Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Stay in our cozy little studio. You have your own private bathroom, balcony with morning sun and a Nespresso-coffee. And most important: 2 bikes are included!

The space

We would like to welcome you in our cozy small studio near the city centre of Amsterdam. It is located in a trendy and multicultural neighborhood, with bars and restaurants around the corner, we love living here every day!

We, Philip and I, live on the second floor. Our lovely neighbors live on the first and third floor. The studio is based on the fourth floor at the courtyard-side. At the street side of the 4th floor there is another studio (owned by my neighbors). We all share the common stairwell of the flat. There is no elevator (we are used to it:).

The studio has a private entrance. It is 12 m2 (= 4x3 meter), the balcony is 4 m2 and the hall/toilet is 12 m2.

You have your own balcony and shower in your room. And your own wash stand. There is a complete privacy. You only have to share the toilet in the common stairwell with one other person who is rarely there. This is 3 meters from the room.

Included is;
- Double bed (1,40 m x 2,10 m), new linen.
- Towels
- Fridge
- Microwave (no stove or kitchen)
- Coffee (nespresso) and tea (capsules/tea bags included)
- Sugar, salt & pepper.
- Locker (15 x 20 x 10 cm)
- Flatscreen TV (32 inch)
- Hair dryer
- Wireless internet
- Light-tight blinds
- Umbrella's
- English books about Amsterdam and Holland
- City plan
- 2 Bikes
- Clear house manual.
- 6% VAT
- 6% tourist fee.

In spring and summer (April - September) the sun will warm up the balcony from 7AM till 2PM. It's quite and peaceful with a lot of fresh flowers and you can hear the birds singing in the morning.

We made a personal book about the neighborhood for our guests. You can find our personal best restaurants and local hotspots in here. Restaurants, supermarkets, pool table cafes, ATM, nightclubs, parks and a very good hairdresser are around the corner.

Tram 13 stops less than 100 metres from my house and brings you in 8 minutes to the Dam square and Central Station, it runs 8 times per hour. I often walk to the citycenter and it's an easy 25 minutes walk passing by lively streets, nice shops and sunny terraces. By bike it's 10 minutes cycling.

If you want to go to the movie, concert, specific shops, gym, yoga, sauna, restaurant, swimming pool, beach, museum, you name it, I love to help you with the good locations.

If you are interested, don’t forget to tell something about yourself (gender, age, nationality, etc).

You are very welcome,

Best,
Marieke and Philip

Interaction with guests

We love to welcome you so if possible, we meet in person when you arrive. I have a city plan for you and we can have a chat together, so you can ask any question you want. We know the city very well.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $12 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $17
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 4PM


* Linen, toilet paper, soap and towels are included. If you need fresh towels, ask me and I replace them for free.
* Laundry service is available (for free)
* In this house I live with lovely neighbours, please respect them by;
- entering and leaving the studio quietly, (especially on the stairs)
- no phoning/talking in the hall,
- take off your shoes with hard soles in the studio.
* Check in; between 2PM and 00PM on the day of arrival. Let me know in advance what is the best time for you. We make an appointment on a fixed time. (If you arrive earlier, off course you can store your luggage. When there are no guests that morning, you can enter the studio earlier).
* Check out; No later than 11am on the day of departure (if needed, you can store your luggage for the rest of the day).
* No smoking inside.
* No drugs and no joints allowed in the studio, neither the balcony.
* Throw the garbage in the bins outside. There is a bin at the opposite of the street (in front of the park). Unfortunately we still don't separate waste, only glass. New garbage bags are in the storage room.
* Should the studio suffer any loss or damage as a result of an act or omission by a guest, he or she will remain liable and will be billed accordingly.
* Unfortunately I cannot accept any liability for loss of or damage to any valuables or property belonging to guests.
* No other guests beside those who checked-in to the studio.
* Especially in summer the plants need water every day. Would you be so kind to give my plants some water? The watering can is on the balcony.
* In case of emergency, there is a fire escape to the roof.
* Coffee (Nespresso), tea and milk are included. Also the two bikes are included. Nothing will be charged subsequently.



Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Availability
2 nights minimum stay

330 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mack User Profile
May 2017
Very good location, great helpful and friendly hosts. Awesome restaurants and grocery store just outside the building door, with a cute black cat at the pizza place! Stairs are pretty narrow as mentioned in the ad, and also we are short and weren't able to use the bikes as they are super tall by default, no fault of the hosts though. Great value, great apartment!

Jessica User Profile
May 2017
Marieke was very sweet and helpful for our stay!! I would definitely stay with her again, she let us check in early, gave us tons of recommendations for our trip and offered to keep our bags if we needed to stay later than check out. Thank you for your hospitality!! Gave us a great first impression of Amsterdam :) Cheers, Jessica

Grzegorz User Profile
May 2017
It was an amazing time in Amsterdam. Marieke and Philip were very kind and the whole communication went off very smoothly. The studio is endearing and it was a real pleasure to have a walk through the neighbourhood towards the city center. Overall, highly recommendable!

Victoria User Profile
April 2017
We loved our stay in the studio! The room was beautiful and sun-lit, and thought the stairs were a bit of a hike (four floors up!) we loved the view. The location is central and it's a quick bike ride to the major city attractions. Biking around the city on Marieke's two bikes was one of the best parts of our trip! We also LOVED the book Marieke made for her guests -- we tried two of the restaurants she recommended and had amazing, fairly inexpensive meals. This room comes highly recommended. Thanks for everything!

Tadej User Profile
April 2017
Great!

Ashley User Profile
April 2017
First off communication was great! Marieke responded quickly too all my questions and had a great open line of communication. The place itself was rather small and sharing a bathroom was not ideal. The biggest problem I encountered was having the room in between two laundry rooms. Having the washer and dryer running at all hours of the night made it very hard too sleep. On the plus side the bed was clean and comfortable. The neighborhood was quaint and had a cute wine bar right across the street!

Jamie User Profile
April 2017
Great stay at the lovely mariekes apartment, the pictures do make the room look bigger than it is so would reccomend this for a single person. The flight of stairs were very exhausting but good excercise! Really enjoyed the bikes overall really good stay. Location is perfect!

Amsterdam, Netherlands · Joined in March 2012
Marieke User Profile

My name is Marieke and I live in Amsterdam, together with Philip. In assignment (I'm a photographer) I've traveled to many countries such as Mozambique, Afghanistan, Colombia, Zambia, Malawi, Burkina Faso, Iraq, Liberia, Kenya, Uganda, Suriname, Benin, Paraguay, Ghana and India.

Last summer, Philip and I drove through Europe with our camper. Our destination was Ankara in Turkey and yes we made it after 5500 kilometers! This year we drive to the small Russian exclave Kaliningrad, between Poland and Lithuania. We love geography/history and surprising places. And in my opinion traveling is the best way of learning life.

We love the stories from the people we've meet around the world. And for this reason we decided to create a comfortable, safe and cozy place to do it also opposite. This place is for people who want to experience our city, its inhabitants and our culture from a local perspective.

You are very welcome!

Cheers,
Marieke and Philip

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.