About this listing
Very kicked back property. You are renting the entire place. Some of the reviews you see say there is a dog and or other people but that is not the case during the summer.
Two Bedroom One Bath BNB, in Beautiful Ocean Beach, San Diego California.
I am renting out my two bedroom unit in a gated facility for the summer.
Please note this unit has a very beachy feel, it is an older unit. So please do not reserve expecting it to look like a hotel. A lot of bad reviews can be avoided by simple communication, if there is something you don't know while you are here or would like changed please let me know while here, instead of bottling it up and giving a bad review. The tile is a little worn from sandy feet being walked on it everyday. The carpet is 2 years old but gets shampooed every month. There is a maid the comes before each guest, but some of these older properties are hard to make shine. So if you are looking for a hotel experience please look elsewhere, if you are looking for a place that will save you tons of money on, Breakfast, coffee, internet, surfboard rentals with a very beachy feel then this place would be perfect for you.
But if you think about it anywhere else you are going to spend:
$200-$300 per night hotel stay
$15 per person for Breakfast per day
$5 per person on coffee per day
$10 per night for internet
$40 per hour for paddle boards per person
$25 per night for a pet
Plus $$$ for printing boarding passes movie rentals, TV, Fridge etc.
So the average 2 to 3 couples spending two nights with a dog renting paddle or surfboards for two hours would spend at least $485 each minimum for their stay. Here they spend only $400 for up to 3 couples. Please keep that in mind when trying to haggle prices with me and/or leaving a review. Thank you.
In Bedroom #1: There is a 32" TV /w Bluray player, California King bed. Very comfortable New bedding.
In Bedroom #2: In room 55in TV /w bluray player. Queen sized bed. Very simple yet elegant and comfortable. Brand new bedding. Sheets, comforter, and pillows.
Living room has a 55" Tv and there is large sectional couch that has a pull out queen sized bed.
Location: Half of a block from the Beach. And infamous Newport Ave, Bars, restaurants souvenirs, shops. Near downtown, Petco Park, airport, Sea World, and Mission Bay Boardwalk/Belmont Park. Just blocks from Downtown Ocean Beach shops and pier, and famous OB Dog Beach.
The premises: Full Kitchen,Professional Waffle Maker for use for breakfast each morning, patio, high speed internet /w wifi, huge DVD selection, 70in TV in the livingroom. Unit features an outside patio with a dining area weather permitting. Pet friendly. Coin operated laundry just blocks away.
Neighborhood: very relaxed atmosphere, Ocean Beach is known for its farmers market, street fairs, block parties as well as home of Hodad's greatest burgers in the country. Featured in many magazines. The line is always long but if you order in advance and go down and pick it up, there is no wait and you can eat it right on the beach.
Perks: Free Waffle Breakfast, Kuerig Coffee maker, Free Surfboard rentals. Free DVD Rental. Free High speed Internet access wifi. Printer on site. Free Printing but you must use your own computer. Courtyard/Dog play area.
Kitchen, Bathrooms, living room, bedrooms courtyard back patio.
Interaction with Guests
We will be gone during the summer but do have someone that can check in on you but for the most part you are on your own.
Very kicked back low key
Bus within 2 blocks.
No constant barkers.
Area is pet friendly
No long term residency. I may be willing to extend to two weeks but nothing beyond that.
What a fantastic trip! This house could hardly be closer the beach. This is the apex of the California lifestyle. Coming home to this place after walking around comic-con all day was fantastic. It's also walking distance to done great food. My favorite is Pizza Port, great beer great pizza, and great people. I'd suggest this to my friends for next year, but I want it for myself! :-) thanks for everything Shawn.
We had an overall positive experience in Ocean Beach. The location is about as good as you can get, and the neighborhood emanates friendly vibes. Shawn was very relaxed and helpful in our communication, including allowing us to check in very early (around 11am), and then leave our bags at the property on departure day until an evening flight. The description is very straightforward, and you should not be expecting luxury, but the place is a great value for some quality beach time.
On the other hand, there were a few frustrations during our stay I was disappointed about:
- The apartment was very dirty when we arrived -- including quite a bit of food on the kitchen floor and a bathroom sink filled with hair. Shawn got someone over to clean, but it was pretty gross.
- The automatic lock on the front door is very finicky and occasionally took us a few minutes to actually get to lock
- The 70" TV in the living room was out of order when we got there (seemed to be a burnt out bulb)
- The pull out bed is extremely uncomfortable and is missing some coils near the foot that only make the issue worse. My lower back... youch.
As a side note, the decor is very eclectic. Katanas over the doorway, ninja sai on the walls, and a full length mirror on the ceiling above the king bed. Quite a trip!
Sorry Henry, like you said you did check in quite early, I think the guests may have only left 30 mins before you got there so my crew didnt have time to clean, but we did get it taken care of thanks for the communication some people do not communicate and then blame me for the bad experience I guess its all part of Airbnb. About the TV I wish you had said something. It must have been the guests right before you because the guests before them were asking me how to change it to the Wii. I just had my current guests mention it to me and got the TV replaced the very next day. Also it sounds like you didnt get the second pad that goes under the pull out bed. While I have yet to know of a pull out bed to be comfortable, when adding the papasan pad under the mattress it makes the bed not too bad. I did not know about the missing coils thought. I havent been home for a few months so alot of this is the first time I am hearing it. Thanks for bringing it to my attention Ill get it all fixed right away.
Shawn checked in on us at arrival, which was nice. Our week in OB was a week like the locals...easy living and comfort.
Shawn's place is exactly like he tells you it is...comfy beach bungalow! 2 minutes to the sand, 5 minutes to Newport Ave full of restaurants and fun shops, including antiques. We loved being able to cook a meal rather than go out all the time. Neighbors were very friendly and loved our dog. He stayed in the courtyard when we went to lunch and they loved him. Shawn was available when I asked a question and very responsive. His turnover service even bought some breakfast groceries for us. Games, DVDs galore! We are staying here later this month...no need to look anywhere else when Shawn's place is just what we need.
Great place - check in and check out was very simple with Shawn and he was quick to get back to me when I had any questions. You can't beat the location of this place - literally just a few minute walk to the beach. I would stay here again for sure.
Shawn was very responsive, confirming my request in minutes. The location is great, just a short walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. Bed was comfortable, on the soft side (which I like).
Street parking was tough to find when we came home late. I had to park several blocks away. Didn't have a problem finding parking during the day.
I know you get what you pay for, so I wasn't expecting a lot since I was only paying $200 for a house two blocks from the beach. But I'm glad I was only there for one night. The place had a fairly strong pet smell and was not very clean. Night stands in bedroom, for instance, were dust coated.
I've stayed in some inexpensive but nicely maintained places through Airbnb. This wasn't one of them.
Thats actually one of the things that makes my listing special. I allow pet to stay at my place. As a matter of fact there were two dogs that were there just hours before you showed up. Obviously we cleaned but we dont tend to shampoo between each guest. I dont know if you arnt used to living near a beach but you can dust in the morning and the place will be dusty again by the night time. Thats one of the draw backs to living so close to the sand. Ask anyone who live with in a block of the beach they will all tell you the same. Also Please read my profile in the future. Had you contacted me I could have had someone over with in minutes to fix whatever you needed. Telling me the issues while you are here lets me make your stay more pleasant and helps me make the place nicer for future guests. Thank you.