View over Boyne Valley from rear of house
Private room
4 Guests
1 Bed
$57
Per Night
7 travelers saved this place

About this listing

With Airbnb, you can find unique accommodations in people's homes—from houses and apartments, to tree houses and igloos. The listing details below explain what you'll find in this space. If you have any questions, you can contact the host directly.
View over Boyne Valley from rear of house

View over Boyne Valley from rear of house


The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $57 / night after the first guest
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

Would you like to visit Newgrange, a stone age burial site older than the pyramids of Giza ?? Would you like to see the Hill of Tara, Slane Castle, Monasterboice round tower, Mellifont Abbey or maybe tour the historic town of Drogheda.
Would you like to be collected at the airport, driven in comfort around all the sights in this historic area and fed home cooked food each evening.
Generally the area can be all properly seen in 3 days , Newgrange and Knowth on day one, Hill of Tara, Slane castle and the ancient abbey on Slane hill and Monasterboice round tower and Mellifont abbey on day 2 and then the History of Drogheda from 432 when St Patrick arrived to the 1916 rising on day 3 but it is possible to see most of it in 2 days if time is short for you.
Almost all of the local historical venues have professional guides to tell the whole story of their historical significance.

Each day a packed picnic lunch is provided and evening meals consist of local fish and meat in season (or vegetarian dishes).

Cost includes all food, airport collection and delivery and travel to the listed historical venues. Cost is listed per person but there is a 20% discount for children under 12.

Cost does not include the entrance fee at each historical site. My recommendation is that you purchase a heritage card for each person. These cost €21 for normal adult or €8 for studentsand children (must show student card when buying) or €55 for a family of two adults and 3 or 4 children. The card is valid for a year and can be bought at the first site we visit, ie Bru na Boinne visitor centre.
If you intend to stay in Ireland for a week or two the card will pay for itself quickly since adult entrance to Newgrange is €6 and Mellifont abbey is €3. This cost is mainly to pay for the guide who does a wonderful job of describing far more than my memory would hold.

Guests can be collected from airport (or come to house direct) from 10am onwards and checkout is ideally by 11am on day of departure but this can be flexible.
The two bedrooms ideally suit 2 adults and one or two children and to provide the best service I am limited to one family staying per visit. This allows me to concentrate on giving you my best service.
Linen and towels are also provided. If you wish to come in a rented car parking is available.
For your stay you will also have a bathroom exclusively for guests use available to you.
Internet broadband and use of PC to check email is also provided.
I consider myself to be a good host, I enjoy all forms of cooking and I love to tell people as much as I know about my lovely neighbourhood.
I also have a West highland terrier called Harry and he welcomes guests with a friendly bark.
My aim is to make you feel as comfortable and relaxed as possible.

+ More

House Rules

I am easy going and quite relaxed and I should say that very few things would really upset me. However while saying that I have just a couple of things, The house is Totally non smoking, I dont make noise late at night and expect my guests to be the same and if you waken early ( like 6am) please keep noise to a minimum.
Apart from this the rest is just respect and it goes both ways, I give it and I expect it in return.

+ More

Availability
2 nights minimum stay
Visit Newgrange Knowth Boyne Valley

No Reviews Yet

Stay here and you could give this host their first review!

Your Host


Stephen

Stephen

Drogheda, Ireland · Member since June 2012

I am an easy going laid back person who enjoys the company of people from all over the world.
I have extensively travelled to the Phillipines, South Africa, Pakistan, Kenya and most of western Europe.
I lived in France for 4 years hence my fluence in Francais.
In a former life prior to the birth of the PC (what did we ever do, no Internet , no mobile phone ) I worked as a chef and I still love to cook for friends and visitors.

+ More

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Balgatheran

    More places to stay in Balgatheran: Apartments · Houses · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums