Award-winning community! Nihongo ok

House - Private room · Churchview Drive, Lithia, FL 33547, United States
Kathleen

The quiet room is pleasing and comfortable, with a queen-sized pillow-top mattress. It is quite comfortable with an overhead fan, if needed; and a flat screen TV and a smaller lanai right outside your bedroom.

Japanese spoken/Nihongo ok!

Your host, Kathleen
1 Review

The quiet room is pleasing and comfortable, with a queen-sized pillow-top mattress. It is quite comfortable with an overhead fan, if needed; and a flat screen TV and a smaller lanai right outside your bedroom.

Japanese spoken/Nihongo ok!

The Space

Our home is in a master-planned community, with schools, shops, and offices. You will be staying in the downstairs bedroom. There is a large bathroom just outside the room downstairs (queen bed) It also has a smaller lanai, just outside its own separate entrance. The kitchen can be made available, if you require it. We are a no-smoking family. If you wish to smoke, please use the lanai outside. We also run our home Hawaiian style...no shoes indoors.

We are located centrally so you can drive to Disney World in about an hour; Anna Maria Island in under an hour (more in the summer weekend rush); 40 minutes to beaches of St. Petersburg; 40 minutes to Outlet Mall; 30 minutes to Downtown Tampa, Florida Aquarium and historic Ybor City. Our community has a beautiful pool, tennis courts, miles of walking/running/biking trails. A golf course, is only 15 minutes away. Parking is available in front of the house. Nearby cities and towns have the Barnum-Bailey Circus museum, Dale Chihuly Museum, Bok Tower & Gardens, Salvador Dali Museum, Legoland, Sunken Gardens of St. Pete, Water Taxi Harbor Tours, Manatee Viewing Center and plenty of tea houses, antique stores, flea markets and more. Shops across the street include a pottery making shop & ice cream store, YMCA Express, two restaurants. The main grocery store is only 5 minutes away by car. In the summer months: each Friday, there is an outdoor concert, in the park across the street as well (email hidden) on the 1st Sunday of the month.

Outside the community are an Outback Steakhouse, Tokyo Steakhouse, coffee cafe, SNAP Fitness, TNT Smoothies, Buffalo Wildwings, Beef O'Brady's, Pacific Grill (Asian Fusion sushi bar restaurant), Starbucks, Chili's, Subway and more.

**Continental breakfast is provided. If arrangements are made prior to your visit, dinner can also be arranged, for additional fees.

We are retired military. My family and I have hosted Japanese ESL students/and business professionals. We have been told, by them, that we are on the top of their list, as hosts. I love to share cultural differences, traditions and customs.

We are approximately 45 minutes from the airport, in Tampa and approximately 1 3/4 hours from Orlando airport. (however, it could take longer during rush hour)

We hope you will make your next vacation or business stop with us.

Guest Access

You will have access to the laundry and the kitchen, if needed. You are also welcome to sit and relax in the living room. You will have access to a bathroom just outside your bedroom. Since it is the only bathroom downstairs, it is communal. You may leave your toiletries in the bathroom, if you like. There will be a laundry basket in your room, for your use. Please ask for washing machine/dryer instructions, if you do not see the instruction sheet, in your room.

You will have access to WiFi/Internet

Upstairs is off limits since this is our private space.

Interaction with Guests

There will always be someone in the house. If you prefer to be alone, you are welcome to watch TV in your room or read, sit outside on the lanai or walk to the park across the street or walk one of many trails.

We like interacting with our guests. We want you to enjoy your stay but, if you do not want interaction, just tell us. I like quiet time as well, sometimes.

The Neighborhood

There are many walking trails. It is very relaxing to walk to one of the ponds and feed the ducks or watch a sunrise or sunset.
The plaza has a dancing fountain that you can watch (it is usually on) while you drink coffee or even have some wine.

You can walk to the nearest grocery store, about a 15-20 minute walk. Or even less, if you are a fast walker. (You can use our bicycle or adult tricycle)

Getting around

I can pick you up at the airport unless you plan to rent a car. Please let me know in advance.

There is a bus, however, it is not very frequent and not directly in the neighborhood. * It is advisable to rent a car.

I will drive you to/from your venue of local tour sights (so long as I do not have a scheduling conflict). Farther venues: please buy the gas for the trip and any tolls, if any.

Other Things to Note

There is a bicycle and adult tricycle for use, during your stay.

Dinner:
If you would like to have dinner at the house, with us, please give us advance notice. You are also welcome to use the BBQ outside.

Bathroom toiletries: There will be soap, shampoo, conditioner and hairdryer, for your use. One more thing or more you won't have to bring!

If you have a small child, a portable bed can be set up. We can move the chair and end tables out of the way.

We do not have a crib nor high chair.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $375 /week
Monthly Price: $1495 /month
Security Deposit: $350
Cleaning Fee: $45
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
  • Kathleen (and Michael) were perfect hosts during my one-week stay. They went out of their way to make me comfortable. Their home is like a museum of lovely oriental pieces - simply enchanting. I felt more like a visiting friend then an actual guest. The neighborhood is beautiful and conducive to taking long walks. The ice cream shop is across the street! This location is perfect for anyone visiting family/friends in Fishhawk. I can't wait to return!

    March 2013
    Kathleen
    Response from Kathleen:

    Terri is a great guest. I have made a friend, in Illinois. You are welcome to return, anytime and I promise not to keep you up so late with conversation. LOL. Our dog is missing his daily belly rub, from your granddaughter!

    March 2013
Per Month
From
$55
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 3 times
Languages
English, 日本語
School
I was a Military Brat so school was mainly in Japan.
About
I am retired and currently live in Florida, with my husband and granddaughter. I have lived in Japan and in the USA. I love to travel and have visited many countries. I would like to meet many people from all over my country and the world; to exchange ideas, thoughts, experiences and share cultural customs, and traditions. I love food, so many times the topic surrounds it. When traveling, I try to eat the specialty of the place I am visiting. I have visited the following places: Japan, Hong Kong, South Korea, France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Luxembourg, Switzerland, London, Budapest, Barcelona, Rome, Greece, Vancouver and various states in the United States. I am a very conscientious person, when it comes to staying in other people's homes. I pick up after myself and my friends have said that I am the kind of guest they would like to have, always. I respect other people's property and I would expect the same from my guests. I look forward to visiting many other cities in the US and other countries.
View full profile
Calendar Updated
2 months ago
Similar Listings