About this listing
Hello, welcome to our studio apartment. It is in a fantastic location at the very heart of central London.
You will have own big kitchen and shower room.
Locals to the area are spoil for choice with restaurants, bars and clubs being within feet of each other. The location is amazing! Come and visit, and experience central London for yourself :)
- Wifi Broadband
- Washing Machine
- Dish Washer
Interaction with Guests
I do not live in the building but i do always come to the apartment to get the room ready for our guests. I like to make sure that all is clean and that the guest is satisfied. I have a 24 hour check-in system in place to accommodate any late check-ins or any guests that are a bit late. you can reach via mobile phone or AirBnB message at any time, please don't hesitate :)
I used to run my guest house on this very street, so i should know the area very well. The flat is right in the heart of London so it is difficult to pick out any one place in particular that you must visit. But for eating out my favourite is Old Compton Street, one of the most renowned places in London to serve dinner til late at night. The British Museum is at the heart of Bloomsbury, a mere walking distance away from the apartment. Historically, Bloomsbury is associated with the education, medicine and mostly, the art. Therefore the area sets a sophisticated yet very modern atmosphere. The Bloomsbury theatre, a very respected theatre within the eyes of Londoners and actors/actresses alike; is located within the area.
The closest tube stations are Tottenham Court Road (Central and Northern line) and Holborn (Victoria and Central line, both are a 5 minute walk away.
No smoking inside the premises.
No pets allowed inside the apartments.
No parties to keep the apartments clean please.
Great location and very close to public transit. Small space, but perfect for a few days. The street can get loud, even though it's a side street. The bed was large and comfortable. The shower was difficult to find a good temperature - either freezing or scalding, so it took some time to tweak. Other than that, a very nice listing.
Needs improvement. We were happy with the location (between Piccadilly and Central lines) and walking distance to the West End but disappointed with other things. We would have overlooked the very challenging spiral staircase, tiny bathroom and even the noise from the street, as these are some of the things you can expect in this range of accommodation, but the housekeeping standards were very poor. There was only one usable bath towel as the others were so thin, discolored and shabby. The bedding was also very well used which made us feel very uncomfortable. One of the two tea towels was badly stained, thin and had holes in it. The soap/shampoo bottle holder attached to the shower wall was very rusted and old which made it look unclean. Communication was prompt and the instructions to get there were good but it wasn't our usual Airbnb experience. We did request a second key early in our stay and was told that one would be left under our door but this never happened. During our communication regarding arrival and discharge time I did request tips regarding getting to Gatwick airport from there but none were given. Usually Airbnb hosts are happy to share local knowledge. We didn't meet Maggie and suspect that this building is not owner run accommodation just a quick turnover flop house. I think with some better quality linen, orderly kitchen draws, crockery and utensils our stay would have been a lot more enjoyable.
The location for this apartment is excellent. It is just a short block from the British Museum with many cafes and convenience stores nearby and nice shopping districts within an easy walk.
Although we never met Maggie, she was excellent at communicating graciously in a timely manner. Her directions to the apartment and for picking up the key were very easy to follow. And she was very forgiving when I accidentally took two keys (but replaced the extra when I realized my mistake within 20 minutes).
The price was very reasonable for an apartment in such a great location. We had breakfast each day in a cafe in a beautiful park just a few blocks away.
We are a bit older and managing our luggage on the stairs was difficult. If you are young and/or pack lightly, this shouldn’t be a problem for you. The apartment was two flights up a very narrow spiral type staircase.
Everyone has their own standards of cleanliness, and we felt that this apartment could have been much nicer with a little attention. A new set of sheets and towels would have made a huge difference. In fact the odor from the towels and sheets was my biggest issue. We both woke up after the first night with bad headaches from the odor of the sheets - very strong, stale perfume-type odor. I washed them in the washer provided and also washed the towels as the odor in the towels was worse. The sheets improved enough that we were able to sleep the next night, but the towels seemed to get even worse, as the stale perfume smell was replaced by a very rotten odor. All the linens are old, faded, mismatched and worn. I think that the towels may have been beyond being able to get clean.
I also needed to wipe down the stove, sink and counter tops when we arrived as they were greasy, dusty, and dirty in spots (not bad, but just not really clean). Since we didn’t cook while we were there, we actually left the apartment much cleaner than when we arrived.
The tiny street that the apartment is on got quite noisy late at night. There were loud discussions and some fights just outside our windows well into the wee hours of the morning. It didn’t sound dangerous - more like drunken friends or couples. We were woken up several times each night. This is unfortunate as Maggie has no control over that and it may have been an unusual circumstance.
There are several good reasons to stay here, especially if you are young and looking for a bargain in a good location. If Maggie provides a new set of clean sheets and towels and a clean duvet cover, it could be quite nice.
Dear Neal & Lucie,
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the smell of bed sheets and towels but that was the conditioner which I'm using for the last two years and I never had complains.
If I had know I would wash and dry for you without conditioner but you have chosen to put in review ....
great flat, good location, clean, has everything you could need, easy check in, check out, easy to communicate. Would stay there again if I return to London.
The flat is in a great location. Communication was easy and quick! Very comfortable and cozy. I recommend it!
Never met Maggie, but the place was clean and simple. Amazing location, spacious apartment.
This host has 1430 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Maggie
Hi I'm Maggie. I've lived in and near London for the past 50 years. I use to run a guesthouse in central London and really enjoyed meeting people from all over the world. I Love travelling, and am planning to visit Cuba next!