Behind the curtains is a black-out blind so you can get a really good night's sleep.There is hanging space for your clothes in the cupboard and you are also welcome to use the iron and ironing board.
User Profile Image

Comfortable double room in Chorlton

United KingdomManchester
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
$48
Per Night
317 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A bright room in a quiet street, close to everything Manchester has to offer.

Behind the curtains is a black-out blind so you can get a really good night's sleep.

Behind the curtains is a black-out blind so you can get a really good night's sleep.

Verified Photo

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 4PM - 7PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $7 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: $138
Weekly discount: 15%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

You will be staying in a light airy private room with a comfortable king-size bed, and have shared access to the bathroom, and the rest of the house.

I like to keep my home bright, cosy and relaxed - many people have commented on its welcoming atmosphere and fantastic location.

Guest Access

You'll only be sharing with me (and my cat) and you may come and go as you please while you're here. In the summer, my little garden is a pleasant place to sit with a morning coffee, and the living room is cosy in the evenings.

I work from home, running a small catering business. I will provide breakfast, on a help-yourself basis, including home-made items like granola and marmalade, but since I work from home I generally need my kitchen to myself after breakfast time so it's not available to guests after that.

There is off-road parking for your car, or for an extra £20 I can pick you up from the airport - cheaper than a taxi and you won't have to worry about finding the address!

The house also has WiFi which you are welcome to use for no charge.

Please note that I am happy to accept bookings for just one night during the winter and on weekdays, but from March to November I don't accept one-night bookings for a Friday or a Saturday night.

Interaction with Guests

I am a friendly person who enjoys entertaining and introducing people to Manchester. I have a busy social life but also like to curl up at home with a book, a film or my knitting. I love animals and have a very affectionate cat called Rhea.

I speak some French, and I also have lots of experience of explaining British ways to confused overseas visitors, so just ask me if you need directions or advice! I look forward to meeting you.

The Neighborhood

Chorlton is a vibrant neighbourhood in south Manchester; slightly bohemian in character, with lots of quirky shops, bars and places to eat, but located only three miles from Manchester city centre and well-connected by frequent tram and bus services.

My house is in a quiet street, with some great local bars, a late-opening mini-supermarket (with cashpoint) and an artisan bakery literally just around the corner. On warm nights you can smell the fresh bread being baked, which is delicious!

There is also a wide range of pubs, restaurants and interesting shops within walking distance - check out the 'guidebook' attached to this listing for just a few of the options!

Getting Around

I am also very happy to give you information and recommendations for things to do, places to eat out etc in Manchester and beyond.

Besides being an exciting, stylish city with interesting history and architecture, and a vibrant nightlife, this is also a good base for exploring the North West of England - it's easy to get to Liverpool, Chester, the Pennines, Leeds and the Lake District from here.

The house itself is within walking distance to Old Trafford - 15 mins to the cricket ground, about 25 mins to the football stadium - for matches, music concerts or the stadium tour.

It's also an easy tram journey to The Lowry arts centre and Media City complex at Salford Quays, and there are regular bus services to the Trafford Centre shopping & entertainment complex.

Other Things to Note

I am an experienced host, and have had guests stay here from all over the world, some wanting a quiet base for a work visit, some just wanting to relax and explore Manchester - get in touch and let me know how I can make your stay enjoyable!

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not child-friendly (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 4PM - 7PM.

Make yourself comfortable, but please remember that this is my home and treat it the way you would want me to treat yours :-)

No smoking allowed in the house - but there is a bench in the garden you can use.

You are welcome to help yourself to unlimited coffee/tea at any time, and breakfast items will be available in the mornings.
There is also a very wide choice of places to eat in the local neighbourhood, as well as in the city centre and I am happy to give you recommendations.

I will lend you a set of keys so that you are free to come and go at any time during your stay. Please don't bring any other people back to the house though, unless you have cleared it with me first.

I will carry on my life as normal, so sometimes I'll be in and sometimes I'll be out, but I always have my mobile phone with me, so if you have any queries, just call me!

I have prepared a folder full of information about the house, the local area and things to do in Manchester, which you will find in your room when you arrive. I hope you'll find this helpful, but it is always interesting to hear what guests think of it, so let me know if you discover anything else you think I should include :-)

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Safety Card

Availability
1 night minimum stay
There is hanging space for your clothes in the cupboard and you are also welcome to use the iron and ironing board.

There is hanging space for your clothes in the cupboard and you are also welcome to use the iron and ironing board.

Verified Photo

169 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 81 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Helen

Helen

Manchester, United Kingdom · Member since July 2012

Friendly 40-something, living in Manchester's coolest neighbourhood!

I came here for university and liked it so much I've stayed for over twenty years. I know a fair bit about the local history of Manchester, I enjoy cooking and entertaining, knitting, theatre and music, and especially singing with my acappella choir!

I'm gay (so no homophobes please!) a bit 'leftie' and fond of wine & cats.

I've had guests staying from all over the world - feel free to browse my reviews - and really enjoy helping people discover Manchester, which is a great city to live in with loads going on all through the year.

I manage 4 listings, each with their own unique character:

1. If you're interested in staying with me in the private room in my own home, I will ask you to tell me a bit about yourself and your trip, and I will do my best to answer any questions you have. It's very relaxed at my house - you'll have your own key and be able to come and go as you please. Let me know how I can make your visit memorable.

2 & 3. I also manage a self-contained 1-bedroom apartment in the City Centre, and a self-contained 2-bedroom house in Salford, both of which you can book for your exclusive use. You'll still get my personal service with booking and check-in and I'll be available if you have any problems.

4. I also manage the bookings for a private room in a large & beautiful house in Whalley Range. Georgia is the homeowner and lives in the property - I will deal with your enquiries and booking arrangements, but during your stay you'll be sharing the space with Georgia and her friendly cats.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Manchester

    More places to stay in Manchester: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums