Garden View Cottage close to Hana&Haleakalā
Garden View Cottage close to Hana&Haleakalā


Entire home/apt

4 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Lovely garden cottage with private bathroom, kitchen, and comfy living area. Relax after a day filled with exploring nearby beaches, hikes, waterfalls and the Haleakala Crater Also a few apps to check out gypsy guide Maui complete tour of our island you won't miss out on anything.Maui revealed book form and an app. Restaurants are abundant and farm to table dinning is the way we roll here on Maui! Check out our other listing Mountain view room and Sunkist Seashell room nightly rentals.

The space

Hale Kokomo, Up Country, Maui

Maui County Permit # BBPH (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)
PLEASE READ COMPLETE DESCRIPTION
Breakfast is not provided at this time.
All AirBnB renters will have to accept a "Rental Agreement" prior to booking.
Luxuriously appointed with attention to detail, the romantic charm of our Maui jewel will provide you with a 5 star experience on a traveler’s budget. Surrounded by lush landscape, this stand alone getaway affords you the privacy and comfort of a private residence. With nature as your tour guide, Upcountry Maui will supply you with endless outdoor exploring. Experience the old Hawaiian charm of Hana, a turn back in time to how Maui used to be. Hiking trails to waterfalls, the bamboo forest and the Haleakala Crater are all within a short drive. Its rustic charm and lush natural beauty will fill your eyes and leave your heart with joy.Hawaii is a tropical territory... Maui is a tropical island . Hence, any folks very squeamish about a few mosquito's or ants or other such critters, may want to rethink Hawaii OR stay in a luxury resort hotel or condo. Locals have adapted and our guests will need to be relaxed about the occasional notice. We are on it.

Our guest cottage is situated in a lush quiet setting. While inside you will enjoy the greenery that surrounds the cottage and its warm welcoming light that cascades in from the skylights above. Its central location to shopping, great restaurants, and beaches, allow the convenience of what the North Shore has to offer. Your cottage retreat is thoughtfully appointed, allowing you to enjoy all the comforts of home.

Enjoy an open floor plan and a spacious feeling, full bath with soaking tub and well equipped kitchen with all you might need to create your gourmet meal. Shop locally for foods from the farmers market on Saturday mornings where our local growers gather to display the freshest organic food grown on Maui. Our convenient location, open well appointed environment along with its affordable price makes for a great value here on our beautiful island of Maui.
Come, experience and enjoy Aloha.

Hawaii Transient Accommodations, General Excise Taxes are collected upon arrival.

Guest access

Private kitchen and bathroom Also check out our other listings Luxury and Comfort room in the main house and Mountain View Room. If you need additional accommodations on the same property. We have a backyard area and Bar B q available to our guests. Tables and chairs for out door seating. Wi-fi is available from 6am to 10pm. We shut off the router when we sleep. Nights lights are provided in the cottage, we would appreciate not using the bathroom light or the living room lamp as night lights if you need more nightlights just please ask. Our utilities are very high on Maui and we ask you to consider our neighbors when you leave lights on, it shines into the main house. Thank you.

Interaction with guests

We are on the property at all times and are available to help you with local recommendations about the island. Maui Revealed is an excellent guide book with lots of information about all parts of our island. Special spots and our secret places are always shared with those who would like to know about them Please don't be shy, that's why your staying with a local so you can be in on the inside scoop!

Other things to note

BBPH T(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) BBPH T(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)

See our other AirBnB listings on the same property:

Sunkist Luxury& Comfort $99.
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/648353?

Hale Kokomo Mountain View Room
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/990804?

Our wi-fi is available from 6am to 10 pm we turn the router off when we sleep.

License or registration number

BBPH T2015/0002
Learn about this field

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 120
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM

Turn the lights and electronics off when you leave the cottage be aware of water conservation and energy consumption.
PLEASE DO NOT DISTURB THE NEIGHBORS. call or text us to find our location don't go around knocking on doors! mahalo!
Please recycle - place your recyclables in the provided bin - we will take them to the reclamation center -
Please park on the property - no street parking
Enjoy, relax, and make yourself at home! We ask that you respect our property as though it were your own. We politely request no shoes inside, as is customary in Hawaii. We respect quiet hours from 10pm-8am. No smoking cigarettes on property. PLEASE NOTE: Required HI State and transient tax of 13.4 % IS NOT INCLUDED IN PRICE. This cost will be collected at the time of check in.

You have crazy fun and enjoy your Maui Vacation.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

55 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Haasini User Profile
June 2017
Marianne greeted us when we arrived showed us the house. Informed us about the termite situation. She or anyone else did not bother us through out our 3 day stay, location is close by to any where you would like to go. I was not too much bothered by the presence of Cockroach's or lizards, but a bit surprised. And I would say it was an over all OK(not good not bad) experience.
Gary & Marianne User Profile
Response from Gary & Marianne:
Maui is a tropical island . Hence, any folks very squeamish about a few mosquito's or ants or other such critters, may want to rethink Hawaii OR stay in a luxury resort hotel or condo. Locals have adapted and our guests will need to be relaxed about the occasional notice. We are on it. This information is listed in our description on our page. Before you decide on where to book you should read the description. We have done our best to be completely transparent about where you will be staying. Gecos are native to Maui and they have a job to eat the bugs so we welcome them, they are completely harmless. Living on the edge of a rain forest on a tropical island comes with the occasional guest bug! It is up to you to create a good or great experience. Most of the time was spent away from the cottage, sleeping and getting up early and trying to cover a whole lot of ground in 3 days is nearly impossible!
June 2017

Jay & Stacy User Profile
May 2017
Great location! The upcountry is centrally located near lots of small quaint towns. Gary and Marianne are very freindly and welcoming. They gave us some great suggestions on restaurants and things to do. The unit is a converted garage next to the main house. The unit is on the same lot as the main house, that also were hosting Air BNB guests. Parking got a litte tricky when additional guests were staying at the main house. Pay attention to additional taxes generally mentioned in the listing. They will be asked to be paid shortly before arrival. For one night stays it doesn't equate to much, but for our two and half week stay, it wound up costing us over 388 additional dollars. There was some noise from the neighbors on the weekend, as their backyard backs up to the unit. Since there is no AC, keeping the windows open is required, this lets in the fresh cool upcountry night air, but it also lets in any conversations going on in the backyard next door. Overall a good experience
Gary & Marianne User Profile
Response from Gary & Marianne:
The first sentence ASKS: PLEASE READ THE DESCRIPTION. This listing is complete and transparent. Nothing is sprung on you without notification first. Upon booking your reservation we ask for your email so we may send you a pay pal form to collect Hawaii State lodging taxes. This is required by the state of Hawaii, it's not something extra that we just throw in. Our guests called Air BnB to get an explanation of the taxes and also asked if they could pay over the phone. On our description and also in our house rules it reads " PLEASE NOTE: Required HI State and transient tax of 13.4 % IS NOT INCLUDED IN PRICE. This cost will be collected at the time of check in. You must read the description, all the information is provided. There are NO surprises! Nothing unexpected or last minute about what is required. Also the cottage is not and has never been a garage. I do not believe you put skylights and sliding glass doors in a garage. The cottage has both of those details. Mahalo
May 2017

Ben User Profile
May 2017
You should stay here. Was great.

Alison User Profile
April 2017
A lovely self-contained cottage with everything you need. The bed was really comfortable, and our daughters slept surprisingly well in the pull out futon and couch. Nice quiet area, close to Paia and a couple of other nice country towns. Loved our road trip to Hana - a must do - and we're glad we used Gary and Marianne's guidebooks for all the info we needed in Maui. Friendly hosts - highly recommended place to stay.

Ryan User Profile
April 2017
I did not realize on booking this place that I would be given a bill for the state taxes on top of the booking fee. It is written in their description, I guess, but it was not obvious enough for me to see it coming. The bill was 14% of the total cost so not huge but not nothing either. The place is actually in a good location to get out early on the Road to Hana, otherwise you will find it is quite secluded. Pretty much everyone has a rental car when they travel Maui so the seclusion ate up time but didn't really put us out. When it rains at night here this is one of the most peaceful and beautiful places I have ever slept. It's all open and we left the windows open all day and never locked the doors because it just has that safe feel to it. The house was stocked with simple things like coolers and beach chairs and towels which was a great touch. Probably wouldn't stay here again but I am happy that I did it once.
Gary & Marianne User Profile
Response from Gary & Marianne:
Upon booking our cottage on Maui we send everyone a request for an email address to send a pay pal invoice to collect HAWAII STATE TAXES. Your reservation was for April 16 on March 9 this is the message we sent you. Hi Ryan thanks for booking with us☺ please send us your email so we may collect Hawaii state lodging taxes and we are happy to share all that info once u arrive, in the mean time check out Maui revealed book or app and also download gypsy guide Maui for many personal tours aloha Marianne Mar 9, 2017 The statement is also available for you to see at the top left hand corner of the search with airbnb stating that additional taxes and fees may apply. Then we have it in our description of our property, stating that Hawaii state taxes will be collected. This is not something that we surprise our guests with, nor is it in our control. We must pay the state of Hawaii its taxes. We are trying our best to satisfy the state by paying the taxes that are due. Air BnB is attempting to get the state of Hawaii to allow them to collect and pay these taxes for their hosts. Which I am in support of so that these statements made by guests no longer appear in our reviews. READ THE DESCRIPTION is the first paragraph on the page. We also provided a paper invoice to collect from the guests and I still had to knock on the door in order to receive payment. Some rentals here on Maui are doing things illegally, some states do not require the same controls or laws as the state of Hawaii. We will continue to do what is required of us and that means paying the tax on vacation rentals.
April 2017

Kevin User Profile
March 2017
The cottage was excellent, in a quiet part of Makawao. Well furnished with everything a Maui tourist might need. An excellent place to stay.

Akshay User Profile
March 2017
Stay here if you wanna experience upcountry vibe. Considerably near to Haleakala and Hana. All the beautiful beaches are in vicinity.

This host has 536 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Haiku-Pauwela, Hawaii, United StatesJoined in April 2012
Gary & Marianne User Profile

We are Gary & Marianne Callari -
We offer for rent private rooms in Our 1929 Farm house on Maui, Hawaii and (2) Casita Studios in the Red Rocks of Sedona, Arizona. We love nature, home and family. Our fun and together past time is making great dinners at home. We grow our own food and eat and live a very healthy plant based diet. We go to bed fairly early and we get up early. We have healthy habits and healthy relationships with everyone we come in contact with. An open mind and a positive attitude we believe have been our tools in getting the home and lifestyle we create. We try not to have to many rules and flow with what life presents us. Sometimes we are really good at it! We believe energy follows thought, so if you think you can you can! We love to travel and enjoy meeting people from all over the world. Our travels have brought us to Spain, Italy, Mexico, Thailand and the Caribbean. We use travel guides about food to experience the flavors of live! We have two grown adults that we are very proud of, we honor who they are and the choices they have made and look forward to many more exciting adventures with them. 5 things we can't live without: Great weather, great food a higher consciousness, good organic chocolate and of course an active healthy body! We subscribe to the 4 agreements: Be Impeccable with your word. Don't take anything personally. Don't make assumptions. Always do your best. We wish you Happy Travels and Aloha! Gary and Marianne

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings