games. My favorite travel has been to South Africa. My husband has traveled to Thailand and neighboring countries and once lived in Denmark. He is happy to take your picture or bring out his guitar. Our experiences have included luxury hotels and minimalist camping, both of which I enjoy. Our food tastes are eclectic.

When traveling we prefer a clean, safe spot; share well and enjoy meeting people. I do have a loud laugh and find humor in most situations. We like to think of ourselves as considerate guests. We are open to making a new friend or simply leaving our guests to their privacy at their discretion. Meeting guests is almost as much fun as staying at new places. We have been hosting for over four years and have had guests from 29 countries and 27 U.S. states.

In my early life I wanted to be a cultural anthropologist so perhaps I'm just returning to my true self. If you have an interest in a magic or guitar lesson from my husband while traveling, just let us know. I am also happy to arrange private creative journal coaching when my schedule permits..

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Chris’s place.
Chris
Sheila and Tasha help host.
Sheila
Tasha
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings