HUGE ROOM Up to 6 guests OWN BATH

Apartment - Private room · Bukit Timah Road, Singapore, 259708, Singapore
Kay
Your host, Kay
57 Reviews
Response rate: 97%
Response time: within a day

The Space

We offer you an big, light-filled and airy private room for up to 6 guests with your OWN BATHROOM... and plenty of Singaporean hospitality (or privacy, if you wish).. all right in the HEART of the city state!

This is a private room with 1 queen sized bed (see photo). Extra guests (up to 4 more) can be provided with floor mattresses. It comes with a big and bright attached bathroom and is one of 4 other rooms available for rent in the apartment.

Given the apartment's location, hearing noise from the cars driving by below is to be expected.

Walk to Newton MRT. Or if you prefer the bus, we have a bus stop right outside our door.

Just ONE MRT (subway/metro) station away from our main shopping district Orchard Road.

Pizzaria, pub, hairdresser, 7-11 convenience store, Balinese massage and many more right INSIDE the apartment building itself (see photos).

The world famous Newton Food Center is within minutes of walk from us.

INCLUDED IN YOUR STAY
- All clean bedding and linen
- WiFi Internet
- TV (Living room)
- Iron and ironing board available upon request
- Hair dryer available upon request

WHO ARE WE?

We are a super-friendly family of sisters. We'd love to extend our love of international friends beyond our own circles, share our own travel stories and provide some warmth and insights for travelers to our country.

For those who desire privacy and simply want a rest stop, we'd be happy to give you just that too.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $21 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $21
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The apartment was big, well-located and had everything we needed for a family holiday - including Manto the little dog, who quickly worked out we were a source of snacks. Full marks to Kay's sister Jane, who was a friendly 'housemother'.

    June 2014
  • The host, Kay, was very responsive and the checkin, although very late in the evening, went smoothly.

    The location was primarily the reason for our choice and it proved to be exactly what we wanted. Pretty much accessible to food, transport and entertainment.

    It is a very basic, somewhat "clean" accommodation. I place that reservation because the first thing we saw upon entering our room was a huge cockroach. The floors were swept but not mopped. The general maintenance of the bathroom was poor but functional. The cleaning fee should not have been charged for that level of condition.

    My wife suffered bed bug bites and noted that the mattress was not enclosed leaving the bed sheet in direct contact with the mattress. This is very conducive to bed bug bug interaction.

    I was told by the host that the facility would be closed because of the local government regulation.

    The kitchen facility was adequate and complete.

    June 2014
    Kay
    Response from Kay:

    Hi Jack, thank you for your comment about us being responsive. We strive to do our best to deliver great service. Our past guests have always praised us for our service and cleanliness (please scroll down for the wonderful reviews we have got for the past years) and that's why we are very surprised to hear your complain. We would have done a lot to improve what you found unacceptable but you did not say a single word while you were here. We have never had issues with bed bugs before and since. Singapore is a tropical country, may those be mosquito bites that your wife had suffered? We want to take responsibility so we have thoroughly checked every point that you have made and we are very sure that everything is up to standard. If you do ever visit us again (from the way we parted, we thought you had a great time with us), please do voice out any concerns you have before making a damaging review like that again. You said so yourself, we are very responsive. :)

    June 2014
  • We were a group of 6 people stayed at Jane's place for 3 nights. This place was very cozy! We got the large bedroom with private bathroom which was very comfortable and clean. The beds were very comfy. Moreover, the common areas like living room, kithchen and shared bathroom were very clean and specious. There was also a facility for laundry available for guests.

    The host was very friendly and helpful. Jane was always around there to help and willing to answer any questions. She also provided very helpful information of Singapore to guests.

    The location was SUPERB! - just 5 minutes walk to the MRT (underground) station and bust stop is across the road. The convenience store (7-11) is just on the ground floor of the building and the Newton food court is in walkable distance.

    Overall, we do enjoy staying at Jane's place and would recommend to anyone who looking for the brilliant place to stay in Singapore. We will definitely stay at Jane's place if we go back to Singapore again :)

    June 2014
  • We had a great time at Jane's. She was very friendly and responsive. We actually arrived earlier than expected and she let us leave our luggage in the living room and was able to get our room ready earlier than 2pm. I was a bit worried about the space at first but it turns out to be HUGE room. It felt like a hotel room especially with our own private bathroom.

    We used the kitchen a few times for breakfast and laundry is available for $10 a load which we definitely took advantage of. The grocery store (Cold Storage) is conveniently at the next block. The newton station and market are about a good 10-15 min walk through some construction sites, but there are plenty of signs for direction.

    Jane was constantly around to answer any questions. Overall, a great place to stay in a really upscale neighborhood, at a fraction of the price one would normally pay in Singapore.

    May 2014
  • It was nice experience.
    The room is totally same as described.
    Thanks for all Jane.

    May 2014
  • It was a pleasant trip to Singapore being hosted by Jane and family. We had many good and quiet nights of sleep during our stay. They are easy to get along with. It was indeed a memorable journey. I highly recommend this place which is near to orchard road and easy access to heart of shopping.

    May 2014
  • We spent 3 nights with Jane. She was a marvellous host. She explained all the locale and transportation options (including providing a map) to us, made 'checking in' simple and allowed us to store our bags until later on the day we left - to facilitate a very late flight (and let us shower too!).

    The room was comfortable and adequate for 3. The shower was excellent. The bed was firm and comfortable - which suited us and the air-con worked well ( a necessity for us).

    We did not use the kitchen which had all you would need for preparing breakfast and modest meals. Wi-fi was fast and reliable. The walk to the MRT took us 5 minutes.

    This was a very good stay - providing exactly what was offered by way of description and more by way of host friendliness and helpfulness.

    April 2014
  • All the facilities were available to use, eg, laundry, cooking, use of computer etc.
    However we chose not to use these as we just used the apartment as a base, as we would a hotel room, but other occupants did. The location, being fairly close to the MRT, was great for sightseeing, getting around generally, & transfer to and from the airport.
    Jane made herself available to be contacted when not on the premises but we didn't have much cause to do so.
    Bedroom was large, clean, functional & with good air conditioning.

    April 2014
  • This residence is extremely clean, house keepers are very friendly and can help what we need, this place is close to the bus stop, we can cook anything in the kitchen, they will wash our dirty clothes, SUBWAY near there.

    April 2014
  • Decent place. It's a professionally run place for visitors (I think it's the owners office primarily). Mainly chose it for the amount of space, but the location is very good too. It's in one of the more affluent areas of Singapore and there's a lot of English expats (they tend to be great people) down stairs where there's a british fish & chips shop, and a pool table with a bar. The metro is a short walk away. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

    March 2014
Per Month
From
$104
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 456 times
Languages
Bahasa Malaysia, English, Tagalog, 中文
About
We are a family of sisters. We have very different personalities but we are all energetic and sociable. We'll tell you all about the Singapore we know... the local and fun way to enjoy Singapore, anywhere from low-cost to royal style, depending on your budget. Get in touch with us. Even if it is just to answer your questions about traveling to Singapore, we'd be glad to help. Have a great flight. See you real soon...
View full profile
Response Rate
97%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 weeks ago
Similar Listings