ROOM FOR RENT LOS YOSES WALK TO SAN JOSE-UCR-PEDRO
Hosted by Alexandra
Alexandra is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Nice and quiet room in large and sunny 3 bedroom apartment located at the edge of Los Yoses from downtown.

Very quiet area, but within easy walking distance to downtown (4 short bus stops or approx. 10-15 min walk). Very close to Corte IDH, UCR, UAM.

Enjoy nightlife just a few blocks away in Barrio Escalante. Many interesting places to eat or chill from vegetarian to Starbucks.

Medical Stay - Students - 1 month plus welcome
We are LBGT friendly
We speak English - Spanish - German

The space

The room faces the backyard and if you are lucky and wake up at the right moment, you'll see a hummingbird fly by. Instead of traffic noise you will wake up hearing the birds chirping.

Start the day with a leisurely breakfast, that comes with fresh fruit, a good cup of coffee or tea, real bread and marmalade. We also have a Magic Bullet if you'd rather mix up a smoothie.

We have a large colorful living room with large windows letting in a lot of sunlight, which really is the place to sit and relax, read a book and check the e-mails and plan out your trip.

If you don't speak any Spanish or little, no problem. We also speak English and German. French is rusty, but I have a neighbor that can help if needed.

I have tons of books around, bring one and leave another one.

In case of any questions, just ask and I'll be happy to answer them.

Guest access

You get use of the kitchen and washing machine and if needed you can surf on one of our computers.

The room has a private, ensuite bathroom.

Interaction with guests

That is up to you: entirely.

We love to share and enjoy common meals. We can toss a coin who cooks. We have been on trips, walked downtown and hung out in the local bars, but we respect the space and silence just the same.

Other things to note

For years we have tried to help the animals that cross our path and we do have a couple of friendly dogs and 1 cat, which we have rescued off the streets and which we haven't been able to place into permanent homes yet.
One of our dogs, Bouncy is 24/7 happy and she might be a bit much for some people. Let me know and I will try to get her out of the way.

We offer Medical Stay, Semester abroad, homestay and are also a great choice for those wishing to take some language classes in San Jose. We speak English, Spanish and German and on occasion give personalized Spanish classes on-on-one. These can be started via (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) to get you ready for your trip and then enhanced while you stay with us. There is also a very good Language School close by, some of my guests say the best.


Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in time is flexible
Self check-in with lockbox

We always enjoy meeting nice people and are pretty easygoing.

Our dogs are used to visitors and love treats just not during dinner. They can have all the leftovers after and will wag their tails just as much. They also love going for walks or a jog, for those that like the company.


Please, no smoking in the house.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

63 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Angela User Profile
February 2017
Alexandra is an amazing, sweet and helpful person! I've stayed with her two years in a row. I definitely recommend her spot!

Tonimarie User Profile
December 2016
Good for two nights if you're just passing through San Jose on a budget.

Karar User Profile
December 2016
The room we stayed in had spiders and cob webs!

Lawrence User Profile
November 2016
I was very impressed with the hospitality that Alexandra showed my girlfriend and I. The location was ideal to walk to the market and very close the good quality restaurants. We have already booked to stay here again!

Kimberly User Profile
October 2016
The location of the apartment was in a very easy area to get to many schools. It was nice to have my own adjoining bathroom. Breakfast of fruit and eggs were provided. The the hostess, Alexandra, was away on holiday, but she had others attend to her normal hostess duties.

Marion User Profile
August 2016
Alexandra is a superb host. She was in constant contact and gave me step by step directions to tour San Jose and the surrounding sites. She even set up a rafting tour for me, which was the trip highlight. Her flat is in a central but safe location in San Jose and provides everything one could need. All in all it was a fantastic trip to Costa Rica in no small part due to Alexandra!

John User Profile
July 2016
My stay at Alexandra was my favorite Airbnb experience I have ever had. She was genuinely a wonderful person to meet to start my travels in Costa Rica and I hope our paths cross again. The room was awesome. Bed so comfortable- rarely sleep that well. The breakfasts, the location, everything. The stay was excellent and if you are considering, I recommend you book a stay here if you are in San Jose.

This host has 538 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
San Jose, Costa RicaJoined in June 2012
Alexandra User Profile

Love to read, enjoy the days as they come. Every now and then a stray comes along - some have stayed, while other cats and dogs have found new homes, so there is always some assortment of 4 legged friends around.

I have started to add a couple of additional and quite unique listings for very good friends of mine. I do vouch for each of my listings and know all properties and their locations well. I hope that staying at one or more of them makes your trip to Costa Rica simply amazing!

Check my wishlist for a unique Treehouse in the central San Jose Valley, a relaxing Yurt close to the Chirripo Mountain in the middle of Costa Rica or a romantic getaway in Tortuguero. All my listings are family and LBGT friendly.

Now that my son is grown up I have simplified my life and I am spending more time travelling and enjoying all that Costa Rica has to offer.
I have teamed up with my friend Erika from Venezuela, who will be co-hosting my rooms in the city. I am online and will coordinate all the details. Erika speaks Spanish and some English and she will welcome you just the same as if I would.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings