Cottage with  sunflower mural:)Myrtleville House  front garden.
Charming Victorian Coastal Cottage

Entire home/apt

6 guests

3 bedrooms

4 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This Victorian cottage is a unique piece of history in a beautiful and relaxed seaside village. Come and relax by the fireside, in the cosiest of settings, that will be sure to help your pulse drop and set your mind at ease. The cottage dates back over 300 years and has all the character and charm to prove it.
Stunning coastal walks are equally as impressive in the lonely Autumn and Winter gales as they are in the busy Summer months.

The space

Come and relax in a 360 year old gardeners cottage in the sheltered confines of a Victorian walled garden just a short stroll from the beach.

The cottage pre-dates Myrtleville House (our family home) and has a lot of its original period features. Once said to be used as a small monastery, it is a truly unique building in a gorgeous setting. Once the fire is lighting and the kettle is on the worries of the modern world become a mere afterthought.

We have two large double rooms which and a beautiful single room too. If needed I can add an extra single bed to accommodate larger numbers.

The kitchen is the heart of the home, with a cosy antique wood burning stove. It is the kind of room that's perfect for tea drinking and long chats.
Breakfast food is provided and will leave you fully satisfied:)

Out in the garden I have put up a cozy little yurt for larger groups or anyone who feels like something a little different. It has a nice double bed futon and a wood-burning stove for a great blast of heat.

Out in the polytunnel, where the heat builds up, there is a hand-made hammock which provides an excellent spot for a quiet nap amongst the fruit and vegetables.

Parking is provided of course, there is lots of space and it is very safe.

Guest access

Guests are free to roam the gardens and the 25 acres of farmland for walks which provide a nice space for relaxation.

I encourage guests to use the produce from my vegetable and herb garden for there own meals.

If you want to collect the eggs from the hens in the morning, or help to feed them, just let me know:)

Interaction with guests

I will certainly be present and more than willing to give my time to guests. This is a very personal service at the best of times but if my guests require time and space then they will have it in abundance in Myrtleville.

I like to sit and chat with guests when I can, give them some recommendations and share a few cups of tea.

It often happens that I might share a beer or take guests out to the local pub for a few pints and some live music. It all depends on the guest or what is going on in Myrtleville on the day.

In the past few years I have had the good fortune to be able to take some guests to beach bonfires, cliff walks, foraging tours or on kayak trips with some friends.

That's what I love about travelling and hosting with Airbnb!

Other things to note

Myrtleville beach is a two minute walk down the hill and there are a whole host of beautiful coastal walks in the area. You won't even need to get in your car!

I try my best to gather and serve as much as I can from the garden depending upon what is in season. There are farm fresh eggs from free range hens right outside the window.

Every year we plant a Bee Meadow which is a hive of activity in the Summer but provides us with fresh flowers all year round.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 couch, 1 crib

The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 4
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and other pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people $61 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price $147 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

I like to see my guests treat the cottage and its contents with respect.

Smoking is allowed outside where there is a nice little bench to rest and enjoy the peace.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

187 Reviews

Check In
Naomi User Profile
September 2017
Amazing place! A brilliant setting and great location with a top host to match.

Rl User Profile
September 2017
So many mixed feelings about this place! Pros: Friendly host, gave us a great tour of the gardens, great shower, comfortable bed. Mark was very generous with his apples, tomatoes and blackberries from the garden and in jet lag mode, we really appreciated the scones, jams, cheese, milk, butter and brown bread. Easy walk to the beach. Cons: According to the description, we thought we were getting the entire cottage, but instead, since there were 2 of us, he gave us the upstairs bedroom along with the downstairs single by the back door since it's right next to the stairs and near the couch. We had visions of choosing our bedroom and using the entire place with more privacy from the host's area since that's what we paid for. The bathroom location was OK for us, yet it's at the top of the stairs--literally. You go up the stairs and you're in the bathroom and you walk through the bathroom to get to the bedroom. So know your co-travelers really well. Since the stairs are so narrow, we just left our luggage downstairs on the single bed. The yurt was filled with dirty clothes, so we didn't get to sit inside--it would have been nice to use. The biggest "Con" for us, was the gas stove. The propane gas canister is inside the kitchen next to the stove and outlets and we felt really unsafe since we were advised they have to be outside in Ireland, even Mark made a comment about this to us. Our choice--we just didn't want to take the chance, so we bought an electric kettle and had cold sandwiches. This was our 9th trip to Ireland, and we're open to new experiences and always try to stay in all sorts of different places, even other old cottages and this place just felt shabby to us. Loved the bees, host was nice, very generous with provisions, but compared to the other places we stayed on this trip, this was a let down. Young hostel-type travelers would appreciate this place; older seasoned travelers may not.
Mark User Profile
Response from Mark:
Hi Tim and Rita, I am genuinely sorry that you could not enjoy your experience here in Myrtleville. The feeling that I got from you whenever we met over the course of your stay was positive. I enjoyed our walk and chat on the way to the beach but I wonder now why you had said nothing to me about your dissatisfaction and discomfort at the time. The gas bottle would be a problem if the kitchen was on fire and it will be moved outside this winter. Responsible use is always recommended and well explained. I really wish that your unease about the stove had been relayed to me. The solid fuel stove can also be used to cook and boil water. This would have been very safe to use but you refused to light this as you told me that it was 'very hot where we come from'. I explained that it is recommended to use it for comfort etc. So you went out and bought an electric kettle and ate cold sandwiches for days. I have an electric kettle for emergencies and wish that you would have asked for it before you made the unnecessary purchase. I was conscious when you arrived that your booking had been discounted due to my own erroneous experiments with pricing. This does not mean that I did not clean and tidy, light the fire, pick fresh flowers and make the place fresh and welcoming for your arrival as is my norm. However I really didn't think that the two of you would need three bedrooms and a yurt. The yurt is ready for 'larger groups or those who request it' as stated. You did not relay that you required more than the two beds in the cottage bedroom along with the single downstairs. Usually the cottage is about 50 euros per night per person. This is not bad in my experience. Food, much of it fresh from the garden (honey, eggs, fruit and vegetables) the rest purchased before you arrive. Fuel for the stove, as much as you need, and it was lit upon your arrival. For the 30 euros per night per person that you spent I think it was a great deal. With regret, Mark
September 2017

Kerriann User Profile
September 2017
Can't say enough great things about this place! We stayed in Mark's cottage for three nights, and they were by far our favorite part of the trip. As others have pointed out, the cottage is a short 2 minute walk to a beautiful and quiet beach, a pub, and restaurant that overlooks the ocean. Although we opted to dine out at the restaurant and pub for our dinners (to take a break from our usual daily cooking), Mark's garden would provide ample produce for those looking to cook at home. Myrtleville provided a great home base for day trips to Carrauntoohil (for hiking), Killarney, and Blarney Castle, while allowing us to relax and unwind in the evenings. We would absolutely recommended (and have!) this location to those traveling to Ireland. Thanks Mark!

Kirsty User Profile
August 2017
When booking I loved to look of the quirky cottage but on arrival was shocked as the cottage was filthy, quirky does not have to mean dirty the cottage is old but I live in a very old oast house however again old doesn't have to mean dirty. The windows need cleaning the bushes and brambles need cutting g back and itneed a good airing as these is a dirty, old cooking musty smell. Such a shame as it could be lovely if only it was kept better.
Mark User Profile
Response from Mark:
Hi Kirsty, I'm a little shocked at your review. You mentioned the filth of the floors in your feedback, the floors get hoovered and mopped before guests arrive. It is not filthy. You did arrive 2 days after your husband and child so perhaps it wasn't spotless upon your arrival. It is impossible to get that floor to shine as it has taken the battering of over 300 years of occupation. However I will keep your comments in mind and get those windows cleaned a little more often. As for the airing and odours, it has never been an issue. You also mentioned the price in your private feedback. This is important as you booked for four and only three of you stayed. I found this out just before you arrived and I altered the reservation and sent you the updated cost to accept. You didn't accept it and so paid 25% more than was necessary as a result. This is something that I only noticed today after reading your feedback. The bushes and brambles are important forage for my bees, the honey I left for you came from the garden. I am sorry that the cottage didn't measure up to your expectations Kirsty. All the best, Mark
August 2017

Tyson & Lina User Profile
August 2017
We were so looking forward to our stay at Mark's house, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The huge, spacious house, plentiful garden and nearby places to visit were fantastic. Mark was generous and accommodating, and had even baked us fresh bread on arrival, which was a luxury! Good location to explore nearby coastal towns including Kinsale, as well as Cork. Thanks!

Ria User Profile
August 2017
Love the place! The garden was beautiful and we had so much fun here. The beach is also very beautiful. Really love staying here.

Desiree User Profile
August 2017
Very unique experience. Mark and Tom were awesome host, loved hearing about their daily adventures. Surfing, diving, fishing etc. We traveled with a 3 year old and an infant, stayed 2 weeks and it was an enjoyable experience. This town was exactly what we were looking for, non touristy, peaceful, good people, good food and a beautiful beach. Marks place gave us well needed family time, we felt safe and the house was cozy. Thanks again for opening up your home to us.

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Myrtleville, IrelandJoined in July 2012
Mark User Profile

I love hosting and travelling with Airbnb:)

These days its more hosting than travelling and its always nice to see my home through the eyes of my guests. They help me to keep things fresh and inspire me to always try new ideas around the home and the garden.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings