Looking in from the front door.Another view of the living room.

Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
2658 travelers saved this place

About this listing

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 11PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Security Deposit: $200
Weekly Discount: 10%
Cancellation: Moderate


The space

If you are looking to get away from the tourist end of New Orleans, be my guest and come stay in my 100+ year old Victorian Double style home in the Bywater.

This is half a double, so it includes everything you will need. It is a self contained and open, airy space with a living room, full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, and laundry.

This fits two people; either a couple in the bedroom or two friends - one in the bedroom and the other on the fold down futon.

Guest access

There are great places to eat, thrift, sip coffee, and see local theater and art within walking distance. If you need quick grocery items, the New Orleans Food Co-op and Mardi Gras Zone are just blocks away.

Great places to eat and drink are within a few minutes walking distance; Cake Cafe, Satsuma, Elizabeth's, Bacchanal, Mimi's, Mariza, Pizza Delicious, The Joint, Red's Chinese, Press Street Station and The Cheezy Cajun. There are a few bars in the area that now serve food as well, which is great when you are not ready to go home but need to eat.

I have basic cable hooked up, so local news and weather is available. There is Wifi at the house and at most coffee shops. If you need to use my printer for small things I will be happy to help you out with that as well. There is private laundry inside the house, so you do not have to return home with dirty clothes. Prices will be affected by festivals like Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest and the weekly rate dos NOT apply during these festival times.

Interaction with guests

The apartment is self contained and I leave it up to you to decide how much we talk. I don't want to invade your privacy and do not come into the apartment unless we arrange to do so. What I supply is above what is provided at any hotel. If you use up what is there, please purchase items such as laundry soap, body soap, dish detergent or toilet paper as you need it.

The neighborhood

We live close to a train crossing. I had this in the house manual, but apparently most people don't read it. If you are super sensitive to noises, maybe this isn't the spot. Please remember this is a city!

The St. Claude Arts District hosts an art walk of the local galleries the 2nd Saturday of each month. There are now many spots to eat & drink in the neighborhood and I have a guide book in the house with addresses.

Getting around

There are two bus lines close to the house that can take you down to the French Quarter. The 5 is on Royal Street and the 55 on St. Claude Ave. There is a map on to plan any trip. Most people walk, since it is only 1 mile to the edge of the French Quarter and takes about 15 minutes walking.

Other things to note

If you are highly (I mean extreme) allergic to animals, this may not be the right house for you. While there are NO pets allowed in the apartment, there are cats that hang on the porch and I have a dog. I may carry traces of dander (on me) into the apartment when I clean and I cannot guarantee a perfectly hypoallergenic environment.

There is also a train nearby and a church bell. If you are highly sensitive to noise, you might want to find a spot further from the train and the church. (I don't even hear these things anymore.)

Brett & I work very hard between every guest to make it as close to perfect as possible. While we want you to feel at home, please treat the apartment with respect. If you are looking for a hotel atmosphere with a maid, please do not book my place.

Check in is anytime after 3:00 p.m. and check out is at 11:00 a.m. unless special arrangements are made. If you have a later flight and need to stow your bags at my place, we can arrange that unless one of us is unable to be here.

I have lived here for 16 years and can go on forever about the fun things to do in this city, so please ask away! I have also compiled a booklet of all the great things to do and see in the area and lots of pamphlets for swamp & plantation tours. I live on the property, so I am happy to chat, share a glass of wine on the porch, and help you enjoy your stay in New Orleans.

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 3PM - 11PM.

I am seeking people to comply with basic norms of peaceful, respectful, communal behavior. By making a reservation, you are agreeing to all terms & conditions, as outlined here:

No-smoking, inside. If you need to smoke, please do so on the porch and dispose of the buts.

Extra guests are not welcome unless agreed upon. Anyone other than the Guest booking, may not be admitted to the property at any time. The Property is a private residence; the Homeowner is not responsible for any accidents, injuries or illness that occur while on the premises or its facilities.

Please keep the property and all furnishings in good order (please don't eat or drink in bed). Please only use appliances for their intended purposes. Guest agrees not to download any unlawful content from the internet while using the wifi provided by the Homeowner. Please no illegal drugs or weapons on the premises.

Check-in after 3 pm & Check-out at 11 am or as arranged. Lost keys incur a $55 surcharge if the lock needs to be replaced. Please make arrangements upon your arrival to drop the key off with me on your departure. I might not be able to be here, so let me know right away what your plans are.

Please remove your trash and recycling when you leave. The trash cans are out front as well as a single recycling bin. The recycling rules are on the refrigerator door.

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card

2 nights minimum stay

224 Reviews

Check In
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States · Joined in June 2012
Carin User ProfileCarin is a superhost.

I am originally from Milwaukee and graduated from UWM with an Art degree. I moved to New Orleans at the end of 2000 and fell in love with the city. I worked freelance and for a contractor for almost 10 years painting furniture and interiors. I am currently working with a bike tour company that shows people a different side of New Orleans. I am also teaching myself how to sew and upholster furniture. I love suggesting places to eat, see music, and enjoy the sights.

My 5 favorite cities that I've visited so far outside the USA: Prague, Saint Petersburg, Milan, Amsterdam and San Miguel de Allende. Favorites in USA: New Orleans, Austin, Chicago, Portland, and Milwaukee. Top 5 cities I hope to visit soon: Stockholm, London, Berlin, Marseille and Barcelona.

Response rate: 90%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet