Private room
1 Guest
1 Bed

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Pedro's place is usually booked.
Chances are...
Pedro's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Pedro's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Pedro has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

With Airbnb, you can find unique accommodations in people's homes—from houses and apartments, to tree houses and igloos. The listing details below explain what you'll find in this space. If you have any questions, you can contact the host directly.

Contact Host

Vista da janela da sala. View from the living room window.

Vista da janela da sala. View from the living room window.

The Space
Room type: Private room
Bed type: Pull-out Sofa
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 1


Cleaning Fee: $15
Weekly Price: $255 /week
Monthly Price: $812 /month
Cancellation: Moderate


The Space

Hiring a bedroom for foreigners, for a fixed amount of time, in the apartment where I live in Laranjeiras, the neighbourhood next to the Corcovado in the heart of Rio de Janeiro (southern zone). There's wi-fi, a large wardrobe and a sofa-bed. Restroom is shared, with hot water. Easy to get in/out by bus. No-smokers only.

It is a two-bedroom apartment in Laranjeiras, a very familiar area, on the last floor of a four-storey residential building. The whole apartment is circa 70, and although I don't know the size of the room, it is broad enough, not tight -- quite fitting for one person --, so you will have privacy. Its only problem is the fact that it is trapezium-shaped, which means two of its corners are non straight angles. This can be a little annoying when deciding how to furnish the place, but nothing impossible to fix.

The room is mostly empty for now, with only a wardrobe and a sofa-bed that I leave usually open (and becomes a medium-sized couple bed) and I have put there temporarily. Besides this, there are no desks nor other furniture. There's enough room to put a desk, chairs and most things you'd need. While I can't help you with items, I assure you can find second-hand furniture quite affordable in Rio and sell them out (maybe even to me) when you move out.

In the apartment there are also a kitchen, two bathrooms (a main one and a smaller WC) with water heating, a living room with sofa, table and a hammock, and two bedrooms - the other one is mine. There is wi-fi internet also. I don't have a TV, but I don't mind if you bring one. You can freely use the kitchen to cook, but I'd kindly ask you to wash every dishes and glasses you use. You can also use my wash-and-dry machine to do your laundry if you need.

The floor of the room is covered with laminate, while the rest of the apartment has wooden floor in herringbone pattern. The walls are white and have no wallpaper (these are not common in Brazil). The windows face the backside of other buildings and a bit of hills and forests. There is direct sunlight in the afternoon.

This is the appearance of the street and building entrance with Google Street View:

My place is located on the way up to Corcovado (that sharp peak with an open-armed Jesus statue on top). It is the upper side of Laranjeiras, an upper/middle-class residential neighbourhood full of artists, musicians, filmmakers, journalists, scholars and such. My street is next to General Glicério street, at the last stop of bus 184. Other bordering neighbourhoods are Botafogo, Cosme Velho, Catete and Santa Teresa. There are no favelas nearby and the area is safe. It is part of the Southern Zone, which is the noble area of Rio.

You can see the precise location on Google Maps with this weblink:

The region is well provided by supermarkets and all types of stores (building material, clothing, office depot etc.). Also, there are weekly options for buying healthy food (vegetables and fruits) around: there's a major green market ("feira livre") every Saturday morning; an organic green market every Tuesday morning; and an itinerary grocery-in-a-bus every Thursday morning.

You can reach Ipanema, Leblon or Copacabana in 15 minutes by car/taxi. You can reach here by subway and/or any buses heading to Corcovado. Cab rides to most interest places in town would be no more than USD 12.00 or EUR 10.00. There is a subway station in the neighbourhood (Largo do Machado), like 25 minutes walking or 10 minutes with a special minibus.

The full monthly expenses of the apartment total to circa BRL 2,700. This includes rent, condo taxes, power, water, gas, wi-fi internet, cable TV (although I don't have a TV itself), a telephone landline, basic household items (toilet paper, detergent, etc.), and bi-weekly cleansing. Please have that in mind before trying to bargain on the price.

As for me, I am a journalist currently working for a major TV station here. I'm 30 years old, non-smoker (this is important), indie rock listener, former Film and Arts student, and omnivorous but almost vegetarian in practice. Currently, I work at home most of the time.

+ More

House Rules

It is totally forbidden to smoke, under any circumstances, including eventual guests. No pets are allowed. Building rules require reasonable silence after 10pm and before 8am.

É absolutamente proibido fumar, sob qualquer circunstância, inclusive visitas ocasionais. Não são permitidos animais. Respeitar lei do silêncio entre 22h e 8h.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher
Lock on Bedroom Door

2 nights minimum stay

Sala de estar. Living room.

No Reviews Yet

Stay here and you could give this host their first review!

About the Host, Pedro

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Member since May 2012

Explore other options in and around Rio de Janeiro

More places to stay in Rio de Janeiro: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums