Cottage with  sunflower mural:)Myrtleville House  front garden.
Charming Victorian Coastal Cottage

Entire home/apt

6 guests

3 bedrooms

4 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This Victorian cottage is a unique piece of history in a beautiful and relaxed seaside village. Come and relax by the fireside, in the cosiest of settings, that will be sure to help your pulse drop and set your mind at ease. The cottage dates back over 300 years and has all the character and charm to prove it.
Stunning coastal walks are equally as impressive in the lonely Autumn and Winter gales as they are in the busy Summer months.


The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 4
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and other pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $62 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price $148 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 couch, 1 crib

House Rules

I like to see my guests treat the cottage and its contents with respect.

Smoking is allowed outside where there is a nice little bench to rest and enjoy the peace.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

185 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kerriann User Profile
September 2017
Can't say enough great things about this place! We stayed in Mark's cottage for three nights, and they were by far our favorite part of the trip. As others have pointed out, the cottage is a short 2 minute walk to a beautiful and quiet beach, a pub, and restaurant that overlooks the ocean. Although we opted to dine out at the restaurant and pub for our dinners (to take a break from our usual daily cooking), Mark's garden would provide ample produce for those looking to cook at home. Myrtleville provided a great home base for day trips to Carrauntoohil (for hiking), Killarney, and Blarney Castle, while allowing us to relax and unwind in the evenings. We would absolutely recommended (and have!) this location to those traveling to Ireland. Thanks Mark!

Kirsty User Profile
August 2017
When booking I loved to look of the quirky cottage but on arrival was shocked as the cottage was filthy, quirky does not have to mean dirty the cottage is old but I live in a very old oast house however again old doesn't have to mean dirty. The windows need cleaning the bushes and brambles need cutting g back and itneed a good airing as these is a dirty, old cooking musty smell. Such a shame as it could be lovely if only it was kept better.
Mark User Profile
Response from Mark:
Hi Kirsty, I'm a little shocked at your review. You mentioned the filth of the floors in your feedback, the floors get hoovered and mopped before guests arrive. It is not filthy. You did arrive 2 days after your husband and child so perhaps it wasn't spotless upon your arrival. It is impossible to get that floor to shine as it has taken the battering of over 300 years of occupation. However I will keep your comments in mind and get those windows cleaned a little more often. As for the airing and odours, it has never been an issue. You also mentioned the price in your private feedback. This is important as you booked for four and only three of you stayed. I found this out just before you arrived and I altered the reservation and sent you the updated cost to accept. You didn't accept it and so paid 25% more than was necessary as a result. This is something that I only noticed today after reading your feedback. The bushes and brambles are important forage for my bees, the honey I left for you came from the garden. I am sorry that the cottage didn't measure up to your expectations Kirsty. All the best, Mark
August 2017

Tyson & Lina User Profile
August 2017
We were so looking forward to our stay at Mark's house, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The huge, spacious house, plentiful garden and nearby places to visit were fantastic. Mark was generous and accommodating, and had even baked us fresh bread on arrival, which was a luxury! Good location to explore nearby coastal towns including Kinsale, as well as Cork. Thanks!

Ria User Profile
August 2017
Love the place! The garden was beautiful and we had so much fun here. The beach is also very beautiful. Really love staying here.

Desiree User Profile
August 2017
Very unique experience. Mark and Tom were awesome host, loved hearing about their daily adventures. Surfing, diving, fishing etc. We traveled with a 3 year old and an infant, stayed 2 weeks and it was an enjoyable experience. This town was exactly what we were looking for, non touristy, peaceful, good people, good food and a beautiful beach. Marks place gave us well needed family time, we felt safe and the house was cozy. Thanks again for opening up your home to us.

Ivana User Profile
July 2017
Staying at Mark's home was a blast! His beautiful cottage is full of lovely interior details and vintage treasures. When we arrived, he awaited us with freshly baked scones, delicious bread and eggs by his own little chicken. We loved spending time at the cottage, the evenings were especially great, spending them at the fireplace in the living room. During the day we strolled to the beach or ate at Bunnyconnellan's nearby. It was a wonderful stay!

Amanda User Profile
July 2017
This is a magic place. The farmhouse is old and steeped in charm, and Mark a friendly and generous host who opens his home to you. Fresh flowers, eggs, fruit, and tomatoes from the farm awaited us inside. The place is so mindfully put together ~ from the aesthetics of the rustic furnishing to the way the art is arranged, to the beautiful CD Mark left in the stereo upstairs. It is a total experience to stay here among the wild garden, chickens, and meandering paths that take you to lovely nooks in the garden and grounds where you can sit with your coffee and a journal or book, or just reflect. If you are looking for a hotel-like, impersonal Air BnB experience where you never meet your host and check in with a lock box, this place is not for you. This feels to me what the true spirit of Air BnB should be: staying as a guest in someone's home, but with the privacy of your own space. The pub is a short walk down the hill, and overlooks the sea. Rarely do I return to the same place, but if I find myself in Ireland again, I believe I would seek the refuge of this lovely place again.

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Myrtleville, IrelandJoined in July 2012
Mark User Profile

I love hosting and travelling with Airbnb:)

These days its more hosting than travelling and its always nice to see my home through the eyes of my guests. They help me to keep things fresh and inspire me to always try new ideas around the home and the garden.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Mark’s place.
Mark
Thomas helps host.
Thomas
Similar listings