Eco house near the North York Moors

House - Private room · Quarry House, Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire YO62 7JF, United Kingdom

Stay in a unique architect designed home tucked away in a peaceful woodland next to one of the most unspoilt parts of Britain - in an area of outstanding natural beauty! Close to historic market towns and not far from the Yorkshire coast.

The Space

This house is an amazing award winning home designed by a well known local architect sited in a disused quarry on the edges of the North York Moors National Park. Its modern architecture at its best with lots of glass, light and wood floors. The kitchen is openplan and has huge sliding doors that open onto the garden - on a sunny day you feel like you are sitting outside. The hot water and heating comes from our biomass boiler. It's incredibly peaceful here, no traffic, no light pollution, no neighbours, only the stars and the sound of owls at night. The house sits in a lovely secluded woodland garden covering 3 acres surrounded by woodland and fields.

There is 1 large double bedroom with a generously sized jack and jill ensuite bathroom and another room the same size which is currently used as a treatment room but can be used as a children's bedroom. These rooms have their own lobby and make up a guest suite. They are perfect for families who don't mind sharing .

If you are interested in renting the entire house, there are also 4 further bedrooms which are currently used by us with a master bedroom/ensuite and 3 children's bedrooms which could also be used by adults. These 3 generous sized rooms share a family bathroom. We have alternative accommodation close by if you would like to rent out the entire house without us being there - this would be done with a separate negociation and would need to be rented out for at least a week.

We have all the equipment necessary for children including trampoline and rope swings in the garden. Cots and children's beds. Highchair and children's chairs. BBQ. Stove. Sky. Wi-Fi. Aga. Piano.

Close by are the historic market towns of Kirkbymoorside, Helmsley and Pickering, famous for its steam train that takes you across the magnificent moors to the coast at Whitby. There are lovely beaches 40mins away at Runswick Bay, Sandsend and Robin Hoods Bay.

The North York Moors National Park is an area of oustanding natural beauty and it's right on our doorstep, full of amazing walks and hiking. Dalby Forest with its fantastic walks and mountain bike trails are also closeby. If you like outdoor activities, this area is perfect for you.

For culture vultures, the Ryedale Festival in July is a fantastic opportunity to hear world class music of all genres from all over the world. Rievaulx Abbey, Byland Abbey and Fountains Abbey are all within easy reach. Castle Howard, the walled garden at Scampston, Duncombe Park, Nunnington Hall and Hovingham Hall are all nearby.

For foodies, there are some amazing places to eat including the Star and the Pheasant both in Harome, the Black Swan in Olstead, the Black Swan in Helmsley, the Hare at Scawton to name a few. If you enjoy spas, the Feversham Arms in Helmsley has the award winning Verbena Spa is for you.

This is a very rural area so although there are some local buses, you would really need a car to explore. The nearest train stations are Malton (8m), Thirsk (20m) and York (25m).

We are an easygoing family of 5 which includes 3 little boys. I understand however that not everyone wants children around on their relaxing break so it is really no trouble at all for them to stay at Granny's house nearby during your stay if you prefer. Please get in touch - we would love to welcome you into our home.

Guest Access

Guest have access to their own bedroom and bathroom which is downstairs and has its own lobby which opens out into the main room. Guests are welcome to use our TV room, the main open plan living space and kitchen, and use the washing machine if necessary. Upstairs is private.

Interaction with Guests

One of us will be here to welcome you when you arrive and point you in the right direction if you are going out etc. Unless you specify that you prefer not to have children around, our children are here during the evening on school days, and at weekends and holidays.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Security Deposit: $346
Cleaning Fee: $26
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We had the most wonderful stay with Jessica & Gordon in their fabulous house in Kirkbymoorside. The room and bathroom were fantastic, and the bed very comfortable indeed. We loved relaxing in the evening next to the wood-burning stove in their beautiful living space. Breakfast in their light-filled kitchen area looking out onto the garden was delightful. We also enjoyed chatting with Jessica & Gordon very much. We had an exquisite meal at The Black Swan in Helmsley, and cannot recommend the restaurant and Jessica's house highly enough. We drove 20 mins through Thornton Le Dale and up onto the Moors the next day and had a lovely walk along the River Esk from Grosmont to Egton, both enchanting places.

    February 2014
    Jessica
    Response from Jessica:

    Thank Katie - glad you had a good trip. Jess x

  • Staying with Jess and Gordon was absolutely wonderful. It was fun and inspiring getting to know the entire family and the house as well as the surrounding are lovely. The nature is pristine and offers ample opportunities to discover the outdoors. To sum it up - everything one could wish for!

    Looking forward to coming back again -

    Julian

    October 2013
    Jessica
    Response from Jessica:

    Thanks Julian - I hope you do! Are you back in Berlin?
    Jessx

  • Jessica's family place was a wonderful experience. Gorgeous house, great accommodations and excellent hosts. We absolutely loved driving through the Moors to Whitby and Robin Hood Bay....also the local pub Royal Oak was a great place to eat, drink and socialize. I give the place and her family as hosts the highest recommendation!

    July 2013
  • Staying at Jessica's home you get a stunning designer experience in a gorgeous, private setting on the edge of the moors. The guest accommodation is very comfortable, with a particularly lovely bathroom. Jessica and her family are friendly and considerate - we had a very pleasant stay here, and would definitely recommend.

    May 2013
  • This was our first time using airbnb. We had a fantastic stay at this gorgeous house for 3 nights. Light and bright, but also cosy, it had everything we needed as a base to explore north Yorkshire. From Kirkbymoorside we were central to the beautiful towns of Whitby and York and the stunning property of Castle Howard. Jessica and Gordon were really hospitable and gave us some great tips to explore this beautiful region. They made us feel relaxed and at home. Comfy bed, gorgeous modern bathroom, WiFi, use of their stunning kitchen and living area, in a contemporary stunning house. Our 2 girls had so much fun with Jessica and Gordon's boys and we feel we have made some UK friends. I highly recommend the Eco house, thank you so much Jessica!

    April 2013
  • had a lovely couple of days staying with Jessica and her family. Their home is stunning and we were made to feel so welcome and comfortable. Her boys are so well behaved and a pleasure to be around and my son loved having some playmates. Jessica even arranged an Easter egg hunt in the garden which we all loved. I cannot recommend Eco House highly enough. So relaxing and lots to do in the area as well. We loved it! thankyou so much for allowing us the pleasure of staying in your lovely home. xx

    April 2013
  • Our stay at Jessica’s was great, but just too short!
    My family and I were on a trip in Yorkshire, and Jessica opened her fantastic home to us. We were looking forward to meet the locals, experience how they live and what they eat. We did experience that, and more.

    Jessica is an excellent, generous host and provided us with lots of local knowledge. We had the chance to meet her charming and easygoing family. We appreciated the fact that they all were talkative and that we felt welcomed into their home.

    The pictures are real, every one of them!
    The house is modern architecture at its best; the openplan solution and the large sliding glass doors in the kitchen and the living make you feel like you are sitting in the garden. The guest ensuite is just fantastic, spacious and private. There are two double bedrooms sharing an ensuite bathroom.You will simply die in pleasure when you finally lie down on your bed.

    Thank you Jessica for opening your home to us, and we won’t hesitate to come back, and this time hopefully for a longer stay.

    October 2012
Per Month
From
$139
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 420 times
Languages
English, Español, Français
School
Oakham School, Queen Mary's School, Duncombe Park, British College of Naturopathy & Osteopathy, UCL
Work
Registered Osteopath
About
I am mother to 3 little boys and also a registered osteopath doing my best to juggle home and work - still not finding that balance - does it exist? I love art and design - I studied Art History at UCL years ago. I also speak fluent French and lived in Paris for a while in my early twenties. I also speak a bit of Spanish, fairly badly. I'm into swimming, Pilates and Yoga but never seem to find as much time as I would like to do these things. Recently been getting interested in gardening - I love being outside when it's not raining. I'm sociable and enjoy meeting new people which is one of the reasons for joining Airbnb. I've travelled a lot myself and found that staying with people is often the best way to find out about an area. I grew up in this area and my husband is Scottish.
View full profile
Response Rate
50%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
7 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings